We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth a trip”
Review of Old Town

Old Town
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
US$125.00*
and up
Full-Day Tour of Mombasa
Ranked #4 of 56 things to do in Mombasa
Attraction details
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Not worth a trip”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Expensive day trip to various places in Mombasa. Not enough time at any and "old town" that we saw seemed to be tourist shops or just a bit squalid! Perhaps we did not see the real old town. Think you would need to go with a specialist guide.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Snipsy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    135
    101
    15
    12
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kilimanjaro National Park, Tanzania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mji wa kale -Old town”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Not a Lot has changed since i was here as a teen.Still the same magic and smell of spices, food .
I love old ottoman style achitecture especially the balconies made with nicely crafted wood.
ohh the world fanous massive lamu doors. The doors are pieces of art.I wonder how long it takes to decorate one door.
the old port of mombasa with the old sea Dhows is must visit and the fish market right next to it.
a visit to mombasa is not complete without a visit to fort jesus museum.
I also visited Madhry mosque one of the oldest in mombasa.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank MissOldTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Take a guide with you”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Part of our city tour was a walk through old town. We never really felt in danger, but it was pretty seedy. We were glad we had a guide with us. Lots of very tightly spaced shops of all kinds. Definitely not a tourist area, as 99% of people in the very crowded market area were locals doing their normal daily shopping. We wandered into the old Arab residential part of Old Town on our way to Fort Jesus and passed by the old City Hall from hundreds of years ago. It was right next to what can only be described as a garbage sorting area. Not the most pleasant part of Mombasa. However, it's worth going to if you are a) not by yourself, b) interested in how the locals shop and want to shop along with them, and c) aren't easily offended by sights and smells that are pretty raw. Speaking of which, the meat market was an experience all unto itself.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank marieandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arab place”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

its the place for the Arabs there , there is many old buildings and beautiful oriental restaurants and the people there is very friendly, you can spend the day over with a visit to the fort jesus museum

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank christin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“old and new”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were taken around the old town and shown the contrast between the modern buildings and the old arab influenced woodwork of the balconies and doors. The tour also took us around the outside of Fort Jesus

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank simon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Town also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing