We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel”
Review of Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Reef Hotel
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We booked Reef hotel because its very near to Mombasa and as well not far from the airport. Everything in the hotel is on a 2.5 star standard, room was ok, food was very disappointing, mostly to cold and tasteless. Staff is friendly and the beach in front of the hotel is not bad. On the good side I like to mention the speedy internet connection in our room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

The reef hotel is a Nice Place to stay. The staff is helpfull, the rooms are average and the price is good. In my point of view, its a good value for the Money spent.
I stayed for 10 days and was really happy about it. the hotel have 2 pools and the Beach Close by. All the People selling stuff at the Beach is kinda annoying, but i Guess its like that in the Whole region.
Its a couple of shopping malls Close to the hotel. Walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Palsob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

HOTEL. I recommend the Reef Hotel (Mombasa), I was really satisfied with what I got there. You can use the swimming pools till 5.45 p.m. (they pour some chemicals) and that is a bit too early, it would be much better if they did it after the sun is down at about 6.15 p.m.
LOCATION. The location of the hotel is perfect. The beach is nice, however, it is not so wide and the sand is not so white as on Diani Beach.
SERWIS. Service guys are very friendly and they do not pester you, in the evenings there are organized some animations.
ROOM. My room (in the Reception building, II floor) was Worth of the price I paid - about 80 $ per Wight. It was very clean, with white walls, comfortable bed and proper mosquito net. The service guy cleans rooms diligently every day. In a room there is access to the free wifi.
CATERING. The breakfasts are modest – every day the same but it is possible to have breakfast very early if needed e.g. before safari at 5a.m.,
USEFUL TIPS. On the Beach I strongly recommend to have massage. There is a girl called Flower and she is really good. Some souvenirs I recommend to buy from Christopher, that is an honest man. I do not recommend to buy safari from Gorge (Guy from the beatch called also Big Gorge). He does not pursue the plan of the trip discussed, arranged and agreed before. E.g. In my case, my trip was much shorter, we didn’t go to one park and we didn’t visit Mombasa (as agreed before). After I signed some agreement that I want to buy the safari he offers and after I did prepaid out of the sudden he wanted 220$ more unclearly explaining that this is some additionally, unexpected cost (for the entrance to park and lunch which he forgot before to add). I paid just 20$ more for the lunch which in the end was not served because the trip ended earlier. Carefully and precisely planned safari trips: 1day safari was missing one park and 3days safari was in fact 2.5days safari and what is the worse there was 6 people all together in the minibus. The journey was very uncomfortable, the sits in the middle of the bus like for small kids not for adults with even tiny backpack. Finally, it turned out the other people paid much less than I did. I was not happy about such service.
HOTEL. Polecam hotel Reef (Mombasa), choć dla niewymagających, spełnił nasze oczekiwania. Baseny zamykane o 17.45 (wlewana jest chemia), nieco za wcześnie, stanowczo przyjaźniej byłoby po 18.15.
POŁOŻENIE. Bardzo dobra lokalizacja. Plaża ładna, jednak nie tak szeroka i śnieżnie biała jak Diani playa.
SERWIS. Nienarzucająca się i życzliwa obsługa, wieczorne animacje.
POKÓJ. Pokój (w budynku recepcji, II piętro) wart ceny / noc ok. 80 $, bardzo czysty, sprzątany starannie i codziennie, ściany malowane na biało, łóżko wygodne + nieuszkodzona moskitiera. W pokoju bezpłatny, dość szybki Internet.
GASTRONOMIA. Śniadania skromne, ale jest możliwość zjedzenia bardzo wcześnie przed safari.
PORADY. Na plaży : masaż u Flover – uczciwe 60 minut, pamiątki u Christofera – bez zastrzeżeń. Odradzam korzystanie z usług safari u Georga (gościa z plaży …..). Nie realizuje długo uzgadnianego i rozpisanego w umowie planu, nam znacznie skrócił safari, nie zrealizowaliśmy jednego parku, nie zwiedzaliśmy Mombasy. Po zawarciu umowy i zapłacie zaliczki chciał od nas wyłudzić dodatkowo 220 $ ( ponoć za wjazd do parków i lunch których zapomniał ująć). Dopłaciliśmy jedynie 20$ za obowiązkowy lunch którego pomyłkowo nie wliczył (którego i tak na koniec nie było). Dokładnie zaplanowany i zapisany plan Safari 1- dniowy okazał się bez realizacji wjazdu do jednego z parków a 3- dniowe okazało się 2,5 dniowe i co najgorsze w 6 osób w minibusie, ostatecznie nasz koszt safari okazał się dużo droższy niż u pozostałych uczestników, przejazd koszmar, przynajmniej dla nas, którzy siedzieliśmy w środku, siedzenia bardziej dla dzieci, było bardzo ciasno i niewygodnie.

Room Tip: first or second floor in the reception building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexaKPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

A good midrange hotel (280usd for 4 nights), good sized poolsand right next to the beach. The downside is that is quite far away from the city center, about 7km.
The rooms are clean, comfortable beds but the ac is really not that cold.. Mosquito nets for the beds but the bathrooms are getting a bit worn out.
Breakfast is a really good buffe one, and same with the dinner.
For the price its a pretty good hotel tbh.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Emil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Good hotel, just on the beach. nice swimming pool. good food. Nice breakfast. I went there for a short business trip and i booked the hotel. It was good decision as i was able to relax. Very peaceful place. Internet was a problem, so if you need internet all the time then it may not be right choice.

Room Tip: take room which are have sea view. it will give you good view and you can enjoy evening shows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DKSingh52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

It's a high middle of the range beachside hotel, with all you could reasonably want. 2 swimming pools, one for serious swimmers, well maintained grounds, comfortable rooms, pleasant restaurants, and of course, with lovely sea views. It's been around for years, but has been looked after well. You should not be disappointed here.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrrlstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I am very happy to say all is well in Reef Hotel again. They have a new front office manager, happy days. I was a bit sceptical of staying in Reef again after my last trip, but I didn't want to let that bully of a manager stop me visiting my favourite hotel, thankfully he only lasted two months in the job.

All the staff is so nice and friendly, they really make me feel at home. I usually book all-inclusive as the food is excellent. They have improved it even more now, the salad selection is amazing, about 15-20 different salad choices at lunch and dinner time. They have a lovely Indian veggie selection at all dinners too, along with the themed food of the night (Italian, Chinese, Kenyan, etc). They always have fresh fish too, a great selection of food.

If you want a fresh healthy holiday, you can eat so well, lots of different fruits in the morning and a selection at lunch and dinner too. They have wonderful omelette chef too, Bernadette, she always has a smile on her face, she makes the best omelettes.

I was so happy with my visit, I am heading back again next month for Easter, 3 times in 6 months. Now if that is not a good recommendation I don't know what is. I can't believe Reef is only a 3 star, such good value.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you have booked a sea-view room, I like the 3rd floor rooms (top floor) as they are the quietest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.2 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
566 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 60 in Mombasa
987 reviews
1.7 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#11 of 60 in Mombasa
226 reviews
2.8 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
129 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Hotel

Address: Nyali beach | off Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 82234-8010, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range: £67 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef Hotel Mombasa is a friendly, relaxed Hotel, professionally managed since 40 years by the same family to serve a mix of international and resident guests. The hotel offers a combination of resort facilities for beach holidays, as well as business services including conference rooms and corporate business facilities. The Reef Hotel Mombasa is conveniently situated on the white sandy beaches of Nyali overlooking the beautiful Indian Ocean. We are adjacent to the very best shopping areas, clubs, restaurants and golf courts and only 7 kilometres north of Mombasa city centre. The original Reef Hotel Mombasa was built in 1972. The hotel just had a significant renovation and has re-opened with new designed rooms and public areas. Reef Hotel rooms are air-conditioned, each with its own bathroom, balcony, telephone extension and TV. Buffets are the traditional way we serve meals with a international mix of cuisine. Enjoy our romantic candle-lit dinners on theme nights (African, Chinese, Lebanese, Indian, International, etc) and regular barbeques. A choice of 3 restaurants and 4 bars, and water sports directly on the beach assure you that the Reef Hotel Mombasa is ready for your holiday. With regular entertainment by our resident live band and disco, 3 fantastic swimming pools, Jacuzzi, tennis courts, relaxed sun-bathing and elegant evenings; yours will be a very special holiday in Reef Hotel Mombasa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing