We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Reef Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reef Hotel
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Mombasa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

After being robbed at Mombassa backpackers this place gave me great deal. typical kenyan style, shower and toilet weren't amazing but i had ocean views with wifi in room and ocean views. Seafood was great too. Staff super friendly! Recommend! Beachfront and access without harassment!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonbonabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    141
    87
    26
    39
See reviews for
70
139
41
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Slept at this Hotel for 2 nights 4th and 5th June 2014. Liked the breeze near the swimming pool side. The food was fine with so many people converging here for super and having a nice evening talk. I even sighted my good Professor from Strathmore in the Group.

I would comfortably recommend someone to stay there given that the price is friendly to the pocket.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zio2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Reef hotel is an excellent place to stay. We arrived after 5 days of Safari (sleeping in tents) to stay for tree days and it was a really good choice.
The hotel is quite far from the city center, but is silent and great place for relax. The suff is really helpful, funny and it is a pleasure to spend time with them.
The rooms were clean, huge and beautiful, great value. The wifi was also functional in our room and terrace. we had a great view to the ocean from our terrace.
the hotel offers different services so we did not get bored during our stay.
The food was ok, the breakfast was really delicious.
The only annoying thing were the people on the beach waiting, who all the time wanted to sell us something. Therefore we did not spent a lot of time in the ocean but prefered the swimming pools.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicukaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nunspeet, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised with the Reef. Really good for a three star hotel. Buffet restaurant had a good and healthy variety of food. All staff in the hotel did everything to make our stay a happy one. Their care was genuine and definitely not a slimy way to get tips. This resort is quite spacy, 2 swimming Pools, and enough places to get sun or shade.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caseybasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very good location, near Nyali shopping centre. Beautiful views from hotel. When we arrived, a fabulous welcome from staff. Rooms not clean. Beds well made but first night when returned from pool, bed infested by red ants that bite! We called and it was taken care of. However, under bedding had damp smell that had me and one of my daughters congested as we have allergic reaction to damp air. Next day we requested to be moved, they honourably moved us but same damp room. Maybe it's garden view rooms on bottom floor that has this prob. Towels didn't feel and smell fresh. Tiny soaps provided that don't foam as water is sea water. No face towels. Safe and fridge facility at extra fee.Moved out of hotel after 2days to another.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Good locaton, clean rooms, fair price, good wifi, good security, ok breakfast, great staff, they ask extra money for use of loom lockers which is annoying, they need to start sheesha again. Good restaurants with amazing sea view. Will stay again

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nakul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemmer, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

We booked Reef hotel because its very near to Mombasa and as well not far from the airport. Everything in the hotel is on a 2.5 star standard, room was ok, food was very disappointing, mostly to cold and tasteless. Staff is friendly and the beach in front of the hotel is not bad. On the good side I like to mention the speedy internet connection in our room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.2 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#3 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bahari Beach Hotel
Bahari Beach Hotel
#12 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Hotel

Property: Reef Hotel
Address: Nyali beach | off Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 82234-8010, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Reef Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Reef Hotel Mombasa is a friendly, relaxed Hotel, professionally managed since 40 years by the same family to serve a mix of international and resident guests. The hotel offers a combination of resort facilities for beach holidays, as well as business services including conference rooms and corporate business facilities. The Reef Hotel Mombasa is conveniently situated on the white sandy beaches of Nyali overlooking the beautiful Indian Ocean. We are adjacent to the very best shopping areas, clubs, restaurants and golf courts and only 7 kilometres north of Mombasa city centre. The original Reef Hotel Mombasa was built in 1972. The hotel just had a significant renovation and has re-opened with new designed rooms and public areas. Reef Hotel rooms are air-conditioned, each with its own bathroom, balcony, telephone extension and TV. Buffets are the traditional way we serve meals with a international mix of cuisine. Enjoy our romantic candle-lit dinners on theme nights (African, Chinese, Lebanese, Indian, International, etc) and regular barbeques. A choice of 3 restaurants and 4 bars, and water sports directly on the beach assure you that the Reef Hotel Mombasa is ready for your holiday. With regular entertainment by our resident live band and disco, 3 fantastic swimming pools, Jacuzzi, tennis courts, relaxed sun-bathing and elegant evenings; yours will be a very special holiday in Reef Hotel Mombasa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Reef Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Hotel Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing