We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad experience - left early” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mombasa Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mombasa Beach Hotel
Ranked #42 of 59 Hotels in Mombasa
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very bad experience - left early”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

We went to Mombasa Beach Hotel in June 2011 as part of our honeymoon - I had been working elsewhere in Africa and my wife came to meet me in Kenya. After an amazing safari experience, we came to Mombasa for some beach time. We had a terrible couple of days at Mombasa Beach Hotel and we left early, losing all of our money (the hotel didn't entertain any notion of refunding our money) and going to Serena Beach (which was very nice).

Specific complaints? 1. The water was dirty (red), there was no hot water. Worse than this though, was the fact that the staff kept telling us that it wasn't dirty and that the hot water would come on if we ran it long enough. We brought the manager with us to the room and ran the water for minutes on end, with no hot water coming, and eventually got a shrug.

2. The meals were tasteless. We had had excellent food elsewhere in Kenya and on safari, so it was a real letdown to eat at MBH. There was no problem with freshness or quantity, the food was just bland, and prepared without much care.

3. Overall, the staff just seemed totally indifferent. Other reviews have mentioned that they seemed demotivated. Indifferent would be the word I would use. At one point, after we'd complained about the water a few times, we were woken up at 5am by security staff - presumably it was a wakeup call intended for someone else who was probably going on an early safari. But that is the kind of thing staff should be sure about before waking somebody up at 5am. There was no explanation about this and no interest from anyone to apologize, etc.

We had booked through a package tour, so we spent the third day calling around to see where there were vacancies in Mombasa. We then booked Serena Beach ourselves and when we got there, it was like heaven - not least because of where we were coming from.

If you're just looking for a base from which to do business, this place is probably reasonable. If you are on vacation, this is not recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    29
    32
    17
    16
See reviews for
23
28
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights. It is a typical government style hotel that was probably much nicer some 20 or 30 years ago. The hotel is located in a very nice and plush part of Mombasa and you will be close to a number of nice restaurants and shopping centers. However, the rooms are old and need renovation. The beach is nice but very crowded. The food is average. Night entertainment was quite good and we really enjoyed the night shows that were different every night. I hope they can change the government hotel mentality that is still there and make changes in their food menu. I paid a little more and change my room to the top floor that gave me a larger room with a beautiful view of the beach and the hotel compound that is quite expansive. I also liked the size of the room, the working air conditioner and the nice balcony. In general I enjoyed my time here, but could have been much more enjoyable if we had better food and renovated rooms.

Room Tip: Try to request a room in the top floor with a good view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farzad_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

the hotel is not typical of beach hotels, as it was not the typical single story but a number of stories. However we have a very good view to the beach, though we paid slightly more to get the view. However, it seemed not to have a lot of activity going on, but it might be because we visited the place during the low season in Kenya.

Room Tip: Pay a little more to get a good view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reese L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cham, Switzerland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

This hotel is probably one of the worst I have stayed at. The infrastructure dates from the 1970s, the bathrooms in the rooms are awful (low or no pressure / hot water takes forever to come through). The breakfast is limited. Staff seem demotivated.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mombasa hotels

Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Located in Nyali, the posh part of Mombasa, but certainly not a poshy poshy hotel. It appears that this hotel caters mostly to conferences hosted by Kenyan government and tight budget NGOs. The room was on par with a $15/night inn, but at a $80/night price.
PROs
- Room A/C was good
- on the beach
- didn't hear the Jambo Bwana song or hakuna matata once!
- the staff took good care of me (even got me a free ride to town)
- not far from the Nyali Mall, Bob's and other places to eat and drink. Just a few miles from Mombasa town.
- there wasn't the constant hustle as soon as you stepped on the beach. Probably because the hotel caters to nationals/budget
- big pool though it was a little cloudy
- beds and linens were a bit worn down, but no worse than at some high price places in the country

CONs
- no hot water and low water pressure
- food was standard Kenyan fare - ugali, rice, beef stew, choma, beens, githeri, plus some overcooked fish. This is fine and I eat it all the time but everything was oversteamed and under spiced. After three days I had to go to town to get something with some flavor.

Neither here or there
- internet in the lobby only
- TV (didn't watch it, but the porter demonstrated that it worked)

If you just need the basic necessities or a place to sleep between excursions, laying by the pool/beach then Mombasa Beach Hotel is fine. If you want a posh place go elsewhere.

Room Tip: The sliding glass door to my balcony didn't work so I would choose a ground floor, walk-out room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ajpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I was booked here and while it is a good location it is clear that the hotel is not maintained. The toilet in my room has a rusty bottom and didn't flush well, the shower is built for someone 4 feet tall, the sliding doors did not shut well and the air conditioning did not work well. This place has clearly seen better days.

If you're going on vacation this is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlobL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zanaki, Guest Relations Manager at Mombasa Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Globl,

Good Afternoon.

On behalf of Management of Mombasa Beach Hotel i would like to formally apologize for the inconvience we have caused during your stay with us.

What you have highlighted is truth and we are in the process of doing a major refurbishment of the unit as we speak.

We are embarking on working on phase one which will cover 50% of the rooms, the whole frontal areas and the swimming pool as from June/July 2012 and thereafter Phase 2 will touch on the remaining areas.

The Bathroom especially will receive more attention we are actually contemplating on doing away with the bathtubs and having and having ultra modern bathroom.

Kindly accept our humble apology and promise that in the next visit you will get to see a much better Mombasa Beach Hotel the unit of Kenya Safari Lodges and Hotels.

Looking forward to hear from you on ways we can improve our facilities better.

Have a lovely day.

Kind Regards

Nyakio N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE. DO NOT VISIT. DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES HIRE THE MEN TO TEACH YOU HOW TO WIND AND KITE SAIL!!!!!
This place is a filthy dump with employees who will tell you one thing, then make you pay 10x more. They are bullies. Also, the beach is dirty and filled with sellers and hustlers. Save your money and your time. Go to the Sonesta.

Room Tip: Stay away!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WorldTravelStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zanaki, Guest Relations Manager at Mombasa Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear World Travel Star,

Good Morning.

Am responding to your review posted on the TripAdvisor .com. We do sincerely apologize for the ordeal you underwent with the Kite surfing staff at the Mombasa Beach Hotel. We have since been in-touch with the Staff and owners of the kite surfing unit and have advised them to have their rates be well displayed at both the reception and at the site to discourage case of fraud or rip off to our clients.

Additionally all items or services in the Hotel for sale have now been priced and publicly displayed to avoid the fraudulent practise.

We appreciate the updates and we look forward to serving you better.

Kindly accept our sincere apologies.

Kind Regards,

Nyakio N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.3 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#17 of 59 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Nyali
PrideInn Hotel Nyali
#11 of 59 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#9 of 59 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mombasa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mombasa Beach Hotel

Property: Mombasa Beach Hotel
Address: Mount Kenya Road off | Links Road, Mombasa 90414, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 59 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mombasa Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mombasa Beach Hotel is under the flagship of Kenya Safari Lodges & Hotels is located in the Kenya’s North Coast. It is only 10 km from Mombasa Town and 18 km from the Moi international Airport Mombasa.. It is a prime destination for conferencing and leisure in its many conference outlets. Various kinds of water-sports are available, in addition to excursions to Marine Park, nature trails, Old Mombasa Town and cultural villages.Despite the Hotel’s proximity to Mombasa itself, it exudes an air of tranquility with huge and well maintained tropical gardens that provide welcome shade in the heat of the day. Overlooking the Indian Ocean are its white sand beach suitable for sand bathing, wedding and public functions at the Cavern Beach Bistro. All the 152 rooms have SPACIOUS SEA FACING BALCONIES. The hotel has 145 Standard rooms and 6 Executive Suites. All the rooms are equipped with guest amenities with a recent addition of satellite TV/DSTV, wireless internet connections and split unit air conditioning systems.The hotel has four bars namely:-Kaskazi Bar, Deck Bar, Pool bar, Sports Centre Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Mombasa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing