We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit to Mombasa Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mombasa Beach Hotel
Ranked #43 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
kampala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visit to Mombasa Beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Location of the hotel is excellent. Its set on accessible cliff. With a great beach bar. They have is good. Service is above average. Rooms are old. They require re decoration. Bathrooms are old. They require a complete overhaul. Lounge is well designed. furniture is way too old.During my visit, only local TV channels were available.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muzaniru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    30
    32
    17
    17
See reviews for
24
28
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I spent 2 nights at Mombasa Beach Hotel coming back from a safari on my way to the coast. The place has a 70's feel about it and needs redecorating and redoing badly. The beach is fantastic, the pool is OK but the rooms are far past their best, crooked wooden floors, old TVsets, very basic bathrooms, balcony doors difficult to close, inefficient and noisy AC, poor quality locks on entrance doors. The breakfast and dinner buffets are very limited, hardly any choice, the food bland, the presentation poor, tatty tableclothes and sleepy waiters, Staff at reception useless and hopeless, I waited 2 hrs to speak to someone who could take a simple decision:(( Clearly the hotel lacks quality management and is not up to modern expectations even at 3 star level.
Kenya is such a beautiful country with brilliant accomodation and friendly staff but if you only stay at Mombasa Beach you will have a totally wrong picture and ruin your holiday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Malgonia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mombasa hotels

Nairobi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Jaded hotel that has seen better days. Very loud music from pool side all day long and from the evening entertainment until long after 10pm. The manager seemed to be unable to do anything about it despite complaints from many a guest. Loud parties on the grounds contributed to the nuisance. It was a trying experience especially because we had two kids under 5 yes. The food is fine. Great beach front location with easy access to town, airport and other areas in Mombasa. The hotel has seen better days with many areas requiring repair. 14inch CRT TVs in some rooms. Would fork out more money to stay at the neighbouring bahari beach or voyager hotels

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babaJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great hotel, the only compliant was the wifi only worked half the time. The casino was great. The pool area was every nice. The beach needs to be looked after better. There is a cute salon in the hotel with great staff.

Room Tip: Very nice hotel don't count on the wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

I spent 4 nights here in March 2012 as part of a group booking. The hotel staff couldn't do enough for us. We had fun around a good size pool, enjoyed body treatments and ate and slept well. The on-site taxi service was a good way to get around independently.
We were very excited and impressed to see the Prime Minister of Kenya leaving the dining room after a special even, on our third day.
Yes, the restaurant staff are very busy but this didn't affect our overall experience and given the hotels location beside the sea and the high humidity, it shouldn't be a surprise to notice some wear to the fabric of the building.
As we visited outside the main season the beach bar was just the place to enjoy an evening without disturbing others. During the day access to the beach is very easy and I would recommend checking out the traders immediately outside the hotel. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea-views. Some rooms have direct access to a lawn area, so ask for a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

I spent 3 days in the hotel, the staff were very helpful. Stayed in one of the VIP lounges. The rooms were very clean, air conditioned and hot water was available all day long.
The meals were well prepared and staff were willing to go an extra mile to provide special meals for my baby. It was

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank essy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

The Hotel needs a lot of improvement and renovations. For the price they charge I expected more quality service than I received.

While some of the staff were good others especially in the restaurant looked overwhelmed and tired. The outdoor areas also need some sprucing up.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side are closer to the Ocean and so more better breeze but A/C noise in some rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter-MBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.1 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#11 of 58 in Mombasa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nyali International Beach Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Reef Hotel
Reef Hotel
#18 of 58 in Mombasa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
Kenya Bay Beach Hotel
#5 of 14 in Bamburi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.5 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#10 of 58 in Mombasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mombasa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mombasa Beach Hotel

Property: Mombasa Beach Hotel
Address: Mount Kenya Road off | Links Road, Mombasa 90414, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 58 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mombasa Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mombasa Beach Hotel is under the flagship of Kenya Safari Lodges & Hotels is located in the Kenya’s North Coast. It is only 10 km from Mombasa Town and 18 km from the Moi international Airport Mombasa.. It is a prime destination for conferencing and leisure in its many conference outlets. Various kinds of water-sports are available, in addition to excursions to Marine Park, nature trails, Old Mombasa Town and cultural villages.Despite the Hotel’s proximity to Mombasa itself, it exudes an air of tranquility with huge and well maintained tropical gardens that provide welcome shade in the heat of the day. Overlooking the Indian Ocean are its white sand beach suitable for sand bathing, wedding and public functions at the Cavern Beach Bistro. All the 152 rooms have SPACIOUS SEA FACING BALCONIES. The hotel has 145 Standard rooms and 6 Executive Suites. All the rooms are equipped with guest amenities with a recent addition of satellite TV/DSTV, wireless internet connections and split unit air conditioning systems.The hotel has four bars namely:-Kaskazi Bar, Deck Bar, Pool bar, Sports Centre Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mombasa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing