We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could do worse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New Palm Tree Hotel
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed 9 April 2013

As many have said, the price is right. We stayed for a week primarily because the price was right. Needs a new coat if paint, inside and out, and a new front sign. Parking should be banned in front. They should change up the bfast every other day and need better wifi on second floor. But I would stay there again. That's the ultimate test.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Truescot-Cdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions when in Mombasa. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The owner / Manager is always available and doing a very good job running this hotel on a shoe string budget. Let's face it .... we should be reasonable with our expectations.....especially since the hotel is right in town, room rates are reasonable including breakfast!!!. So we can not be too picky.!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Its_Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I really don't have anything negative about this hotel taking consideration for what I paid for a room for a night. I mean really folks! You pay $28 bucks in a city where the next hotel is around twice that much and more. What do you expect! The room was old and kind of run down, but it was clean. The hot water worked, air con worked, fan worked, TV worked, Wifi worked. The bed was comfortable. All was great! My buddy and I stayed two nights in upstairs rooms that were around a big second floor courtyard that was really cool and nice to hang out check the email. Quite a few backpackers staying here.

There are no safes in the room, but the front desk will store your valuables. The front desk lady was just great, a totally cool lady and really fun. Breakfast was included with eggs cooked to order, some fruit juice, bread, coffee and some extra's. Nothing special, but It was fine..and all this for $28 bucks (which is a steal for Kenya) We did not eat in the restaurant here other then breakfast, but you if you ask the front desk lady about places to eat in the area, just about a block walk around the corner is the Tarboush Cafe. You "HAVE" to check this place out. totally awesome local food.

This hotel location totally rocks if you are wanting to spend a few nights in downtown Mombasa (which is about the max as there is not that much to do in downtown Mombasa) Then after two nights here spend a few nights up in Mtwapa where the beaches are.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenincr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2013

If you want to stay in the city center, this is a reasonable option, relatively clean and safe. Bathroom facilities are poor, the location is very noisy and it has an old/used appearance.
If I would go to Mombasa again, I would choose a location far from the city, close to the coast, and take a tuk-tuk to visit the center; you can find better options for a similar price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that isn't facing the street, as it is very noisy in that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

New Palm Tree hotel is in a great location in Mombasa, close to Old Town and the Fort..The hotel is tired and dated but rates are relatively cheap..Rooms are basic but have airconditioning....hot water is a bit of hit and miss.We stayed a few nights and rooms are not cleaned each night. However on plus side has free wifi and a great internal rooftop courtyard which seems miles away from the bustle of Mombasa..Breakfast was simple and same every day.Downstairs toilets were disgusting and dirty but rooms were relatively clean...

Room Tip: ask to see rooms first..area couple that are small and tucked away that are not too good.we booked o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kscs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

The hotel is a bit difficult to find due too poor marcation on the outside of the building. Look for
it on the oppisite side of the street from Barclays Bank in Nkrumah Road. The ground floor is a big lobby with access to the restaurants. One floor up the rooms surround a rooftop courtyard.
Rooms look a bit run down and could do with some new furniture and a paint job, but they offer
good beds, fan, phone, tv and in my case airco. Shower had one of those tricky electric shower
heaters and a shower head that produced no more than a trickle, but everything was quite clean.Staff was friendly and informative. Breakfast (buffet with hot dishes made to order) was good, but the restaurant looked a bit gloomy and a constant buzz of flies rather spoilt my meal. Its good location - close to Fort Jesus, the old city and the business district - makes this hotel a decent option for a good price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karvam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Read about New Palm Tree hotel at trip advisor and it was thrue what people write. The hotel was nice and clean. Friendly and helpful staff. In the very centre of Mombasa. Easy to get around with Matato. Went to Mombasa Beach nealry everyday and paid 60 Ksh back and forth. The breakfast was simple but nice. Eggs some sausages pncakes.Would not mind to go back here. This hotel was also the cheapest hotel in Mombasa and it had aircondition. I stayed in this hotel 12 nights.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
0.3 mi away
Jundan Hotel
Jundan Hotel
#43 of 61 in Mombasa
20 reviews
4.5 mi away
Jambo Village Hotel
Jambo Village Hotel
#44 of 61 in Mombasa
20 reviews
3.3 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#13 of 61 in Mombasa
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Radiance
Hotel Radiance
#28 of 61 in Mombasa
29 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#9 of 14 in Bamburi
132 reviews
0 mi away
Indiana Beach Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Palm Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Palm Tree Hotel

Address: Nkrumah Road | Old Town, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 61 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range: £17 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Palm Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your New Palm Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing