We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighted by the New Palm Tree”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New Palm Tree Hotel
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We moved here after a depressing night at the Josleejim Hotel, and it was well worth the move, and extra cost. None of the hotels we'd stayed at in East Africa had so far managed to offer us the 'full house': a flushing toilet, hot water, a working TV, hole-free mozzie nets and an almost-constant supply of electricity. But the New Palm Tree could offer it all, simultaneously.

As well as providing us with these luxuries, we were treated to a spacious and airy hotel with a lovely courtyard in the centre, with lots of spots of lounge about and read. It was very relaxing to hang out a the hotel, or in the room, which was also spacious with a good view of the busy street below (although the street became very quiet at night).

The staff were quite friendly and breakfast was yummy, with pancakes and bottled water to take away. It was also handy to have a Barclays bank just across the road.

The staff were honest: when I accidentally left my phone on a balcony (and I was already half way to Nairobi), one of the cleaners found it and organised to put it on a bus to Nairobi for me the next evening.

Room Tip: Get a room on the street side, high up. The street gets quiet at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meerkat_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very interesting position just a couple of minutes walking from the Old Town. Really friendly and efficient staff. Rooms are basically furbished but clean with mosquito net. The rich breakfast is served in the dark restaurant, but the food is absolutely nice and generous.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

After using trip advisor to find a hotel near(ish) to the airport we booked for one night at New Palm Tree.
When we got there we were able to check in late and were greeted by the late guard. They took a while to find our booking and when they took us to our room they then had to go and get towels and toilet roll as the room had none. I have attached a picture of the bathroom- it is very basic and unappealing.
The whole hotel needs a bit of a make over and update- the room itself (other than ensuite) was suffice for one night, but any more would be a push. Wifi is handy- and staff are friendly.
Worst part was they tried to charge us more than the original reservation, and we only managed to barter it down slightly.
Overall I was disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeahGoacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

The only complain I have with the place is that their restaurant is only open until 5PM. This means you need to either make sure you have your food supply early so you don't go out in the dark (no streetlight outside!) or you have dinner at 5PM. The free buffet breakfast is okay - fruits, hot coffee/tea, bread, crepes, sausages, eggs. Staff's friendly and helpful. Wifi's strong. There is a generator on standby.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaFemmeEnNoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I was reasonably happy, especially when compared to the dire standard of Hotel Melinde which was charging approximately $75 in low season and was of a similar standard. The bathrooms are old and weird, but the staff do keep the clean. As per any residence that has electric heater shower heads, be careful. At least there was hot water from these heads. The staff were quick to organise a replacement when ours stopped working and also fixed up our other grumbles - ie blown light bulbs. TV and fridge and Wifi worked well. Air-conditioner did not, but they did compensate us for this. So big ticks all around for the staff who are very friendly. No problems with mosquito and street noise wasn't actually too bad considering it was a main road. Breakfast was not great but not bad.

We walked around as a group of 3 until about 7.30 at night and didn't have any problems, 2 of my group are older so I think like anywhere it pays to be cautious and alert.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Busybeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had never been to Kenya before and didn't really know what to expect. Yes this hotel is in a very central location in Mombasa but what we didn't realise was that this wasn't necessarily a good thing. There is not really anywhere to eat around the hotel and the restaurant closes early. We were robbed outside the hotel whilst in a taxi that was stuck in traffic, so it's safe to say that the area is not very safe and as 3 young women, going out after dark was an absolute no no.

We actually used the hotel as a base before going on a 5 day safari and wish we had decided on paying extra for the safety of one of the hotels on the coast.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, which actually can be said for all of the African countries we visited. Even at one point the receptionist let us use her phone to call our safari tour rep. But we had to ask for our beds to be made and for mosquito nets and the toilet in our room didn't flush, which was not fun at all when you have a dodgy tummy!

For $27 US dollars a night you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jazkaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Place is rather run down. Maintenance was very disappointing, We booked online and were happy with the price.
Staff was obliging and helpful. Dining hall cleanliness also poor - lots of flies!.
Room Linen reasonably clean. Upstairs ambience pleasant with large open terrace with potted palms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
6.6 mi away
Indiana Beach Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Jundan Hotel
Jundan Hotel
#39 of 61 in Mombasa
20 reviews
3.3 mi away
PrideInn Express Nyali
PrideInn Express Nyali
#12 of 61 in Mombasa
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Radiance
Hotel Radiance
#29 of 61 in Mombasa
29 reviews
4.5 mi away
Jambo Village Hotel
Jambo Village Hotel
#45 of 61 in Mombasa
20 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ziwa Beach Resort
Ziwa Beach Resort
#8 of 14 in Bamburi
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Palm Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Palm Tree Hotel

Address: Nkrumah Road | Old Town, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 61 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range: £16 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Palm Tree Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jovago.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your New Palm Tree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing