We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel
Ranked #42 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here in November 2013.

Last minute business trip, didn't want to stay to far away from downtown. I enjoyed the hotel, but it was VERY basic.

I had 3 single beds in my room, very limited Wi-Fi (They did apologise and mentioned they were experiencing issues with their internet I saw technicians on ladders all the time trying to "fix" it). The bathroom was ok, but in need of an upgrade/refit.

The advantage of this hotel is that it is very close to the local market and easy to get to. When the hotel couldn't fix the internet it was easy to walk to the local market and buy a 3G modem - in fact, this was cheaper than what the hotel would've charged me for internet anyway! I managed to walk around in the early evening - up to Fort Jesus and the "Middle Eastern/Arab market area" as well. A nice experience.

Dinners were ok, but cheap. Loads of Tusker beer, also cheap. Although it is annoying when you sit outside and the kids keep on asking for money - I managed to annoy them back and speak in Afrikaans.

Breakfast was ok, but again basic. Don't order sunny-side up eggs as it will be very runny. Rather ask for easy over. The tea & coffee was good, but the juices were warm.

All in all, for the price I paid (around $90/night) it was not bad value for money. The area around the hotel could get noisy, but you do get use to it. They were busy with renovations and hopefully the hotel would be better the next time I stay there.

Room Tip: Try to get a room far from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PietervdW1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

The location of this hotel makes it easier for residents to move around the city easily, and yet charges are pocket friendly. I do not swim so I paid less attention to the swimming pool. The rooms are not excellent though

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katazahansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Its a nice hotel with good clean rooms . Staff is friendly and services are good . Doesn't have gym and swimming pool . Located in the heart of city . If room choice prefer to take the back side room as they are quieter . Over all value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vijendar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just a good place to relax. Town is just a walk away, the beach is very close and all the service was helpful and friendly. I thought the food was good, remembering that when in Rome, do as the Roman's do.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjmooga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We only stayed here at the end of our holiday but was a continual stop during the day as it was a very welcoming atmosphere. The evenings entertainment in the evenings also made it one of our favourite evening ventures.

I can also strongly recommend the Chinese restaurant up stairs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1985Jac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

A comfortable hotel in a fine colonial building. The staff are mostly friendly and helpful - one in particular was just a bit TOO damn friendly - the food is mostly pretty good, but avoid the pizza! One thing that's annoying is that "housekeeping" do their stuff in stages, so they may take the soap and towels away (even though you've hardly touched the soap) and not replace them for hours. Fine if you're out all day but not if you're using your room as an office. The wi-fi is a bit erratic, but it mostly works. I hesitated between 3 and 4 stars, but overall I like the place too much to write it off as "average".

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank hu6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

This hotel is great - if you were living in 1960!
The building is sooo run down, NOTHING WORKS, no air con, no hot water, power cuts. even the ceilings in the hall ways are falling down!

Worse - the complete incompetence of the staff. eg 45 minutes to check out - seriously!
Result - I missed my flight.

Way over priced - given the above.
AVOID IT!
The nostalgia of the past is not worth the stress it causes.

Room Tip: dont go there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadsMoreTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Court Hotel
Royal Court Hotel
#23 of 60 in Mombasa
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
Hotel EnglishPoint & Spa
#18 of 60 in Mombasa
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
PrideInn Hotel Mombasa
#5 of 60 in Mombasa
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Bliss Resort
Bliss Resort
#6 of 14 in Bamburi
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Palm Tree Hotel
New Palm Tree Hotel
#32 of 60 in Mombasa
118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#47 of 60 in Mombasa
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel

Address: Moi Avenue, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range: £67 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel Mombasa is strategically situated within Mombasa Central business on the bustling Moi Avenue. It has 68 guest rooms all fitted with electric door locks, electric safes, TV, Dstv channels, Ultra Violet retardant windows, sound proofing, and en-suite. The hotel boasts a coffee bar, Long Bar and Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sentrim Castle Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Royal Mombasa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing