We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY SAY ABOUT BAHARI”
Review of Bahari Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bahari Beach Hotel
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

stayed there for like 3months as atrainee..Bahari is jst the best place to be.the Bahari beach community are so welcoming and friendly.The likes of kina Anita the head receptionist is the best person to work with.Evrybody whether senior is ready to assist.Appreciating the help of the HR,the Finance director.the Cashiers bothy Judy and Madaraka.the accounts office and all the staff may GOD bless you people.the rooms are just of d best standard.clean and so nice,the flowers there,the pool,oooops am not nable to say evrythng bout this place coz the list is endless.For anyone who is visiting mombasa do not look for another place to stay just go Bahari beach and your experience thea would just be the best .last but not least the General manager is the best.ilove her style of doing thing..she is a German but ha swahili is the best..IloVE BAHARI BEACH

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

Warm and friendly staff who seem to enjoy their work. My 9 yr old daughter comments capped it up "I like this hotel and they are so kind"
Ocean facing room offered a panoramic view for my kids who enjoyed viewing ships and the tides from balcony.
Scheduled evening activities to while away time after sumptuous dinner.

Room Tip: ocean facing, especially 201 to 204
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I had stayed one night in the hotel. The breakfast was nice. However, the place is for german old tourists. When it was 00:30 the bar was closed and I couldnt order anything. The hotel is nice decorated and clean. Also the rooms was clean inspite of being surrounded with nature. I think it is a good place to stay in Mombasa.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feysalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

a serene and beautiful hotel, with astonishing views over the creek, good access to the beach, all rooms very close to all amenities, caring and hospitable staff, good food, massage parlor is average. close to other nightclubs near the nyali area

Room Tip: rooms 410-420 are close to beach, pool and other amenities..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank animesh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This hotel made me experience its bad vibes from the time of checkin..The lady who does the morning shift in the reception area couldn't have been more rude. But I was utterly amazed at how the Germans (who are many in this hotel) were treated completely differently to us. What Kind of customer service is this? Anyway, The room was great and spacious as I stayed in the Junior Suite which had an amazing seaview. The food was horrendous though. Worst breakfast I've had in a hotel . All in all; Management need to train their staff to be more welcoming to local tourists on all occassions and maybe get new chefs.

Room Tip: Choose The Junior Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SharifaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I stayed here for two nights to dive with Peponi Divers located at the hotel. (The hotel is off Mombasa Marine Park.) If you book through the dive center you get a 20% discount. It’s worth being on the meal plan. I read the reviews about the poor food and decided to have one day half board and one day with just breakfast included. You can choose to either have lunch or dinner on half board and the difference in price to not being on half board is just 200 shillings! Despite this try to have the hotel arrange for you to see the sound and light show and have dinner at Fort Jesus.

The hotel caters mostly to German tourists and both the dive center and the hotel are efficiently run. Staff are very friendly and helpful. You can get good massages and there is an excellent gym (open from 5-9:30 PM weak nights) next to the hotel where you can buy a day pass for 400 shillings—cheaper for a week. The food was okay. There is a good selection unless you are a vegetarian but the cooks were happy to cook me a vegetable curry or some other dish of my choice.

The hotel wasn’t busy but even so the deck chairs were all reserved early—you are in a German colony after all. Tip the beach boys to reserve you a choice spot. There is not a lot of hassle on the small beach in front of the hotel by the kanga (sarong) vendors.

Rooms are small but spotless and white and the morning sun streaming in through the mosquito nets and curtains makes you think you are on a wooden dhow. Note that WIFI only works in the reception area. They do have one computer you can rent.

Note that as with a lot of the East African coast there is strong tidal displacement. This means that you might have to walk for quite a while to reach water you can swim in once the tide has receded. It also means that you might have to wait until 12:00PM to do the first dive of the day as otherwise the boats need to be anchored to far offshore to allow loading. So this isn’t really an ideal beach resort. Despite this I will stay here again when in Mombasa as the price was fair for the amenities and service. Arrange for a taxi to pick you up at Mombasa Airport for 1600 shillings (45 minute drive) either through the hotel or dive shop.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We dove with Peponi Divers which operates out of this hotel and were blown away over how nice this place was. We ended up staying here for most of the day to avoid returning to the Bamburi. The views are gorgeous, the staff very accommodating, and the grounds are amazing. There were plenty of little hideaways overlooking the ocean. The food took forever to get, but we found out that everything is prepared fresh, ie, when you order fries, they start cutting up the potatos! (!). We didn't branch out too much on food, but we'd highly recommend the fish and chips.

The manager Kathryn (?) took pity on us and made us her personal guests to tea (waffles and crepes included). She is in the perfect profession for her personality. She made us (non guests) feel very welcome. I would highly recommend booking here.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank AndSid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mombasa hotels
3.3 mi away
Bamburi Beach Hotel
Bamburi Beach Hotel
#12 of 60 in Mombasa
1,000 reviews
3.6 mi away
Severin Sea Lodge
Severin Sea Lodge
#2 of 14 in Bamburi
575 reviews
1.2 mi away
Nyali Sun Africa Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
PrideInn Paradise Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Voyager Beach Resort
Voyager Beach Resort
#2 of 60 in Mombasa
3,075 reviews
3 mi away
Sarova Whitesands Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahari Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahari Beach Hotel

Address: Nyali Beach | Mount Kenya Road, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Mombasa
Price Range: £104 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahari Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bahari Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing