We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice location, the food could be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yul's Restaurant

Yul's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Mombasa
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic, View
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice location, the food could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Yul's occupies some prime real estate along the Mombasa coast and they do a good job of taking advantage of it. There's a range of seating from bar stools, to tables, to couches – all with ocean views. It's one of few beach-side restaurants that's not attached to a hotel and for that it's great.

Because of the atmosphere I've been several times but each time I leave having had a mediocre meal. The pizza ranks low among options in Mombasa, mostly due to the strong burnt carbon flavor that overpowers the crust. Pastas are meh; not terrible but not memorable, and the veggie burger is so greasy to seems like it's been deep fried.

Go, but go for the atmosphere, not an amazing meal.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    152
    45
    14
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Food Bad Music”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Good Food and good music if you are there, but going back to bamburi you will not be able to sleep case the high volume level
try to avoid the music in saturdays

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, slow service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I went there for dessert with two friends. It was on a weekday so there were no crowds. We were ushered into a seat, placed an order and then proceeded to wait for 40 minutes for dessert! They were delicious when they arrived but the wait was just too long.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The service at yuls is disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

1.) Been here over an hour. No one has attended to us.
2.) When we finally signalled to the assistant supervisor and another member of staff, they just blatantly ignored us.
3.) When the assistant supervisor finally attended to us at his own time, he could not even apologize for his unacceptable behaviour but instead was rude.
4.) I am beyond disappointed as I frequent this restaurant and keep bringing new customers here.
Today the service staff have behaved like THEY pay US to come here.
Yuls management, kindly address this matter seriously as this is utterly disgusting and unacceptable behaviour from your staff.
I would like to keep coming here but this has left an extremely bad taste in my mouth.

Helpful?
2 Thank Latifa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointed ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile


After being shown to our seats nobody attended to us for more than half an hour. Two of us decided to wave to catch the attention of two waiters who were busy chatting. One of them saw us and gestured to the other that we were calling. However both of them ignored us even after we persisted with our calls. One of them eventually came and to our shock he was an assistant supervisor! Even though we tried to tell him that he should have at least acknowledged our call before coming he was still making more excuses! Utterly disgraceful! It has been over an hour now and we have still not been asked what we want or if we are okay. It is now an experiment to see how long it will take before someone comes to our table!

Helpful?
2 Thank sheni254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yul's Restaurant also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Yul's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing