We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience at least once.”

Qinghai Tibet Train (Lhasa Express)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$460.00*
and up
3-Night Lhasa Impression Small-Group Tour
Ranked #1,251 of -32,166 things to do in China
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Qinghai-Tibet Railway, the world's highest railway goes 710 miles from Qinghai to Lhasa, on which the train starts from mainland China: Beijing, Xining, Chengdu, Shanghai, Guangzhou and Chongqing, making your trip to Tibet extremely unparalleled and attractive. It has become the most popular way to Tibet since the initial launch of China Tibet railway across the vantage point for viewing the plateau scenery.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Experience at least once.”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We, a group of 11 friends, from Sri Lanka bordered to the train to a soft sleeper birth that was arranged by our travel agent, Tibettravel.org, on 17th Sep 2013 around 19.00 hrs. We are due in the train two nights and reached to Lhasa on 19th around 16.00 hrs. The experience was unforgettable, though there were some weaknesses. The birth was compact to share by four. We have walk to the other compartment for hot water. The menu in the cafeteria was limited. But the experience gathered by viewing the area we passed was awesome. The snow capped mountains, huge plains with beards of yaks and sheep, and isolated small villages with box shaped houses show a magnificent view. The train passed the altitude more than 5000 meters, but the automated oxygen pumping system was helped to be acclaimed with the situation. When we got down from Lhasa, nobody of our team affected with altitude sickness. Thanks for the train that passed about 3,750 kms from Beijing within about 44 hours. We felt well on the land, too. This train is more suits the healthy people as you have to passed various altitudes within the train runs about 120 km per hour. It is advisable to buy the train ticket in advance, don't pay any more than the invoice you get. The agent from the agency is trying to charge more by saying this and that, which we experienced. But We paid only the invoiced amount.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayantha Badran... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    47
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Echuca, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Our trip on the express”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile


Leaving Lhasa
This beautiful Buddhist city ringed by high snow dusted mountains
World Heritage Monasteries and Palaces
Luxury lounge waiting area
Train info displayed on train departure boards in Chinese. We'll manage somehow
What to expect? Who knows?
All aboard Qinghai Tibet Express
Roll up the cabin carpet, cleaner underneath.
Slowly climbing from 3700 metres
Yang Ba Lin 4610 mt at 3.25 pm is our first station
Yaks, yakkety yak please come back we hear them call.
Goats Sheep Cattle chewing on nothing, tended by shepherds on motor bikes or on foot
Ploughing plots. Yaks harnessed to primitive ploughs. Women dressed in chubas working fields
Rice paddy, some dry some wet. Barley plots swaying in the wind.
Nomad huts, solar panels, prayer flags, occasional girt.
Yak dung drying on a brick wall
Big piles of yak dung like a wood heap, the higher we climbed the bigger the pile
Small communities, animal yards of stone walls
Trucks and cars and buses out on the plateau, no roads to see
Prayer flags fluttering in the icy cold wind, down mountainsides, over glacial streams, on hillsides.
Stone fences around stone houses
Rubbish in glacial streams
Plastic bags caught in fence lines
Na Qu 4513m our 2nd biggish station in the middle of the Tibetan Plains
Gang Xiu 4646m Station
Windy, lots of passengers departed our train.
Toilet still in the deep end.
Dinner of steamed whole fish, with chilli and other things I didn't know, with a bowl of rice each and a bowl of "soup" 64 yuan
Large inland lake at 4700+ mtrs
Tou Ju station at 4891 mt 7.20 pm
Zha Jia Zang station4886 mt at 8pm
Tangula station 5067 mt at 8.20 pm. This is the highest point on the train journey and currently highest station in the world. Surely are traveling along the roof of the world.
Time for bed. Oxygen hissing from the outlets, providing a little extra relief.
Often awake
Stopping few stations. Main stop around 3.30am for awhile. More passengers depart and alight.
Awake around 8.20 am.
Passing a very large inland sea for maybe 30 mins
Now wide open plains. 10.30 am snowing lightly and snow on ground
Xining West Station. Stopped for 20 mins. Bought yoghurt from stall vendor on the station. 5Yuan. Was "most famous black rice yoghurt " in China. And yummy.
Now we are going through more densely populated area, many multi storey apartments both completed and being built. Large section of new road and railway extension or duplication for 10 Kms or so from the station on towards Beijing. We are halfway.
Squatter and sitter toilet both blocked now and out of order. Not looking good. 19 hours to go.
17 hours to go. Stopped at station. Bread rolls purchased from trolley on station. We all had different fillings, banana, salad, ham and cheese, then we woke up and realized they were just plain old sweet glazed bread rolls. Ah the food we have eaten this trip, pizza, pasta, hamburgers, you name it we have imagined it.
Instant noodles for dinner.
And so we frittered away another day, 42 hours in all, all aboard the Express. Fun filled. We have had some laughs and made great memories. With the wrong attitude, We can see that the train trip could be taxing, just need to approach it with a sense of humour, (and more snacks) we won't ever regret doing it. It's great to be a traveller and we have been so lucky.



Visited May 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“tour of Lhasa and china”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

we boarded the train at Xining, soft sleeper, as we were 2 travellers we booked a 4 sleeper for the 2 of us; Christina@absolutechinatours booked the 16 day itinerary for us. having read previous reviews I was quite nervous but all went well, our guide saw us to our sleeper. I would recommendat least 4 litre each of water,the train ran out of water, there is boiling water on tap, and a flask in ones cabin. toilets are western and asian style; take toilet paper with you and a hand towel.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Good to ride the train ONCE”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

After going thru 44 hrs from Chengdu to Lhasa, the experience isn't that bad. 44 hours sounds long, but most of the time you spend is sleeping or doing your own stuff ( some isolation time) but if you are those hyperactive kind, skip this train ride, just fly to Lhasa.

All trains that go to Lhasa are similar (i.e coming from Beijing, Xian or Chengdu etc). The first 24 hours probably will not get you the view that you want. Is the next 24 hrs that you will see nicer scenic mountain views. If you have to take this train, board at xining or lanzhou instead. It will reduce your journey by a day.

3 types of seatings in the train.
1) SEATS that doesnt recline and is the cheapest
2) 6 bed bunk in a carriage (total 60 pax) the next cheapest
3) 4 bed bunk in a carriage (total 32 pax) the most expensive
Price depends on where you board and also if you are paying an agent fee, although there is no need for it, but some people do pay 100-1000RMB for the agent fee. Prices of tickets you can search online.

Inside each bunk, there is only one charging point, you gotta share, if not you can charge your stuff along the corridor. Inside the dinner carriage, there is no charging point. There is a personal TV that ceased to function since time started, so bring your own entertainment. The attendent do clean the cabin when possible. There are toilets at each end of the carriage, may not be the cleanest but it function well. You can take a short breather or walk when the train stops at major stations (for about 20 mins). There's a hot water dispenser if you want to have hot tea or cup noodles.

If you are taking the sleepers(aka bunks), it will depend on your luck on whom you get as your bunk-mates. Some may get those noisy smokers etc, i got lucky and got some local ladies, whom was always sharing with me their home cook food. Do note that although smoking is prohibited in the carriage, but they can still smoke at the intersection of the carriage, and the smoke will flow into the bunks/carriage eventually.

Food at the dinner carriage was delicious. It's opened 24 hrs, and you can sit at the carriage and dine with a view. Price wise would depends on what you order. Fish will be more expensive, and the others would be an average of 50RMB per person. If price is a factor, you can bring your own food. There will be someone pushing out a cart of about 4 local dishes and rice along the corridor. The price would be 25 RMB for a plate of rice and 4 dishes. When there are lesser dishes, the price will drop to 15 RMB. Price is the same for dinner and lunch. They do serve breakfast too, but i was sleeping.

If you want to acclimatize by taking the train, i would not recommend it because the train is going up and down (5000+ to 3000+) in altitude, you can hardly acclimatize. the best way is to fly to Lhasa direct and stay an extra day or two. There is extra oxygen pumped out into the cabin, but if you are moving too much at 5000+ metres, you will get dizzy too. There are many people whom puke in the cabins (6 bed bunk), probably not enough oxygen for a cramped number of people. I saw lesser people whom puke in the 4 bed bunks. Do bring your altitude medicine if it works for you, or if you need oxygen can or tube, you can approached the staff.

The view is beautiful to see and to be kept in your memory. If you want to take photos, it will be difficult as the train is moving and the reflection of the train's windows do a bad job. After a while the scenery is the same. So to stay couped up for 24 hrs to see almost similar view/scenes it may not be ideal for some.

I feel it's not a must to train but if you want to train it is fine too. There is no right or wrong in it, it depends on your choice. Flying will be much faster and sometimes cheaper too. you probably can see the same view when you are touring round tibet.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank EdwinLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Chengdu to lhasa a 44 hour unforgettable experience in many ways”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We took the train from Chengdu to lhasa and have a few tips for anyone wishing to do the same thing.
Always buy soft sleeper tickets, a soft sleeper cabin sleeps up to four (well not really sleeper as the bunk beds are incredible hard and you won't get much of it). As the hard sleeper and hard seats are not really an option.
There are two toilets one each end of the carriage 1 western and 1 Asian and recommend taking your own toilet roll and wipes as after the second day they are very dirty but the cabin staff did clean them quite regularly.

There was a dining car but on our train it seemed to be more of a staff canteen than serving its customers no menus were present but a lovely member of staff came by our cabin with lunch and dinner which was delicious and relatively cheap 15 RMB for lunch and 25 RMB for dinner. I recommend you also bring your own food that you can add hot water to as you have a thermos flask in your cabin which you can top up as much as you want.

Make sure you bring either battery packs that you can charge your items with as there is supposed to be a plug socket in the cabin but on ours this was not working.

The staff do not speak English and mostly were very uninterested in any of its passengers but a few were pleasant.

The scenery is amazing and the views out of the windows during the 44 hours (24 hours too long mind you) were unforgettable.
The train is a great way to see the country at a leisurely pace but getting it from Xining is probably the best

We were lucky and did not really suffer with any altitude sickness as they have oxygen outlets in the cabins which the staff can give you cannulas to breath through. These were not forthcoming and make sure you ask.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Qinghai Tibet Train (Lhasa Express) also viewed

 

Been to Qinghai Tibet Train (Lhasa Express)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing