We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very high calibre city hotel - enjoy!”
Review of Park Hyatt Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hyatt Beijing
Ranked #29 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2009

As other reviewers have mentioned, for some reason cab drivers can't find the place. Despite being armed with a map and a Beijing-resident Mandarin-speaking friend, the first two cabs I tried declined even to try to find it, and the third had to be navigated in on my cellphone by the hotel reception. All quite entertaining, really! Apart from that the location wasn't an issue as I was at conference in the hotel so never had to leave.

Everything else was excellent. My room was booked at an absurdly cheap conference rate which made this the best value hotel I've stayed in for years.

You're in the top half of a skyscraper, with three lift banks to choose from depending on where you want to go. I guess that could be a bit of a puzzle, but just allow a couple of minutes extra and you'll be fine - and the views compensate for the minor confusions. The staff are very professional, easily comparable with the best Hong Kong 5* hotel staff. And the hotel's very tastefully decorated, "understated modern with generic Asian accents" as an interior designer might describe it.

The room was big, with an open plan layout (so the bathroom is part of the room - which I like but you might not if you're sharing with a not-quite-best-friend). It has a high-tech Japanese toilet, which you'll find in every 5* hotel globally within a few years, they're so good. Nice big (tho' square!) bath, with bath salts. Plenty of work space, moderately expensive internet, coffee machine and kettle. CD/DVD player (tho' an ipod player would have been nice). Uber-comfortable bed and bedding as you find in all the top-end chains. Electronic controls for everything, including the blinds and a very effective blackout shade for you daytime sleepers.

Breakfast was on the 66th floor and was a nice mix of buffet and a la carte, all included in one price. I really like this - it irks me to have to fetch my own breakfast if I'm paying for it, but buffets do allow you to customise, so this was a good compromise. I swam a couple of km in the pool, a 25m lap pool so you can do a proper workout set - and what's better is that the staff KNOW how long the pool is. The overwhelming majority of front-desk staff have no idea how long their pools are, so unless I go scope it out when I check in, I can't plan my morning set the night before! Well done Hyatt on the staff training! Beautiful gym and changing room, too, though in this quality of hotel I'd have expected to find a few more toiletries (razors and cream, deo, etc - a pretty minor moan I admit).

I didn't explore the mall, but I'd imagine your shopaholic friends could burn a few thousand dollars on branded toys very easily, if that's their thing.

So all in all, this is one of the best and most sophisticated big-chain hotels you could envisage staying in, reminiscent (not surprisingly) of the Hyatt at Roppongi Hills in Tokyo.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

513 - 519 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2009

Take the subway and you are right below the hotel. Very convenient. Though you have to walk through a tunnel if you come in on the number 10 line. Take a taxi? Forget it. You better know how to explain how to get to the hotel or have the number for the driver to call. Even then, he probably won't find the entrance. Worst design for an entrance to a hotel I've ever seen. Plus, there are no regular taxi's waiting. They have a private taxi that does not use the meter. I used it once and coming back with a regular city taxi found out it was only 2 Yuan more. However, that was on a short ride. So hard to say. I don't like not knowing if I got ripped off or not. The area itself is close to everything and not in a remote location. So that's good. It would help if the building had a Hyatt sign on it.

That being said, the hotel itself is top notch. Everyone speaks perfect English and is very friendly. I asked if I could get an upgrade to a corner room and did! Much larger room than the regular one with great views all around. The room is amazing. Shower and tub that look over the city. Japanese style toilet that sprays water in more places than I needed and then has a dryer to boot. Heated seat is very nice though, even opens up automatically.

Nice hardwood floors that were not slippery. Controls for everything. Had to ask to find out you have to hold the blind switch to get them to raise after closing. Nice espresso coffee maker. Very nice bed.

Never made it to the pool or gym so I can't comment on it. Only stayed one night.

As other's have said, the elevators are a pain. If you come into the hotel from the ground level and go to your room, you must go up before you go down. Then to go to the bar/restaurant it's two elevators again! Little silly just to show off the 63rd floor check in!

Would I stay here again? Probably not. The hassles with the taxi's when not using the subway is just not worth it. Now if you JUST use the subway, you are in a GREAT location. However, those damn subway's are ALWAYS crowded and it gets old after awhile being locked in a sardine can.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bpdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Stayed twice in two weeks - 2 nights each stay. Upon our 2nd check-in the hotel addressed us immediately by our sir name - very 5 star! Front desk staff was the perfect combo of friendly and professional - often hard to achieve in Beijing.

Lobby, as well restaurant/bars, are located on the hotel's highest floors - stunning views of city. Actually the hotel's best feature is the view! We had a corner room for both stays - very large with windows everywhere. Amazingly comfortable bedding. The toilet is a trip - many buttons w. crazy features! Too funny. Only negative in room design was the highly stylized shower. It required towels be set under the glass door to stop water from escaping. Also the lights were a little confusing to turn on and off from the bedside panel.

The spa and workout facilities are beautiful and like everyplace else in this hotel offers amazing city views! Great steam and sauna. The indoor pool was an oasis.

Room service and restaurants/bars are pretty pricy, but expected at 5 star hotels in Beijing lately. Hotel sits atop a high-end shopping mall with some restaurants. Two major subway lines are footsteps from the hotel and the Silk Market is an easy walk. Ideal 5 star hotel in great location.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRMBinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

Everything you'd expect from an expensive, top end hotel. The "Park King" room is easily the best I've had the pleasure of staying in, perfect for relaxing after a hard day in the office. Spacious, contemporary, well furnished and with great views. The deep limestone bath is superb. There are a lot of electronic controls in the room for lighting, blinds, and even the toilet is one of those Japanese inventions that has a control panel of its own.

The views from the China Grill & Bar on the 66th & 65th floors respectively are awesome. Breakfast is in the China Grill.

There are a lot of staff on hand, all eager to please and serve.

The only gripe I had was with the reception being on the 63rd floor. It is a little inconvenient having to go all the way to the 63rd and then down again to one of the lower floors to get to your room. When you want to leave the hotel, you have to repeat the process again - up to the 63rd and then down to the bottom...

One note of frustration (and not really the fault with the hotel) is that taxi drivers don't seem to know where it is. We almost always had trouble finding a taxi driver who knew where it was even after showing them a card with the hotel's name, address in Mandarin & a map of the location! This was surprising considering it's the tallest building in the area. Other than that, highly recommended and in my view, better than the JW Marriott I stayed in on a previous visit.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moomin_papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

While the hotel is beautiful, there are too many isssues to warrant staying there. The lobby is on the 63rd floor which has gorgeous views, but you have to take 3 elevators to get to your room from the enterance of the hotel-inconvenient at the very least. Because the hotel enterance in in the middle of complex rather than on the street, taxis are hard to get and returning to the hotel by taxi is a problem because taxi drivers don't know the hotel and have a lot of trouble finding the hotel and the entrance. It was the only hotel in China in which we stayed that there weren't taxis waiting. The hotel is somewhat out of the way although taxi rides are inexpensive. It is the most ultra modern hotel I have stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

I was lucky enough to enjoy the Park Hyatt as a little getaway from the city rush last weekend - it was absolutely delightful.
I stayed in a standard King room which had an amazing view, was very spacious and had a lovely deep sandstone bath.
The decor was lovely, the food delicious and the service - brilliant.
All requests were cater for in an instant - even the bellboy buying some headache tablets from the pharmacy!
Will be back for an escape - cannot fault.
Oh, I didnt use the gym or pool, but bothy looked excellent, a long pool and brand new technogym-equipped gym.
Outstanding outstanding

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

The Room: It comes with a spa-style decor bath area with in-ceiling rain shower. There are 2 sliding door in the room, one of which closes the main door sealing out sounds from the corridor, the second divides the bathroom from the bedding area. The room also has two lighting mood settings. In general, the room's design has strong Asian influences.

The Service: The hick-up of the hotel is something that I've also had at the Shanghai Grand Hyatt in that, being a Chinese myself, some of the staff automatically speaks to me in Putonghua even after I reply in English. A somewhat frustrating experience when they only speak English when I tell them I don't understand what they are saying in Putonghua myself. I was also slightly offended at the China Grill when I tried to make a reservation with the receptionist there where I had a camera in my hand and in 'off' mode and was told I can't take pictures of the menu?!?!

The Food: The Lobby Lounge seems to be the most reasonable in price and quality. No real need to go up to the China Grill although it's a couple of floors higher than the Lobby Lounge which is already on the 62nd floor.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahlolo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Shangri-La China World Summit Wing, Beijing
Rosewood Beijing
#3 of 6,556 in Beijing
422 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#13 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,059 reviews
Guomao
Conrad Beijing
Conrad Beijing
#36 of 6,556 in Beijing
553 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
Grand Hyatt Beijing
#41 of 6,556 in Beijing
2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Beijing

Address: No.2 Jianguomenwai Main Street, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100022, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#14 Family Hotel in Beijing
#20 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#22 Business Hotel in Beijing
#28 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#152 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £174 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 246
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hyatt Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Beijing Hotel Beijing
Hyatt Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing