We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Nearby Hotels
US$240
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$191
NewWorldHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$236
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,457)
Filter reviews
1,457 results
Traveller rating
865
440
98
36
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
865
440
98
36
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheavenly bedmassage chaircorner roomring roadhigh floorthird ringsubway stationbusiness tripexecutive clubbusiness travelerbreakfast buffet isclose to the airportvery nice hotelchinese restaurantrooms are spaciousexecutive floorshopping mall
Filter
Updating list...
719 - 724 of 1,457 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2011

:This is my first time to stay in a Westin Hotel. It exceeded my expectation. The hotel is new and fashion and very international. I saw so many different countries’ faces here. There is nothing to be criticized. I had a spa treatment and it was amazing. Highly recommend to try their SPA and swimming pool, especially in the afternoon, the pool is feeling so good with quiet surroundings and beautiful music. The city view from room is impressed me with the third ring road traffic jam. Fortunately there is a subway station right in front of hotel to help you avoid the bad traffic in Beijing. What a wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: book your room eariler
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kikichichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2011

Dear guest, your comments are well received and we appreciate it.

It is a pleasure to learn you enjoyed your stay experience with us and you have been well looked after by our team. Your comments have been delivered to our team who are really inspired by your kind words.

We expect to welcome you back in the short future and shine your uplifting memory with us again.

Be well. Be refreshed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

This is my second long stay at the Westin-Chaoyang, and service was still just as excellent. This Westin is well-located right next to a subway station and Airport Express road for easy access to and from the airport, but not the famous site-seeing places. For business, this hotel is great! For tourism, you have to factor in subway time or taxi cost. For families with small children, hmmm.

Buffett breakfast on the 2nd floor, and a simple dinner plates and drinks on the 34th floor, was included in my room which was situated on one of the corners – the corner suites – very nice! No complaints with the room, but the A/C did malfunction, so the rooms could use a quality maintenance go-over before guests check-in, and a “walk-through” would be most beneficial because of all the switches and gadgets throughout the room (over 20 switches in my room!).

The breakfast buffet opens sharply at 6:30am – you may be turned away if you go too early – but why? Not all the food selections or even the employees are ready at 6:30; however, the guests flow quickly in at that time. Food selection is good (a bit of dimsum, some Indian and Korean, Euro-American and Japanese sushi); however, without much change from day to day, and the yogurt seems to be a local brand and a bit bland (why not imported?).

For relaxation, I had a “quickie” massage (50 mins – not long enough – I’m used to 2-hour long massages) – it was so-so, but I had better massage at a local place which tend not to be as “pretty” as a 5-star hotel (only 35 yuan/hour at the Zhen Qing Song Massage Center for the Blind just behind the hotel about 10 min walk). The gym is a good size, but the showers are a bit musty with the high volume of users. At 6pm, partake in the light dinner and drinks at the Executive lounge…the bite-sized cheese cakes are heavenly, and so are the sweets and shooters…plus the drinks are flowing very well…a great way to end the hectic day of site-seeing or a day at work! Room t.v. channels are minimal, lacking in variety, unfortunately, unless you like CCTV.

Managers are fantastic...working staff good too, but they need to be trained (or reminded) how to deal with foreigner visitors – a smile, patience and good listening skills can all go a long way.

As always, the hotel’s main entrance tends to be typically “Chinese-chaotic” with everyone trying to park right by the front door and nobody seems to care or can do anything about it "meibanfan" (all VIP want-to-be’s try to park in front – give me a bucket, please - but, check out the Chinese Military black Mercedes with cherries on top that is always barked in front which shows you who is really in charge and spends the money in China) and show-off their fancy cars (infamous Chinese “mianzi” characteristic – another bucket, please). This is definitely not an area for small children to be left unattended – be warned - seriously! The designers should have taken this into account. Take the Beijing 2-yuan subway lines because the traffic is simply crazy with the exception of Sunday mornings! Taxi to/from the Capital (PEK) airport will run you about 60 yuan (use the meter!!! otherwise you may easily get ripped-off – remember this is Asia).

Oh, and be careful of the bathroom floor and tile corners. For some reason, the tile is rough around the shower/toilet area and small bits get stuck on your feet – ouch (China-made quality? CCC – ha!)! Due to constant dirt and lots of pollution in Beijing, the windows are a bit dirty and going around town will put a good ring into your shirt collar. Well, most likely I will stay again...for the SPG points and nice accommodations notwithstanding!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us and taking your time to share your feedback here after your recent stay. Your reviews have been brought to the attention of the management and we are of course looking in to improving. House keeping will put more effort on room inspection before guest check in and at the same time, appropriate trainings have also being arranged for our local associates in our teams, as a part of our continuous efforts to meet our guests’ expectations.

Sincerely we look forward to your next visit to replenish yourself with us.

Be well and be Westin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

If you are in Chaoyang for business this is a great hotel to stay in. The service is excellent and the rooms very nice (typical Westin). The location isn't great, but again if you are working in Chaoyang it is the best option I have found. Staff all speak English and are very helpful. The breakfast buffet is excellent with a lot of choice and great food. The Chinese restaurant in the hotel is strangely not great - and very expensive, there is better food for a quarter of the price in the mall next door. However the grill (if you need some western style food) is actually really good. The hotel has two bars, Mix and Touch. Mix is in the lobby and not a bad place to meet up, but not a location to stay at. Touch is weird, trying to be trendy but dreadfully empty at all hours.
The gym is very nice and new, and never crowded, and there is a special yoga room. The pool is ok, just a lap pool, nothing special.
Again if you want a good vacation hotel this isn't it, but if you are on a business trip the rooms and service make up for the lack of nightlife, it is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Join the Starwood program if you want a better rom
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K1w1Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing us and taking your time to share your feedback here after your recent stay.

We are delighted to learn you refreshed your experience with The Westin Beijing Chaoyang only except that the Chinese restaurant did not meet your expectation. Your comments have been shared with management team and we will strive to improve both food quality and service in the future.

Trust us are sincerely expecting to welcome you back soon and at the same time, be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The good:
Friendly staff
Comfy beds
big room
great room amenities
Cleanliness

The bad:
Charge for internet - even in the business centre and to print! and it's only open from 8am

But I didn't eat in the restaurant

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing us and taking your time to share your feedback after your recent stay with The Westin Beijing Chaoyang. We are very disappointed to learn your experience with us is not 100% uplifting. Your reviews have been brought to the attention of the management and we are of course looking in to improving.

Sincerely we look forward to your next visit to replenish yourself with us.

Be recharged!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I recently stayed at the Westin Chaoyang, a luxurious hotel in the northern part of Beijing.

THE LOCATION
The Westin is located in the Chaoyang district of Beijing and is right in front of Exit D of the Liangmaqiao Subway station. It is in a rather quiet neighbourhood in the northern part of Beijing. The hotel is right next to the IFC Mall which houses numerous high-end brands like Gucci, a grocery store and some dining option. Across the street there is also another small mall, and the Hilton and Kempinski Hotels are all within walking distance of the hotel. The Sanlintun (Expat) village is about two kilometres south of the hotel and is easily reachable by taxi or the subway. Most of the sights in the central Beijing such as the Forbidden City require taxi and or subway trips. Just make sure you tell the driver to take you to the Westin Chaoyang as there are two Westins in Beijing. The best way to reach the hotel is by taxi, although one can take a train-subway combination to get to the hotel.

THE ROOM
We had reserved a Westin Deluxe room, and our request for a higher floor was honoured. The check-in was efficient, and the level of English spoken by the clerk was good. We were not escorted to our room by the staff, but didn't expect it. The room was fairly spacious (about 40 meters squared) with huge windows overlooking the city. The room had an LCD TV (about 32 inches) with a variety of channels including CNN and the BBC, coffee and tea making facilities, an ironing board with iron, a safe, two umbrellas and slippers. The room also had two Westin Heavenly Beds, a work table, a sofa to enjoy the view from the windows, a speaker phone, an alarm clock, as well as high-speed LAN Internet service (charged) and WIFI (charged). The minibar was fully stocked with a variety of soft drinks and alcoholic beverages. The bed was quite comfortable, the furniture new and it was spotless. The room was cleaned daily and a newspaper was delivered daily.

THE BATHROOM
The bathroom was functional and was separated from the room by doors. The windows separating the bathroom and the room are translucent and provide ample privacy. There was a sink, a separate bathtub, a shower stall, a separate toilet (with a telephone), the usual extra amenities such as razors and even flowers. There were plenty of towels for use. The soap, shampoo and other amenities were White Tea by Westin branded and of good quality. The shower was strong and the water temperature fully adjustable. There were also three bottles of mineral water in the bathroom. Remember not to drink the tap water in Beijing.

THE HOTEL FACILITIES
The hotel offered a variety of facilities for the guests: There was a large indoor pool, a Westin Workout gym with weights and cardio machines, as well as a sauna and whirlpool area. We used these facilities extensively and found them to be very good. The hotel pool was especially wonderful but there were no pool staff and as a result, there were times when we found some used towels and trash on the seats near the pool. There is a Westin Heavenly Spa, but we did not use it on this visit. The hotel also had a a business centre as well as many meeting rooms. The hotel has a very modern Asian vibe to it, and is rather large.

THE RESTAURANTS/BARS
The hotel had 3 restaurants (serving buffet, Cantonese and steak selections) as well as a pool bar, 2 bars/lounges and a bakery. We ate breakfast at the Seasonal Tastes (buffet) restaurant which serves an international buffet and we found the food selection and quality to be quite good. Our rate included breakfast but the prices of all the restaurants were not too expensive for Beijing. There are some other food options outside the hotel at the IFC mall and of course if you take a taxi to another area.

THE SERVICE
Overall, the service of the hotel was professional and communication in (basic) English was not a major problem. The service in the Seasonal Tastes restaurant was prompt, although refills of beverages need to be quicker. The pool needs to be regularly maintained during the day to avoid having ex-guests towels everywhere.

CONCLUSION
The Westin Chaoyang Beijing is a good business hotel in the embassy district. For tourists however, the Westin is far from the main sights of Beijing. If you don't mind 30-minute taxi rides into the city, then stay here. That being said, the hotel does offer competitive rates due to its distance from the city centre. We would probably stay in the centre of Beijing next time.

Room Tip: The front staff can give higher floor rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MRIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us and taking your time to share your feedback here after your recent stay with The Westin Beijing Chaoyang. Your complete notes will help other travels who are in search of a recommended accommodation in Beijing.

Regarding the issue of used towels in the pool area, our team will be of course taking more attention and have it cleaned promptly.

We sincerely welcome you back in the short future, to rediscover your experience of renewal.

Be Westin! Be well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews