We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, all that you need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Ranked #24 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Stayed here for the first time duruing the week and it did not dissapoint at all. Being a gold SPG member was nice surprise to get to choose an added extra - either welcome drink, pressing of 2 shirts or free internet - I chose the inernet option, to lower the cost of my stay. I know other SPG hotels do offer this, but am noticing that it is fewer and fewer now.

Room was good, well appointed, seperate shower plus a bath. Location also good as has many food and shopping options in a high end mall attached to the hotel, It is opposite the Kempinski hotel / German centre which many people will know.

Breakfast was varied with lots of choices and to my mind, better than many other 5 star hotels in Beijing.

I will be back

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShanghaiPandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2011

Dear Reviewer, thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor.com and as an SPG Gold member not only do we thank you for your great review but also for your support and loyalty to our hotels worldwide. We are happy to read that you like our new and improved benefits for our SPG Gold Members and the team and I look forward in being of service to you in the future.

Travel Well and Be Westin!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

631 - 637 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2011

This is another review of Westing Chaoyang from me. This time was the tops, literally! We arrived very late (near midnight) and got a fantastic upgraded room (Room 3218). If you read my previous reviews, this is a corner room, but this time the room was very, very nice with separate dining and living room, 1.5 baths, and a small "kitchen" area. Oh, and a full massage chair to boot. No complaints...well, however, for some reason there was no staff at the lobby door to collect our luggage at first, and the bell-boy was a bit slow. There were lots of local Chinese tour groups, so we took our breakfast on the 34th floor which was so much quieter. If you frequent China, you know what I mean. Tip: I would avoid the first week of October next time I visit.

Room Tip: Again, if you are a lite sleeper, choose a room away from the 3rd ring road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaoBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Dear Reviewer, thank you not only for sharing your experience with our friends at tripadvisor.com but also for returning to your home here in Beijing at the Westin. We are disappointed to note your lack of assistance provided upon your arrival, which is far from the norm. Do let us know when your travels bring you back to the capital as we look forward to be of service.

Be Well, Be Westin!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Was there for a week on Business. Perfect location close to Santilum. Check-In and -Out went fast. Extremely nice rooms. Staff friendly and helpful at all times. Excellent Outlets for Dinner or drinks. Music was a bit too loud in the Bar since it was during the week and people were there with Businesspartners or alone and nobody wanted to party. But Band was ok though. Breakfast beautiful with great choice - everything you may possibly want and also on high standard. Spa-Pool-Gym-Sauna-Area perfectly clean and organized. Small problem was that eventhough we were warned by a note from the Director of Rooms that some Window-Maintanence will be going on, it was on Saturday and Sunday between 8.30 and 9am. Thats something to be done during PM hours...

Overall I will definitely come back and recommend this Hotel to anybody. Eventhough a bit pricy but worth it.

Room Tip: Get a high floor due to Bass from the Club in evening hours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian_Schmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear Reviewer,

thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with tripadvisor.com and we are delighted to note that you will be returning to stay with us should your travels bring you back through the capital. We look forward in being of service in the future.

Be Well and always, Be Westin!


Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Beautiful hotel with high service, great rooms, great bathrooms, thick towels. Location was terrific with access to small restaurants and coffee shops. We were on the northeast side which gave us good access to the Forbidden City, Tian'an Men Square. The airport is also on this side of town. This hotel was recommended to us as a good location and we found it to be so.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprilgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear Reviewer,

thank you for sharing your experience with our friends at tripadvisor.com. We are also delighted, by your review and will share your thoughts with our team. Do let us know when your travels bring you back to the capital as we look forward to be of service in the future.

Stay Well!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed here five nights. Lovely hotel but trying to hard to be modern and therefore missing client satisfaction.

PRO
1. Lovely, spacious room
2. Sparkling view (14th floor), great housekeeping staff
3. Yummy breakfast buffet especially the fruit juice and yogurt

CON
1. The hotel cards with a map that you give to the taxi driver are a real problem. They are elegant, yes, but very difficult to read and impossible for ALL SIX of our taxi drivers to read. The phone number was very tiny and in pale gray. The name of the hotel was also small and the map was too pale. If I did not have a phone and could not have called the hotel to tell the driver where to take me, I would have been in serious trouble. Westin, PLEASE FIX THIS PROBLEM.
2. The toilet and bathroom light shine into the bedroom so if you have your partner sleeping there, he or she will be flooded with light when in bed if you turn on the bathroom light.
3. Each day, the tea pot cord was wound up so I had to unwind it, pull out the tea tray and fumble around to find the plug so I could make coffee. Maybe classy to have it wound up every day, but unnecessary...small but irritating.
4. Pool and spa were uninspired. Much better at the Grand Hyatt.
5. One had to buy internet access for each device. I had one iPhone and two computers that I wanted connected to the internet but I would have been charged three times. (No need to charge for internet at all.)

All and all, a special place to stay that will be even better if these kinks are worked out.

Room Tip: Get a view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolaSpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear Reviewer,

thank you not only for sharing your experience with our tripadvisor friends but also thank you for the great feedback and suggestions. We have since your review looked at redesigning our map, improving the ease of using our tea pots and addressing the in room lighting. We truly value your suggestions as it assists us in continually improving our guest experience, so once again, thank you

Stay Well and always, Be Westin!


Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I enjoyed three days at this Westin Hotel and loved my room. It was large, modern and very clean. The rooms have shades and silk curtains controlled by a button near your bed and our view of Beijing was of the many skyscapers which twinkle with thousands of lights at night. The bathroom was designed in a soothing Asian style and was fully equipped. The water pressure wasn't very good but other than that, it was fine. The room had the Westin "Heavenly Bed, " which really is heavenly. The restaurant on the second floor served breakfast in the morning and an international buffet at night. The food was good but it looked much better than it tasted. The real downfall with this restaurant is that no one speaks English so to order anything other than coffee and tea becomes a huge pantomime and eventually you become exhausted and give up! You can't ask for a napkin, glass of chardonnay or separate checks! It is a shame that the staff isn't trained because they all seem to want to help but can't. Our last evening we tried to get a cold beer and a glass of wine and we just gave up. One morning we saw the manager, a large Western man, yell at the staff who looked confused and desperate. We felt bad for them. We went into the small bar inside the lobby but it was filled with smoke and we couldn't stay. We did have drinks and a sandwich in the open air bar in the lobby and it was good and the manager delightfully helpful. Would I stay there again? Absolutely, but I might at the reception bar in the lobby.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th floor and faced the city skyscapers. It was cool quiet and we loved laying in be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2011

Dear Reviewer,

thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay in our hotel and we are delighted to hear that you experience in our heavenly bed was renewing. Our apologies for the poor interaction you incurred in our restaurant and we will sit with the team to understand where we went wrong.

We look forward in being of service in the future.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We organized a 3 day training in this hotel and we were very happy and satisfied. Their banqueting staff were very friendly and helpful. Coffee break was well arranged and refreshing. The training ran smoothly. I lived in a double bed room, clean and quiet. At night, I got a beautiful city view from the window. Room amenities included fresh fruit and chocolate, cookies as well as welcome letter from their General Manager, a big surprise! We also tried their buffet restaurant, lots of food choices from South Korea, Japan, India, Western and China.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lu Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel A, General Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear Reviewer,

we are delighted to read your review on tripadvisor and thank you for sharing your experience with others. We look forward in being of service in the future.

Be Well!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,059 reviews
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#50 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,426 reviews
Xidan
The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Opposite House
The Opposite House
#2 of 6,556 in Beijing
948 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Kunlun Beijing
The Kunlun Beijing
#84 of 6,556 in Beijing
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beijing Chaoyang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Address: No.7 East Third Ring North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#23 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#28 Business Hotel in Beijing
#53 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#54 Family Hotel in Beijing
#142 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £144 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Beijing Chaoyang 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang is ideally located in the heart of Beijing and only a 25-minute journey from Beijing Capital International Airport. Commercial and shopping centres are also nearby. Hotel features 550 guest rooms and suites, Westin Executive Club facilities, offers 8 entertainment and dining options, 11 meeting rooms for events of various sizes and the signature Heavenly Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Beijing Chaoyang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang Hotel Beijing
Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Beijing Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing