We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Ranked #29 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I had a huge corner room. First one was very loud even on the 26th floor - it was 2625. The second one - 2710 - looked the other way and was OK. Everything else was perfect, except for a very expensive (green tea for 9 Euros???!!!) and somewhat useless restaurant in the hotel. Avoid that.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobbylion1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Westin and sharing your feedback with us. At Westin, everything is designed for a better you. We will try our best to make you feel renewed at the moment you leave than you arrived. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel management
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,297)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

395 - 401 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is what you would expect from a Westin, clean,modern, spacious feel and the beds are great. I had a studio king and my colleague had a deluxe, the studio was a bit bigger but the amenities were basically the same. Restaurants are all very good, but expensive.....everything in this region is expensive. I do want to compliment the front desk staff, in particular the General manager Mr. Ness. I had a nightmare of confusion booking two rooms with different check out dates and one was prepaid.........this was the fault of the SPG booking website which is terrible. Mr. Ness and his staff took care of everything by email while I was flying to Beijing and even worked around the non-refundable issues. I was very pleased with their professionalism and consideration.

Room Tip: check multiple web sites for competing rates and pay attention to the "non-refundable prepaid t...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing the feedback with us. We will certainly continue to reach our potential and bring our guests more real Westin experiences.

Thank you again and kind regards,

Hotel management
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

It was great to spend few nights In this hotel after a tiring business week in China. Fine, newly furnished rooms, service oriented staff who even noticed my old shoes needed cleaning... and did it. Great choice of Asian and Western breakfast options. You may also want to join tai chi master in the lobby during morning session... or please yourself with well prepared evening drinks in the lobby bar. Highly recemmended!

Stayed: May 2013
Thank MKa_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear guest,

We're very happy to receive your full-score review, it is indeed an inspiration for all our team! Please rest assured that we will continue to reach our potential and make sure your future visit remains the same memorable.

Be well.

Hotel management
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is a classy hotel in a pretty part of Beijing. It’s expensive, which isn’t always a disqualification. This is one of the few hotels where the service was genuinely warm and friendly. The lobby and the rooms were elegantly appointed and reflected under-stated luxury.
We didn’t sample the food at this hotel as we did all our meals out, but given the standard of the hotel, i am sure the quality wouldn’t disappoint.
There’s also a restaurant that offers the famed Peking Duck (PD) within walking distance which we dined at, and subsequently went to the best PD restaurant in town – have sampled both, give a go-by to the local option and go straight for the best restaurant in town.
An upmarket hotel which is a safe choice for the discerning international traveller! Beijing, with its several destinations including the great wall (climbing which is quite a feat), the Westin is a good hotel to come back to, to recover.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at the Westin and sharing your feedback with us. It's glad to know that our services and facilities have made your stay a pleasant one. At Westin, everything is designed with a better you in mind, we hope you will feel renewed at the moment you leave than you arrived. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hotel management
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Overpriced. Not to the standard of other 5 star hotels around the world, or in Beijing.

The room service menu did not describe what we got; the burger was smothered in cheap mayo (can’t eat) which was not stated, it was a really dry burger with soggy, burned fries for US$30. The breakfast I ordered was a bagel with cream cheese, I received 3 tiny round buns with camembert melted on them for US$20. All other things on the menu and in the restaurants were far more expensive and just not worth it when you are 10 min away from a million great restaurants in Beijing's Sanlitun area. The "award winning" champagne brunch on Sunday was gross. Quantity, no quality. Mostly inedible unless you spend your US$100/pp only drinking Moet and eating dessert, the rest of the food was horrible especially the seafood.

The service is bad. Our door was "accidentally" knocked on by staff twice in the first 2 hours of arrival. Although the room was paid for in advance, they want a 2000RMB (US$320) cash deposit - 3 to 4 times more than similar hotels around.

Room small, carpet dirty, TV really old and all channels had crappy, fuzzy picture quality. The "turn-down service" consists of nothing more than taking a tray with a laundry list on it out of the cupboard and putting it on your bed so when you get back, you have to put the tray back in the cupboard. No actual turning down, no mints on pillows, no re-stocking of anything, no fresh water.

I paid for the concierge to send an important letter to a local Beijing address and the letter was never sent. They tell you the max charge for wifi is 90RMB. They forget to mention (I double checked the information card) this is per day. So you are slapped with a massive wifi bill even if you just checked email once and forgot to turn the wifi on your phone off. Charging for wifi when you are paying US$700 for the weekend is so petty and stupid. It literally costs them $0 to have another person log on. Just cheap, stingy and pathetic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PSt0rm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, General Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear reviewer,

I was very surprised and disappointed to read your review and to find we fell short in so many areas during your recent stay. My email address is david.ness@westin.com, I would be grateful if you could contact me directly so I can personally apologize and also find out some more specific details to share with our team.

Kind regards,

David Ness
General Manager
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

This is a very popular hotel with locals. There is a major promotional campaign on through "Eat, Drink & More" providing free rooms, free room upgrades, and discounts on the SPA and gym. There are also coupons for various discounts at the many restaurants in the hotel. But, the main problem is that the hotel is crowded, staffed with inexperienced and poorly trained clerks and front office staff. The simple courtesies one expects at a five star hotel are lacking here. I am a platinum member and life-time gold member but it was a struggle to get any type of upgrade; there was conflicting information from different clerks about the availability of rooms; the front desk manager was impatient and unhelpful. The rooms themselves are vastly overpriced (even with the coupons), although clean and modern.

Room Tip: If you have the money to spend, stay at the St. Regis instead. A far better Starwoods property in Be...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequent_Traveler_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Westin Beijing Chaoyang is a great location for your business or tourist trip to Beijing. It is conveniently located to go to the airport and to enjoy the Sanlitun area, besides being in front of a Subway station, which connects you to the whole city. Facilities are very modern and room functional, the gym gives you, for a very small fee, clothes and a pair of tennis shoes to do any training you may need, this helps you pack light!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Brazuca00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We're very glad to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and the convenience around the hotel. At Westin, everything was designed for a better you, please rest assured that we will continue to reach our potential and bring our guests real Westin experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Hotel management
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#49 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,416 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,022 reviews
Xidan
The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Opposite House
The Opposite House
#3 of 6,531 in Beijing
915 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Kunlun Beijing
The Kunlun Beijing
#79 of 6,531 in Beijing
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beijing Chaoyang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Address: No.7 East Third Ring North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#28 Business Hotel in Beijing
#28 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#53 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#54 Family Hotel in Beijing
#145 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £132 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Beijing Chaoyang 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang is ideally located in the heart of Beijing and only a 25-minute journey from Beijing Capital International Airport. Commercial and shopping centres are also nearby. Hotel features 550 guest rooms and suites, Westin Executive Club facilities, offers 8 entertainment and dining options, 11 meeting rooms for events of various sizes and the signature Heavenly Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Beijing Chaoyang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang Hotel Beijing
Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Beijing Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing