We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel but not the best of locations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Ranked #31 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel but not the best of locations”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I was at the Westin on Feb 19-22, 2011. I was traveling in China with colleagues from my MBA program, age range 23-50+.

Food:
- the BEST buffet breakfast I have ever experienced. There was an abundance of choice and the quality was nothing less than expected from a five start hotel.
- assortment of fruit, fruit drinks, yogurts, smoothies, pastries, congee and chinese food, a sushi bar, cheese and meat station, etc.
- main lobby cafe was pricey, but that is to be expected

Room:
- good sized room with adjustable doors to create a larger, open-concept room
- bathroom is well designed with invisible doors and a tucked away toilet
- numerous toiletries provided (i.e. shaver kit, dental kit, etc)
- beds were extremely comfortable, blinds were automatic, temperature was warm

Service:
- five start hotel service is what I experienced, at all times

Amenities:
- pool was amazing, but it might be too dark for some people
- no common hot tub, but there is one in each changeroom
- gym has state of the art equipment and the spa provided many services

Location:
- hotel is right off a main road (uncrossable), but located in a tourist area where local flavours and attractions are not immediately common
- numerous high-end retailers and designers are located in or attached to the hotel

Overall, specatular lobby and amenities, service was great and the bufeft breakfast alone is worth the reservation!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terakita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and we are so glad that you rated us highly. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your Westin experience with us. The team and I are looking forward to your next visit and look forward in providing future renewing stays for you.

Be inspired!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    399
    95
    31
    17
See reviews for
70
136
69
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

I am a frequent business traveler to Beijing and have stayed in the two Westin hotels in Beijing at least a dozen times over the past year.

Like the hardware and amendities at Westin Chaoyang. Location is great with convenient access to airport and business district. However,service quality is a frequent issue at this hotel, in my experience. The staff there often don't get it, When they do mess up, never once do I hear an apology of any sort.

As an SPG platium member who spends more than 60 nights each year with Starwood hotels, I never had the luck to a suite upgrade (a great benefit from SPG) at this hotel. I understand such upgrade is subject to capacity, but after more than a dozen stay over the past year, I suspect the local hotel management just DON'T do it.

So next time, I will vote with my foot and stay at Westin Financial Distrcit or elsewhere. There are plenty of top hotels in Beijing, at least some of them are more attentive than Westin Chaoyang.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DPK-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and taking your time to share your feedback with us.

We are truly disappointed to hear of your unpleasant upgrade experience and regret we were not able to meet your expectation. We will address this specific issue that you mentioned to our management team and strive to improve our service especially towards our SPG members.

We do hope to renew your experience next time.

Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2011

My husband and I went to Westin Chaoyang during the Chinese New Year and had a dinner at Chinese restaurant. Due to the Chinese new year, we didn’t wait, we had a seat when we arrived. The waitress was smiling all the time to us and the recommendation was our tastes. Food quality and quantity are premium level, and service is good as well. Also food is suitable to foreigner as well. We will go to Westin Chaoyang again if we have time.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakewaterblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your Westin experience. We are very glad you and your family had a wonderful time with us during Chinese New Year Festival. The team and I look forward to your next visit and we will continue providing renewing stays for you.

Be Elevated, Be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andermatt, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights and must say it was the best experience I had since a long time.
The Westin Brand is one of my preferred choices and this time I simply exprienced what they have been telling me in all their ad's before.
From the airport pick up to the arrival, the amenity, the smile of the staff, bath ritual and my steak in there steakhouse (sorry i forgot the name) - it have enjoyed every moment there!
My compliments to the Hotel and a strong recommendation to travellers.
Will be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerhard3122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your preference of Westin Brand and it is our pleasure to learn you enjoyed your Westin experience with us. Your comments have been delivered to our team who are really inspired by your kind words. The team and I look forward to your next visit and look forward in providing future renewing stays for you.

Be well. Be Westin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xi'an, China
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2011

The Westin Beijing Chaoyang is quite a high-end hotel should be one of the top classic hotel in China.You can smell the white tea smell in the lobby which is typical westin brand symbol.And the service is so different from others; Hotel staff never bothers you wherever you are.It is a very Westin hotel. The food, spa and rooms are all unique and high quality.I would like to stay there next time again!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xinxin987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you for letting us know how we did during your recent stay in our hotel and we are happy that you rated us so highly. The team and I look forward to your next visit and look forward in providing future renewing stays for you.

Be Well, Be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

everything was perfect, the staff was very attentive and the hotel location was very central to the main shopping areas. Subway station right across the hotel also makes getting around beijing during peak traffic hours quite easy.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enjoytravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
Dear Guest,

It is our pleasure to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you felt refreshed after your Westin experience.

We expect to welcome you back in the short future and shine your uplifting memory with us again.

Be well. Be refreshed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days, while i find it really fantastic. Excellent location and convenient communication, this hotel is surrounded by superior shopping center and boutique.

I enjoy the amazing breakfast and confort swimming pool. The bathing amenities are all Wstin Brand. No doubt i will come to stay in this hotel next time

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacktong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Chaoyang, Manager at The Westin Beijing Chaoyang, responded to this review, 9 February 2011
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to learn you enjoyed your recent stay experience with us and we are glad that you rated us so highly.

We expect to welcome you back in the future and shine your uplifting memory with us again.

Be Westin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#49 of 6,473 in Beijing
1,373 reviews
Xidan
The Westin Beijing Financial Street
Yansha
Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,473 in Beijing
789 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
The Opposite House
The Opposite House
#3 of 6,473 in Beijing
852 reviews
Anzhen
Sheraton Grand Beijing Dongcheng Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Beijing Chaoyang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Beijing Chaoyang

Property: The Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Address: No.7 East Third Ring North Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#28 Business Hotel in Beijing
#29 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#53 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#54 Family Hotel in Beijing
#150 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Beijing Chaoyang 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang is ideally located in the heart of Beijing and only a 25-minute journey from Beijing Capital International Airport. Commercial and shopping centres are also nearby. Hotel features 550 guest rooms and suites, Westin Executive Club facilities, offers 8 entertainment and dining options, 11 meeting rooms for events of various sizes and the signature Heavenly Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Beijing Chaoyang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Beijing Chaoyang Hotel Beijing
Westin Beijing Chaoyang
Beijing Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing