We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean, quiet, simple hotel tucked into the middle of Beijing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Starway Sunjoy Hotel
Ranked #3,321 of 6,527 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I booked this hotel for friends who were coming to visit. It is tucked back behind a building, across from the St Regus and right behind a Starbucks. The room and bathroom were clean. There is a little coffee shop that has a simple Chinese breakfast. Since there is a Starbucks right outside the door, you might want to go there for breakfast.
It is a very quiet hotel and my guests got a good night's sleep.
I suspect they speak on Chinese here, so if you can't speak Chinese, another hotel would be better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Starway Sunjoy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 18 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

No doubt its located at very prime place but over all service and quality is very poor. Right from reception and service is very below standards of any hotel. Honestly I would not recommend as just to quote an example, I did not have good service when I asked for and unfortunately I had another problem everytime when I go out, when I come back Key will not work and I have to come all the way to reception to correct none to help even to be concern when customer raised us several times.. I would strongly recommend Starway management lookinto this problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srinivas777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is a fine hotel convenient to restaurants, markets, subway, Starbucks ( is that an asset for you?) and it is quiet. Nothing fancy. Small - very small rooms. No real amenities. I don't remember breakfast - so either it was not memorable or did not exist.
But for the price - it can't be beat!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lat45now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

If your on a budget go for this place. It's near a subway station, cheap, has a lot of restaurant beside and in front, near Silk Road mall, near a bus stop to Tiananmen Square, and one of the most peaceful areas of Beijing.

The positive things are enticing but this is a 2 star hotel at best. All the materials in the room is probably one of the cheapest but blended to look decent. Good thing I'm staying alone in a room because its small. My friends who are couples had to stay at the same sized room. Had this been a working trip this hotel would be perfect if its near where you work but if you're on vacation, get someplace nicer. If your on a budget, this area is not the place for you, go to the Hutongs, you'll get to experience the local culture.

Just have breakfast across the street it's actually good and reasonably priced.

By the way, THE HALLWAY STINKS!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank Jepoyng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Having just stayed at a very nice hotel in Shanghai, I was looking forward to Beijing. I think this colours my review a bit, but this hotel was definitely older, much more basic, and a bit strange to be honest. Looking across the street to the St Regis, which was something of a palace with marble floors, it was a bit depressing as well.
That being said, it was clean enough and very well located - quite close to one of the metro lines, which was a quick trek to the Forbidden City/Tiananmen, lots of restaurants (even Starbucks in case Chinese food isn't as appealing). I had a non-smoking room but there was a bit of a smell of smoke, and also it is not well known so the taxi driver had some trouble finding it.
All in all, I gather that hotels in Beijing are pricey, so if this is really the only option within a budget, just be prepared that it's not a 5-star hotel and I think it's okay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I stayed here for a week before going to North Korea. Firstly, it is in a great location which is relatively safe due to its close proximity to the embassy area. Close to the Silk Market, Jianguomen station and western food outlets. I was on a pretty cheap rate as I booked through work and it was acceptable. Firstly I was told that there would be English speaking people working at the reception desk but the most that they could say was hello. Some tried to make an effort and smiled as I walked past and others looked at me with a frown. The cafe was interesting... On my package I had free breakfast and was a traditional Chinese breakfast but thankfully they had a few pastries and some cake which is what I ate every day. The room was okay, it was clean and there was free WiFi which was a godsend as the TV reception was extremely poor. There was a traditional Chinese bed however which was very firm but after my first night I was used to it. If you are looking for a conveniently located hotel in Beijing and are a bit strapped for money but do not mind eating out for every meal, I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank Icelandair_Pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Spent one night in hotel. The room has very basic conditions, but for one night is good especially with great location (near Silk Market or Ya Bao Lu territories) and the decent price. However please do be careful when you eat, drink or use anything in the room. We did not use the mini-bar, but were charged for 2 coffees and...shampoo! These items were not listed in any list, but the hotel clerk just did stupid face, and we had to pay in order not to be late for our flight. The staff speaks very basis English. And do not believe what is written in their website and prospectus about tourist places. Tiananmen square is not 20 minutes walk. We used to walk there for the whole 1 hour!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alyor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Rongbao Hotel
Rongbao Hotel
#3,310 of 6,527 in Beijing
35 reviews
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Tailaoshan International Business Hotel
Tailaoshan International Busines...
#2,821 of 6,527 in Beijing
59 reviews
Guomao
Ibis Hotel Beijing Jian'guomen
Ibis Hotel Beijing Jian'guomen
#1,510 of 6,527 in Beijing
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Zhong An Hotel
Zhong An Hotel
#630 of 6,527 in Beijing
188 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Jili Plaza
Jili Plaza
#2,897 of 6,527 in Beijing
49 reviews
Guomao
Dong Chang An Hotel
Dong Chang An Hotel
#3,370 of 6,527 in Beijing
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starway Sunjoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starway Sunjoy Hotel

Address: No.6 Ritan Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,321 of 6,527 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £38 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Starway Sunjoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Starway Sunjoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing