We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Zero English!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inner Mongolia Hotel
Ranked #724 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Any hotel below 4-star in China is going to be a crap shoot for western travelers, especially if not fluent in Mandarin. My hosts at Communication University China in Beijing put me in the Beijing Inner Mongolia Hotel because it is walking distance to campus and includes Internet access (Ethernet cable in room). Lobby shines like a Christmas toy, and the front desk staff is well-dressed, smilingly polite. Nobody speaks English. Think about this seriously if you are considering booking here. I have been unable to even ask for a wake-up call. If a medical emergency arose, I would be up the creek unless I could get an English-speaker from the university on the phone.
In comparison to the front lobby, the caliber of my room (#202) drops down a star. The housecleaning staff is good and thorough, and the bed is kept fresh. Moderately fluffy white towels in the bath. Open shower, so entire bathroom floor floods every time. Flush toilet but no toilet paper holder. Sink cracked but doesn't leak. Sink fixtures should be replaced because the bad water has corroded them. The separate faucet for drinking water is okay. NEVER get tap water in your mouth in China! Flushing around base of toilet is corroded. Air Condition is not Central. It is one of those stand alone affairs attached to the ceiling of the room. I have to turn it on and off all the time because temp cannot be regulated. No thermostat.
I could go on, but you get the picture, I'm sure. Zero English is, for me next time, a deal killer.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
4  Thank nugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

I booked a room here because it was cheap and had a lot of reviews saying that it was pretty nice and in a great area. It's actually pretty far from downtown and most of the attractions, and I later realized that all of the reviews were meant for the Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel, while this is just the inner mongolia hotel. It is walking distance from the Communication University subway station, but it's kind of annoying having to travel so far every day. The staff was really helpful and friendly. At first we were given a room that hadn't been cleaned after the last guest had left, so they have us a free upgrade. The bed wasn't very soft, but it was acceptable. Breakfast was good, but you should be there before 8:30 or there might not be anything left. The hotel looks very nice on the inside, the rooms too. They have people who clean it all the time. The room and the halls often smelled like smoke because many chinese men don't pay any attention to the no smoking signs that are all over the hotel. I think it would seep into our room through the vents, but when we turned on the air conditioner the smell would go away. I'm not sure if it is the same at other hotels though. All in all I would recommend this to others just based on the price, but it does get annoying when you are always having to commute to get to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hassan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The Hotel was clean and tidy,with tea making facility,Breakfast Buffet was excellent however the Evening Buffet appeared to be the leftovers from Breakfast. English was spoken by most of the staff. Handy to large Mall across the road with night markets behind Mall. Staff arranged tour to Great Wall. Internet was free in room (wired),

Room Tip: We were happy with a front room on the eighth floor...traffic noise was minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldCoastFarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I live in Beijing but I miss soft beds. whenever I have visitors I use the Inner Mongolia. It has great beds, is less than 200 metres to the subway, close to everything, quiet, has great staff and best of all tremendous beds.

This is one great value hotel for westerners.

Room Tip: you can get non smoking floors, not just rooms, the ones on the front have bigger showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jiefuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My family enjoyed staying at this hotel for the amenities and convenient metro stop. The hotel room featured a TV that doubled as a computer with an Internet connection and a nice bathroom with a drinking water faucet. The bathroom also has a glass wall facing the beds, but luckily, it also has a curtain.

We found the walk to the "Communication University of China" metro stop very convenient, and we enjoyed seeing Beijing this way. We also met a few nice people on the metro, although the trains were extremely crowded line at the time of our visit. The complimentary buffet breakfast at the hotel had a modest mix of Chinese and Western foods. A nearby street has a number of markets and food vendors as well.

The hotel service was fine with the exception of a confusion about our reservation. The staff called a manager to negotiate with us about the price we paid versus the price they desired. Be sure taxi drivers understand you are staying at the Inner Mongolia Hotel, not the Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel. This misunderstanding is possible even with a Chinese address if the driver is not paying attention.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My husband & I stayed there for 10 days. Big room with a view of the night lights. Well located with the Dongdan subway close by, only RMB2 per person and it takes you to wherever you want to go, if you don't mind the sardine packed trains. Close to Wangfujing shopping area, lots of shops and street food. A number of the staff can speak some English and they can organise your flight or train tickets (train tickets with a small fee) flight arrangement is free. 2 bottles of mineral water are given free daily. Free internet access and TV cable network of nearly 300 channels.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 11th floor facing the main street for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anntan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

A good hotel which is very conveniently situated near two subway stations and within walking distance of the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square.

The staff are also helpful (There was one particular gentlemen who went above and beyond to help us).

The rooms are also clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor rooms with forbidden city views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Inner Mongolia Hotel Forbidden City
Chongwenmen
King's Joy Hotel
King's Joy Hotel
#196 of 6,568 in Beijing
321 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
Inner Mongolia Grand Hotel
#96 of 6,568 in Beijing
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Ping An Fu Hotel
Ping An Fu Hotel
#2,001 of 6,568 in Beijing
93 reviews
Houhai
Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn)
Zaoyuanju (Hutong Inn)
#3,259 of 6,568 in Beijing
157 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#197 of 6,568 in Beijing
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inner Mongolia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inner Mongolia Hotel

Address: Dingfuzhuang West Street, No.23A Jianguo Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100024, China
Region: China > Beijing
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #724 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £26 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inner Mongolia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Inner Mongolia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing