We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley)
Ranked #14 of 1,363 Beijing B&B and Inns
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very poor breakfast!”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

China wants tourists, but then they have receptionists in a tourist hotel that only speak Chinese. We had to talk to them through our tour guide - very frustrating. The rooms are nice but cold, it was 5c outside but no heat in the rooms. Receptionist didn't speak English but thought we were unhappy with the room so switched us to another room - still no heat. The tour guide explained that because of China's lack of power stations, no heating is allowed after 15th March despite the weather. The guide got us an extra duvet. The room was OK apart from the heating, clean and functional. The bathroom was also good with plenty of hot water for the shower. It also included a mist free mirror - a nice touch. The breakfast was awful and only catered for the Chinese. My partner is from the Philippines and couldn't eat the breakfast either - so it wasn't just a Western issue. Even though we paid for breakfast we eat in the KFC just a little walk away.
In synopsis, rooms OK, No heating, bathroom good, clean, bad food.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    105
    38
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
15
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Firs off - we traveled midway between Winter and Spring and we were advised of the following:

1. There is no air conditioning nor heater since its midway Winter and Spring.
2. If you feel that the room is a little on the hot side - open the windows.
3. If you feel that the room is too cold, close the window. If it is still too cold, call housekeeping and ask for another blanket.

Comfy ain't it (yes I'm being sarcastic.)

Location is the best selling point of this hotel, you have Tesco next doors and Happy Valley across the street. Plus the mini souvenir shop below.

Breakfast here is dull and monotonous, you'll be craving something new by the 2nd day. So wake up early and explore the neighborhood, there is a great bread shop around the corner.

Lastly, management should be investing in arming the staff with basic English, even the breakfast buffet should have at least a description of the food served.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozzymeetstheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Avoid this hotel if you don’t speak Chinese and have no own transport. The front desk personnel are unfriendly, unhelpful and speak hardly any English. The nearest subway station is not within walking distance. You will need a cab or a bus to get there.

The hotel breakfast is mostly local Chinese country fare, quite a good selection for Muslim guests but hardly any Western selection.

The plus side of the hotel is having Tesco, a beer garden, Pizza Hut and several restaurants nearby. Credit must be given to the souvenir shop at the hotel which opens up to 2am. The staff are extremely helpful and can even help you to arrange transportation which the hotel staff refuses to do. This hotel would be more suitable for tour groups as transportation is provided. It is surprising that this hotel gets a 4-star merit award from Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IsuannL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quezon City
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Pros:
1. Rooms are clean and spacious.
2. Hotel manager speaks good English and is willing to provide helpful info about taking bus from hotel (Bus 41) to nearest subway station (Jin Song Quiao Dong station). We saved a lot of money by taking the bus (RMB 1) and riding the train (RMB 2) to visit the Beijing Zoo (Beijing Zoo station) and revisit Temple of Heaven (Tiantandonmeng station) and Olympic Park (Olympic Sports Center or Olympic Green stations).
3. Wifi available at the hotel lobby (you need to ask hotel staff for the password).
4. Toiletries available (although hand soaps smell like detergent).
5. Hotel is right across Happy Valley theme park, the biggest in Beijing.
6. There are shopping malls and restaurants (high end and budget) nearby.
7. The surrounding neighborhood is peaceful and not congested/polluted (since it's quite far from the city center).
8. Room rates are reasonable.
9. Souvenir shop sells reasonably priced items (less expensive compared to those offered by stores outside). Ref magnets cost RMB 5 each. You can haggle if you buy dozens. :)

Cons
1. Not very flexible when you request for a non-smoking room. I don't know if they just didn't understand our request, or there weren't a lot of available rooms at that time.
2. The heaters in rooms don't work, so it gets really freezing at night.
3. The hotel staff are not good English speakers. Management needs to invest in English language training for their staff. It will help them in the long run.
4. The towels are in very poor state. They need to replace them.
5. There is a flat screen TV, but everything is in Chinese. No English-language TV channel. Maybe the Chinese government restricts access to foreign channels.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sleepyhead29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We stayed in this hotel about 5 night, through our travel agent package, no wifi in the room, Tesco, shopping mall, restaurant just next to the hotel. WINTER TIME PLEASE DONT STAY IN THIS HOTEL, the heater not work at all, breakfast no good at all, we prefer having our b'fast in KFC restaurant or MC next to the hotel. All this restaurant open 6.30am.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WAZIMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

stayed there on a business trip.

main attraction is the theme park just opposite the hotel called Happy Valley (hence the hotel name)

the location of the hotel is pretty good if you do not intend to go anywhere in beijing except for the theme park because getting a taxi is quite a hassle. (lots of touts though).

there are restaurants and a tesco just beside the hotel.

i stayed in a duplex room which was pretty nice, with a sofa, tv and toilet below and a king bed & toilet upstairs.

however, cleaniness was so-so..the shower had the hot & cold water mixed up. I had to direct the lever to the left for hot water (usually hot water is on the right)

and the hotel staff told me that i could only log on to 1 device per room (they provided the LAN cable and i had my personal wireless router). now thats darn stupid. for a family with a few smartphones, you gonna have a big problem.

no breakfast.

Room Tip: find that the duplex rooms are quite troublesome when you have to climb up & down the stairs. bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archenemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This hotel was booked through our travel agent as part of a tour package to Beijing. We stayed for 6 nights in this hotel. There’s wifi in the hotel lobby. There’s a shopping mall next to the hotel. But you can easily cover the whole place in an evening. Taking a cab is not a problem as it goes by the meter. A trip to nearby 燕莎outlet costs RMB10.

The room is rather big with two queen sized beds. There’s a big TV in the room. However, all the channels are local programmes, and not international channels like HBO. There’s a kettle and 2 packets of Chinese tea. For coffee and English tea lovers, do bring your own 3-in-1 coffee and tea bags.

The bathroom is quite small, with a small shower area. Do bring your own shampoo and hair conditioner as they only have a 2-in-1 shampoo/shower gel. The towels provided looked pretty worn out and some were frayed too. There is no floor towel to dry your feet after a shower, only a non- slip floor mat. We asked for one in the morning when we saw housekeeping and were given one. However, upon our return to our room in the evening, there was no floor towel again.

Breakfast is served in a room called City Café. However, it does not cater to the public, only for hotel guests. Breakfast is really basic. Forget about the coffee. It’s so diluted you might as well drink plain water. I brought along my 3-in-1 coffee and that perked me up. The bread section is also pathetic as can be seen in the attached photo. No butter or margarine spread, only white sugar, jam and some syrup. The bread was not replenished too. Though I don’t fancy porridge, the side dishes which accompany the porridge look so unappetising.

Overall, if you are not too particular about breakfast, if you want only a comfy room to stay, this hotel will suit your needs.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EmmelineOoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,593 reviews
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,363 in Beijing
100 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Xiao Yuan Alley Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley)

Property: City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley)
Address: XiaowuJibei Road, East Loop 4, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100023, China
Region: China > Beijing > Happy Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,363 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley) 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley) Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing