We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location For Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley)
Ranked #14 of 1,345 Beijing B&B and Inns
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Location For Food”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The room is comfortable and it has many restaurants just round the corner on the left. Tesco is around the corner. At night there is an open air karaoke also just round the corner. Tourist spot is quite far from this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    105
    37
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
15
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

we selected this hotel because it was the only one that had a trip advisor account in th eprice range we were looking at. we got it cheap so we had the lowest of expectations for the hotel.

we arrived at around 1:20 a.m. and we were given a room on the 6th floor close to the elevator facing the road. it allowed us to get cool breezes at night and in the morning. the room was clean except the corners where dust gathered. the bed allowed for restful sleep but the pillows were thin. the bathroom was clean and decent. the wifi at the lobby was spotty but enough to write emails and do a little research on beijing.

the only problem was the breakfast. yes, we knew from the reviews how bad it possibly could be but we wanted to give it the benefit of the doubt. unfortunately, it was really crappy. the food was bland. it seemed that the coffee was brewed from ground coffee used for several days already. the selection was limited. the only edible food for me was hard boiled egg, bread and stir fried noodles. sometimes they'd provide apples and pears but they only served it about 3 out of the 5 times we ate. the breakfast place can get crowded and on one saturday, people were eating standing up. it was crazy. what I appreciated was how they labeled food if it was halal or not and that they provided vegetable dishes everyday.

the hotel is about 30-45minutes away from the nearest subway station. you have the option of taking bus no.41 or a cab (20-23 RMB). but you'll appreciate that it's pretty near a supermarket and a row of restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank imojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Our tour agent booked this hotel for us,location is quite far from most attraction yet close to departmental store and eatery.Near to Happy Valley amusement park but closed during winter.Breakfast is a no no..poor quality and the food need some heating during winter.Luckily our air-conditioner is working during the cool cool night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliyahKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

It is a pleasant experience for me to stay at this place during my 4 days stay in Beijing...clean and quite place...may be far from most attractions, but still a good place to stay...it is very near to the Happy Valley amusement park, about half an hour drive away from the city centre and there is Tesco next to the hotel and some restaurants too...good impression with a 3 star facilities, however their breakfast is not worth trying at all...very bad, better you eat out on your own.

Room Tip: Please check all your rooms amenities and report immediately if it is dirty or not working...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freeeasytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed 4 days 3 nights in this hotel. No regrets. The surroundings was happy......so was called happy valley hotel haha. If you are in a tight budget...this hotel is ok . You can buy cheap souvinrs nearby..there are many restaurants, food chain nearby.theres an amusement park just across...the only negative thing is the food is not so satisfying, very far from wangfujing st....( but it was ok in our part coz we were not there for shopping....).....staffs doesn't know English, so hard to communicate! But overall we enjoyed our stay in this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room near elevator....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank neobong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel. The rooms with doublebeds has balconys.... it also has a really comvenient souvenir shop that has very reasonable price. The hotel is also near tesco, kfc, and many other retail stores. There is also a gym close by. Overall, great hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed for 5D4N with family and room was good but room and corridor has very strong tobacco smell. Bathroom is very good but i did not like the frosted glass wall concept that divided the bathroom and bed area because you could actually see what's going on in the bathroom. :D They should also provide 2 pillows on each bed too. Breakfast is good but would be better if they could cater for western food and reduce the oil and salt. Hotel is next to Tesco and KFC which is good. The staff here do not speak English and they never had a smiling face. Wifi should also be provided in the bedroom and not just the lobby area. They have a small gift shop at the lobby that sells souvenirs with reasonable prices compare to many tourist spot area. I highly recommend this gift shop and it opens till 1am.
Overall this hotel is clean and good but don't expect staff to go extra mile when u need help.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeliciaDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Chongwenmen
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Temple Of Heaven
Chongwenmen
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
Novotel Xinqiao Beijing
#69 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,574 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,473 in Beijing
2,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#136 of 6,473 in Beijing
296 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
Days Inn Forbidden City Beijing
#146 of 6,473 in Beijing
750 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,345 in Beijing
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley)

Property: City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley)
Address: XiaowuJibei Road, East Loop 4, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100023, China
Region: China > Beijing > Happy Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 1,345 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley) 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Inn (Beijing Happy Valley) Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing