We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“User friendly, everything works, more or less....”
Review of Wenjin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wenjin Hotel
Ranked #1,616 of 6,473 Hotels in Beijing
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“User friendly, everything works, more or less....”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The Wenjin sits in Tsinghua Science Park right by the south gate of Tsinghua University. It is convenient if you are visiting any of the research institutes in Haidian or Zhongguancun. I would agree with previous ratings of bottom end 4*. It does not compare with some of the newer offerings in Chaoyan District and whilst the price is a bit cheeky for the service level (c.RMB1000) it is about par for Beijing.
The front desk is a tad chaotic but you get there in the end. The young staff increasingly speak decent english although there seems to be a high turnover here. The concierge service is better - the porters are a stable and friendly workforce - Peter or Tom Wang will help you out with most things - airline, train tickets, bike hire etc.
The food in WJ is nothing to shout about - there are many superior restaurants which offer better value a few doors away. If you can't be bothered to go out then the Korean Restaurant on the 2nd floor is ok, although the menu does not seem to have changed in 3 years! I have to say that I am NOT a fan of the breakfast buffet in WJ which if you have to buy separately is a wicked RMB160. If you step outside the hotel for a few paces then you can buy an excellent Tianjin style "breakfast burrito" or jianbing guozi 煎饼果子 for 3 kuai!
The WJ rooms are ok and all are serviced with a/c. Recall though that this is China and the a/c is switched off in September so if the day is warm you may have an uncomfortable night. There is wifi downstairs and wired internet in the rooms. IIRC the Executive floor also has wifi in the rooms. The internet kind of works although the connection speed seems to have dropped over the years.
So all in all, a bit quirky and rough around the edges but they mean well and you could do a lot worse than stay with these guys.

Room Tip: go for the superior package which includes breakfast and internet plus a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    83
    54
    16
    6
See reviews for
2
3
10
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I stayed 2 nights at Wenjin which is next to Tsing Hua University. Wenjin claims to be 5-stars, but it's just a poor 4-star at best, if not an average 3-star. Its service leaves much to be desired.
Check-in: Relatively uneventful although the people didn't seem welcoming nor warm. I was checking in at the same time as five other people. I got to my room, found the keycard didn't work. The other five people arrived at my same floor a minute later; none of their keys worked either. We had to go downstairs and have all keycards reinstated. Unbelievable.
Room: Good size with modern facilities. Upon closer inspection, maintenance could be better. There were small cracks on walls, cabinet doors not properly aligned, clearly visible mildew on bathroom walls, and the floor under the bed and the night stand seemed to not have been vaccumed for several weeks. Bedding is very comforable though. I slept very well.
Breakfast: Seemingly large spread with very poor selection. Quality of food is also poor. Coffee is the worst I've tasted in any Beijing hotel. Service staff is very clearly not properly trained to attend to customers.

I only stayed here because it is close to my office. I will happily jump ship if a new alternative appears.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fribourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed 2 nights, service was not willing to prebook taxi to airport - but kept trying to sell their overprized limousine service to the airport. Also, breakfast is not worth the prize.
Keep away from this hotel, there is much better choice for money....

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FribourgMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

hotel rooms are well cleaned, roomy and with lots of lights.
I stayed there for 2 weeks and it has been a pleasure.
Pros: really close to Tsinghua uni, "easily" find a cab in the area, perfect rooms, fantastic breakfast
Cons: just a few did speak basic english (it is not so easy to order food), laundry and food are expensive

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martimega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed three nights at Wenjin hotel late June for a business trip to Beijing. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. My only grouses are that housekeeping did not replenish the coffee and tea, and there is no wifi in the room.

The meeting rooms are well lit and business like.

The gym is relatively well equipped, although we don't expect much of gyms in China.

Breakfast buffet is decent, with good variety.

Room Tip: Good choice if visiting Tsinghua and Beijing universities
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BFGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

really first rate 5 star + hotel next to Tsinghua Univ and Peking Univ. also close to metro to city center. surrounded by gioodvrestaurants

Room Tip: upper floors have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I traveled with my wife on her business trip to Beijing. We stayed at the Wenjin because it is right next to the Science park where my wifes office is located. The lobby was quite nice. Very high ceilings, chandeliers, marble floors. There is also a small bar and lounge area in the lobby, although we always had to wait a while for any service. The common area by the elevators, in fact the entire hotel smelled like smoke (there are ashtrays in the hallways). We stayed in a business suite. The room was massive and had floor to ceiling windows. The rooms were probably very nice when the hotel was first built but now everything seems run down and dingy. The bathrooms looked very modern with lots of glass and marble, but again not well maintained. There is a gym at the hotel that my wife and I tried to use on a couple occasions. Each time we tried, the gym was locked and the lights were off. Eventually someone would come out of a nearby office and open it for us. Not very convenient if you're limited on time. The breakfast buffet every day was extensive and impressive, also much more convenient than trying to venture out to find a place on your own early in the morning. There is also a business center just off of the lobby so you can access the web. The biggest let down at the hotel was the language barrier. I don't expect entire hotel staffs to speak English when traveling in foreign countries, but it seemed like the majority of the guests were international travelers and it was outrageously difficult to communicate with any of the staff there. Overall, the Wenjin is in a great location if you're working at the Science park, not so much for sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickendrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Wudaokou
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
Holiday Inn Beijing Haidian
#72 of 6,473 in Beijing
226 reviews
Zhongguancun
The Lakeview Hotel
The Lakeview Hotel
#165 of 6,473 in Beijing
185 reviews
Wudaokou
Liaoning International Hotel
Liaoning International Hotel
#377 of 6,473 in Beijing
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zhongguancun
Zhonguanyuan Global Village, PKU
Zhonguanyuan Global Village, PKU
#1,829 of 6,473 in Beijing
51 reviews
Zhongguancun
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun
Wudaokou
Xijiao Hotel Beijing
Xijiao Hotel Beijing
#379 of 6,473 in Beijing
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wenjin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wenjin Hotel

Property: Wenjin Hotel
Address: Tsinghua Science Park, Haidian District, Beijing 100084, China
Region: China > Beijing > Wudaokou
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#96 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#260 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wenjin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 399
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Wenjin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wenjin Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing