We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious place for a good price”
Review of Guangming Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guangming Hotel
Ranked #161 of 6,491 Hotels in Beijing
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A luxurious place for a good price”
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Spacious rooms for a fantastic price. Modern but cosy style. The hotel openend recently so everything is clean and neat.

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Urs_CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    62
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
5
3
7
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitouwadge, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Cheerful English speaking staff, a bright lobby and a clean, comfortable room made my visit much better than expected. For less than $100 USD per night, I enjoyed my stay which included a breakfast buffet of standard western dishes -- nothing spectacular but certainly a great value in a safe and welcoming environment.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MingYangEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2008

I stayed at this hotel for one night in November. The person who booked this hotel told me that it was recently remodeled right before the Olympics. With $90 a night, I was more than willing to give it a try. It's off the crazy 3rd Ring road (San Huan), so traffic seems moderate. US and Japanese embassies are within walking distance. There is a food street adjacent to it. I did not get a chance to explore it. It can be an interesting place to get a bite if you are tied of the hotel menus.

I had a single room with a king size bed. Not huge space, but plenty room for what I need. It's well decorated, modern and hi-tech, and smells clean too. The bed is very comfortable. Sheets and towels show very little use. The LCD TV has many international channels, American, French, German, Russian, Japanese, Korean, Australian ... plus many more I can't even recognize.

The breakfast was only okay, not a huge selection compared to what I had elsewhere, but not bad either for 80 yuan. I changed American dollars to local yuan at its business center at an incredible rate 6.795 while other hotels usually gave me 6.4 or even lower.

Overalll, to me, it is a smaller version of Hilton, just one block away across the street. You only pay half of Hilton's price. I will definitely stay there again next time.

  • Liked — Value, Cleaness, Efficiency
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank easitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2008

When I booked this hotel, I had some pretty low expectations knowing that in China sometimes you get exactly what you pay for, and often even that ratio is a stretch. What a pleasant surprise I had when I got into my room, it was absolutely clean and perfect for my business trip. I had stayed at the intercontinental hotel a few weeks before in Beijing for literally 5 times the price of the Guangming, and the room was almost exactly the same. The stigma of Chinese hotels has finally been reversed, long live the Guangming...

The lobby was clean and 5 star-ish, the service was excellent, but the rooms were exemplary and this hotel is certainly one I'll go back to for all of my business trips in the future. Booking with Ctrip gave me some sort of special on free internet in my room which was another little bonus of this place. The only annoying thing was the breakfast, which though edible was certainly not anywhere close to the intercontinental. But then again, with the money I saved I made sure to treat myself to a nice brunch at a nice brunch spot in the embassy district.

A good hotel all around, and its a great location, check it out and thank me later.

  • Liked — Clean, modern rooms with all the amenities of a western 5-star
  • Disliked — the breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank iamthecoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#49 of 6,491 in Beijing
1,390 reviews
Yansha
The Twenty-First Century Hotel
The Twenty-First Century Hotel
#3,282 of 6,491 in Beijing
116 reviews
Yansha
Kempinski Hotel Beijing Lufthansa Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Boyue Beijing Hotel
Boyue Beijing Hotel
#135 of 6,491 in Beijing
298 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Zhaolong Hotel
Zhaolong Hotel
#176 of 6,491 in Beijing
340 reviews
Yansha
New Grand Dynasty
New Grand Dynasty
#1,804 of 6,491 in Beijing
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guangming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guangming Hotel

Property: Guangming Hotel
Address: No.42 Liangmaqiao Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100016, China
Region: China > Beijing > Yansha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 6,491 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Guangming Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Guangming Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing