We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have just had a great holiday staying at the Perfect Inn Beijing”
Review of Profit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Profit Hotel
Ranked #3,532 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Delhi
1 review
“We have just had a great holiday staying at the Perfect Inn Beijing”
Reviewed 30 December 2008

We have just had a great holiday staying at the Perfect Inn Beijing.
We booked this hotel two month ago and we read all trip advisor review most of member wrote location is good but bathroom have bad smell. When we arrived we asked reception about this problem.
receptionist just smile and told us take it with your own experience.
Perfect Inn's Limo service pick us from Beijing Capital airport.
There price is 200RMB this is a perfect pick up. They waiting on arrival with my name sign. After find us give us a warm welcome and welcome drink. On the car driver and another person told us about beijing and about perfect inn. They are very helpful.
Reception staff made us so welcome. Our room was spotless. Most people we met at the hotel were on return visits. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel are up a lane on the other side of the main road and it is really peaceful. Perfect Inn is a lovely little hotel and the area so with good food.
We stay in drum tower vier room and we are not find and bad smell in bathroom.
The have diffarent types of room types of room. I think executive room is better its tariff 350RMB/room/night including breakfast.
This was our first visit to Beijing and we will be back next year for sure for two weeks this time maybe three!

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Hard to find it
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dukkhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    14
    19
    14
    12
See reviews for
7
14
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2008

Before booking the hotel I read some fairly mixed reviews on the internet, but due to it's good location and great price I decided to give it a shot anyway. We had a brilliant stay. The staff were always friendly and eager to help. The room was clean and well furnished. Breakfast was slightly different every morning and although basic more than good enough. I would truly recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, large rooms and good breakfast!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VeronaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2008

Like other travellers mentioned before: very friendly staff, good location 100 m from Bell and Drum towers and close (but not too close) to the nightlife/restaurants/hutongs around the nearby lakes.
However don't expect the rooms to be like they look on the hotel website. Biggest problem was the strong sewer smell in the room. This originates from the fact that no siphons are used to connect sinks etc to the sewage system.
OK breakfast.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — smell
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EZRiderGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beijing hotels

UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2008

On arrival we were shown the room we'd booked - on the ground floor near some noisy drilling work, we were told we could "upgrade" to a better room - which we did, but haggled the price down first!

You cannot just use the tea/coffee/toiletries in the room - there is a list and you have to pay for them. Also, the breakfast is not the standard they advertise.

The staff were helpful and spoke reasonable english. Bus stop and taxi's are near the hotel and cheap. Subway station is a bus ride away or a 20 min walk.

The bathroom is a wet room - EVERYTHING got wet every time we used the shower. the sink was leaking and the worst bit was the electrical wires hanging out near the shower! Clearly, despite this being a recently refurbished hotel they didnt exactly push for high standards.

Its an "ok" place in an ok location, but i'm sure a bit of searching would find you somewhere better for the same price.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Velectro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2008

We stayed there 10/15 thru 10/27, 2008. Housekeeping service was awful -- floor was not swept once while we were there, bathroom not cleaned once, and some days the bed was not made up. We booked thru their website, which promised a "wonderful" breakfast -- what we got was burned toast, which I would not classify as wonderful. We booked a superior deluxe room because we wanted more space, but room was barely big enough to walk around the bed. They charge 48 rmb for soap, wash cloth, etc, per person. We went to store and bought these items for less than 8 rmb. Upon check-in, we were presented with price list for items in the "fully stocked mini-bar," which was empty, but not a big deal as the refrigerator did not work. We sent jeans out to be laundered, they came back not ironed. Rooms supposed to contain iron and ironing board, but did not. At request, they did provide an iron, but only outlet it would fit did not work. I can go on and on, but suffice to say, this isn't a 3-star! Location was good, and most front desk staff did speak some English and were helpful. Room internet access did not work, but someone came promptly and set it up on my computer. This place has lots of potential, but as it is, I would not recommend staying there.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — did not like this place
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank clp99336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We stated at Perfect Inn from Oct 13 to 16. We booked the Deluex Twin room directly from Perfect Inn website. However, as we arrived, the receiptionist told us the room was not available as the guest was not checked out that day. Then, she suggested us to change a bigger room (An Executive Twin Room) with a discounted price. We have no other choice, then we accepted her offer but we were not very happy with this arrangment. We booked on-line from their own web page, supposed that the room has been reserved for us. Also, the washroom is not very clean and has foul smell. The washing basin is leaking.
Breakfast is quite ok but the hotel location is not very near the subway station. It takes about 15-20 mins by walk. But it is very near the Drum Tower and Bell Tower, just a few steps from the hotel. Also, you can take the public tour bus to Palace Museum, Tiananmen Square and Olympic Park....and other tourist attractions. It is quite convenience but be awared traffic jam in the morning.
Overall I can say the Inn is not very good for us to stay. Hope that they can make improvement in the future.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BigWhiteCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
-
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2008

I stayed in Beijing Perfect Inn for 14 days and oddly enough I had the same experience as a few other of the previous reviewers.

We booked a room through booking.com as they had a special offer for one of the best rooms for a pretty reasonable price. We arrived at the hotel and gave the staff the booking confirmation showing all the details, and without any mention of a change, we were given one of the cheapest rooms. Surely this had to be a mistake, so we went back to the reception where we had to argue with the manager for at least half an hour. We were told that there had been a mistake - that the site we booked the room with had made a mistake and that the price was incorrect. To "compensate" for this we finally argued our way to a room change, but only after we had stayed in the cheapest room for a few days, and after the room change, we would have to change rooms again. We had the feeling that this could turn into a fishy affair so we had the manager write down all the dates and the room numbers and put her name on the paper as well. That feeling later turned out to be correct, but more about this later.

After a night in the cheapest room, the aircon started to leak, so we had to change rooms for the night. Well, mistakes happen, the staff was very helpful and we are not fussy about things like that, so we took it with a smile and moved all our stuff a couple of times. Then came the day were we were supposed to change room to a better room (but still not as good as the one we booked from the beginning). We got the keys to the new room, only to find out that this was a twin room and not the double room the manager had promised us. Again, this was being done without any mention of the change, apparently they were hoping we wouldn't notice anything. Again, the manager came down to talk to us, and again we had to argue with her for about half an hour. During the argument she told us straight to our faces, that someone else had gotten our room, simply because they were paying more than us. We were quite shocked to hear this from her, and even more shocked that the dates and the room numbers that she herself had written down for us, didn't seem to matter the slightest. In the end she even offered to kick someone else out of their room so that we could stay in a double room as promised. An offer we refused as we didn't want to put the same kind of trouble we'd been through on other people. We ended up staying the the double room and pushed the two beds together so they sort of made a double bed. After a few more days in this room, we finally got a room with a double bed and stayed there for the rest of the duration.

Now the whole trouble apparently started with the "mistake" that booking.com had made, a mistake that the manager assured us would be corrected as fast a possible. However, more than one month after we stayed in Beijing Perfect Inn, this offer is still on the website. In reality this is not a mistake, but a classic example of a "bait and switch" operation. Put a great room on a website for a really low price, attract customers and then switch the room to something else when they arrive. After an argument, offer them a complimentary "upgrade", and the customer will feel that they have won a little, when in fact the hotel has tricked you into staying in a complete different room than you booked.

When we started looking for hotels in Beijing we actually started reading reviews here on Tripadvisor and we also read descriptions of the hotel on various other sites. Reviews that were raving about the fantastic breakfast and all the amenities. Just to clarify: There are no salmon omelettes and there are no freshly baked croissants. All there was, was some chinese sour and salty buns, cut out in mini pieces, a few pieces of toast and a orange juice that had never seen an orange in its life.

Also there are no bathrobes, no free daily newspaper, no in room safe, no inhouse movies, and definitely no superb cleanliness as written on various websites. In fact, the sheets were never changed - only when we asked for it the staff came and changed them for us. It is now clear to us that the first couple of reviews on this site clearly must have been written by the hotel itself, as no one who has actually stayed there and seen the breakfast and the rooms could have written such things.

Apart from all these things, there were good points about the place as well. The staff was always very helpful, smiling and chatty and we truly felt welcome every time we walked in the door. Apart from the fact that they gave us the wrong information half of the time, the staff really lifted the experience, and with a bit more knowledge of the city they would have been absolutely perfect. The hotel itself is also in a great location, the area is full of trendy bars, small funky shops and lots of restaurants. Definitely a big plus. And apart from all the trouble with the rooms, the rooms we stayed in were great value for the money. Sure, the shower did smell a bit funny and there was small things missing in every room but if you're not too fussy about things like that, it's not really a big problem.

The problem however, with Beijing Perfect Inn, is that it promises way too much than it can deliver. And even when new promises are made, these cannot be trusted and that is both frustrating to the guest and simply a bad way of doing business.

All in all, we had an okay time at Beijing Perfect Inn, but still we would not recommend it to others and we would certainly never stay there again ourselves.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — See review
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank yage22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Lemeng Hotel
Lemeng Hotel
#372 of 6,474 in Beijing
9 reviews
Houhai
Beijing Guxiang 20 Club
Beijing Guxiang 20 Club
#3,375 of 6,474 in Beijing
38 reviews
Houhai
DuGe Boutique Hotel
DuGe Boutique Hotel
#416 of 6,474 in Beijing
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Traditional View Hotel
Traditional View Hotel
#542 of 6,474 in Beijing
87 reviews
Houhai
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
Han's Royal Garden Hotel
#116 of 6,474 in Beijing
127 reviews
Houhai
Lusongyuan Hotel
Lusongyuan Hotel
#124 of 6,474 in Beijing
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Profit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Profit Hotel

Property: Profit Hotel
Address: No.281 Gulou East Main Street, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China (Formerly Nostalgia Hotel Beijing Nanluogu Alley)
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3,532 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Profit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new design three star boutique hotel (opening 2nd April 2008) located at Beijing Gulou Dong Dajie and just three minutes from the Drum Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Profit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beijing Perfect Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing