We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities, a bit lacking in atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel
Ranked #162 of 1,345 Beijing B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good facilities, a bit lacking in atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this for groups or couples, but not so much for solo travellers. I stayed here on a weekday night in early September, so maybe I was unlucky with it being quiet, but the bar/lounge seemed rather dead - not great for travellers looking to meet people, though if you're with someone else you obviously won't mind so much.

The room was actually in the budget hotel across the courtyard, not in the main hostel, so I'm guessing they share their rooms to provide for private room bookings. My room had old and shabby furnishings but it was spacious, came with aircon and had more stuff than I was expecting - kettle, tv (admittedly only chinese channels), towel and made bed.

For a youth hostel, not bad at all, but as somewhere to stay rather than hang out.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank total_walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    84
    54
    16
    19
See reviews for
5
38
57
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This place has a good rep with travelers and Beijing resident expats, staff are certainly friendly and efficient, the lounge and deck area are cool places to chill, beers are also reasonable prices.

I had a single room, across from the hostel, in a very utilitarian hotel that might rate two stars at best. The room was ill kept, bathroom floor showed black mold and there was no lightbulb installed. More importantly, there was no soap, not even the small generic tablet soap. This was a bit irritating, I had spent five hours shopping locally, it was a pretty warm day.

It seems this hotel takes the overbooking from the Sanlitun Youth Hostel, which I wasn't expecting.

Anyhow, I went to the hostel lounge for breakfast, ordered their big "English" breakfast.

It was one of the worst meals I have attempted to eat in maybe twenty years. The sausage was not British style, which is lax as there is at least one Beijing sausage maker who makes decent Cumberland sausage, Irish pork sausage, and farmer's pork sausage. They can be bought retail from an international store less than five minutes walk from the hostel, so wholesale should be no problem either. The sausages I was served were not cooked adequately, and in fact were cold in the centre (probably cooked, then frozen, then reheated for serving). I expelled a mouthful into my paper napkin.

The mushrooms were unlike any any fungi I have tried to eat, they were swimming in oil, very rubbery, and would not break down when chewed. They too found their way to the paper napkin.

The bacon. Badly cooked, when I attempted to eat a piece I gagged and spat it out. The taste was bad, the smell of the bacon was that of urine. Not phosphates or sodium,but urine.

The scrambled eggs appeared ok until sampled. The eggs were off, not really bad, but not fresh as to be edible.

The toast was the cheapest white sliced bread they could find, very lightly browned as if it had spent about half a minute in a toaster.

I didn't even bother with trying the quartered large tomato. It was raw, but burned on the edges.

The oil used for cooking this breakfast was extremely poor quality, as we're the ingredients.

I have owned and run a food production and catering company in Asia, and I know that sometimes it is difficult to source authentic ingredients, but there is no excuse for bad cooking of very low quality fare when there are better shopping options available, and easily available, in Beijing.

I have eaten all kinds of food in China over the last two years, from five star banquet feasts to back street cafes and street food. This breakfast was quite simply inedible and very possibly the worst meal I have been served in the last two decades.

Room Tip: It is a hostel, so go in with low expectations and take it from there. This place is a also a reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caerdarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

It's clean, its £4 a night and its in Sanlitun. What else do you need!?

Bit of a walk to the tube station but apart form that this place is spot on. Close to Yashow Market, the village shopping centre, clubs etc. Pretty spot on place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stayed here with a buddy of mine while we were living in China and on vacation in Beijing. First off, this is a youth hostel, plain and simple. We shared a room with a dutch girl and italian guy the first night, the girl left the second night, and had a new roommate the next few nights. There is a shared bathroom, so bring your flip flops, own shampoo and everything you would need. I felt safe locking my things up in the safe in the room. On the weekend nights we were there, this place was a mad house. We met so many different people and had a great time. Beers were a bit expensive, but its China. The breakfast in the morning was good, as well as the specialty coffee drinks. The burger was questionable, but again, it's China. We took a trip to the Great Wall through the hotel which was also pretty great. We went to the less touristy part of the wall, if there is such a thing. Overall very good experience. Remember, it is a youth hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville,colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I recently spent two nights here in March. The sole reason for staying was because the group we were traveling with was also there and it was the meet up point before departure. The staff was friendly, room was small, no elevator, and can be loud in the hallways at night. It's usually from the prostitutes that roam the halls putting business cards under your door. Thus making it a full service hostel. The only problem with the hotel directly that we had was that we had to argue about getting our deposit back of 100 RMB. My friend had spilled a few drops of coffee of her bed sheet and they were claiming it was stained forever.... Also, the bathroom had slightly flooded and the towels had dirt on them from wiping up the floor. That also was to them, stained beyond repair. I wondered how long this small scam had been going? It took almost an hour to get the smal deposit back with the aid of our tour leader. I have a feeling they do this knowing you have to leave for the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongens Lyngby, Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The staff is super friendly and happy to help (and speak great English!), but everything's quite expensive comparing to everywhere else in Beijing and the cleaning is not satisfying.
They do offer a lot of services like washing your clothes, booking train tickets, taking you sightseeing, but again it's quite expensive comparing to other places in Beijing.
The atmosphere is amazing though, lots of young people and lots of partying during all days of the week - and you can always find someone to go shopping/sightseeing/etc. with!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Had gone with my friends to Beijing .. And we a group of 5 students stayed at sanlitun .. We got a lot more then what we expected out of the youth hostel .. Good food (expensive then the road side stalls just around the corner) .. Great tavel information counter (only people in Beijing who seem to know English) but its advisable to do the tours on your own as you save up on a lot and its much more fun .. Made a lot of friends by the pool and fooseball table .. All in all a good experience as got to meet fellow travellers from different parts of the world .. Just would ask the hostel to be a bit less commercial !!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaroonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Holiday Inn Express Beijing Dongzhimen
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
Siheju Courtyard Hostel
#4 of 1,345 in Beijing
98 reviews
Houhai
Red Lantern House
Red Lantern House
#5 of 1,345 in Beijing
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel

Property: Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel
Address: No.1 Yard, South of Chunxiu Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 1,345 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the lively area of Sanlitun, 24hr hot showers. Warm and cosy atmosphere, great bar, free Wi-Fi, english speaking staff. the big heating systerm, the most warm hostel in Beijing. Our free services include Wi-Fi, a library, luggage storage, travel info, 24hr hot showers, English news paper. Our free dumpling party happens every Friday and our free Chinese hot pot party is on every Wednesday night; they're a great opportunity to meet other guests. We also offer tours to many of Beijing's famous attractions and provide transportation and tickets to the city's hottest talked-about shows. We organise daily tours to Mutianyu Great Wall and the Ming Tombs and city tours to Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven and Tiananmen Square. We also have daily night view tours. We can book car services and tickets for kung fu shows, acrobatics shows and the Beijing Opera Other amenities include laundry facilities, bicycle hire, print/scan services, international phone calls, a 2-for-1 book exchange, a post box, 24hr reception and airport pick-up. We also host birthday parties and traditional festivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing