We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel
Ranked #174 of 1,389 Beijing B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Professional hostel”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Good place to stay, great rooms, showers good, and a good place to meet people. The staff all speak good English. The location of the place is about a 10 minute walk from any subway station - there are more centrally located hostels.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    85
    56
    17
    21
See reviews for
5
43
58
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Nice affordable place to stay in the shopping area of chaoyang district in Beijing. In between line 2 and line 10 of the subway, makes it very convenient to get around the city easily. The hotel is nice and friendly. The staff is helpful and most speak English which is hard to find at most places in china. The rooms are descent and clean. The beds are comfortable. However, a bit of warning, don't get a room next to the stairs if you want a good night sleep. The staircase tends to be very noisy all night long. I've stayed here several times and I've always had great service. They even let me change rooms because I couldn't sleep in the room next to the staircase. The have a secure room you can lock up your valuables and a nice lounge area. I would stay here again and the price is good for this district. Chaoyang tends to be more expensive than other areas in Beijing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodhisottva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Perfect position in Beijing although a little hard to find if you aren't familiar with Sanlitun so make sure you write down the Chinese! (or ask one of the many English-speaking people around). The staff are fantastic and really helpful for travel advice - if they don't know they'll make sure to find out for you! One of the girls wrote down my bus route for me and even wrote it in Chinese in case I got lost. Room's are basic but clean and really cheap. The hostel has a good sized bar/outside decking area if you want to eat or drink (food's okay but nothing special). Free wifi downstairs with limited access in the rooms.
Just perfect if you want a quick cheap stop over. Also 10 minute walk from the subway.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Arrived after a 20 hour travel day to find out that they could not honour my confirmed booking. I think due to an issue with govt registration and the fact I only had a 72 hour visa. So on that basis alone worthy of 0/5 and the first time in 52 countries this trip I have been left stranded.
However, the fact that they were clearly embarrassed and provided a free beer to remove some of the frustration, found a room at their Dragon Fly sister hostel and put someone in a taxi with me to help find it at 7pm as well as giving me 30 RMB for the fare probably says a fair bit about their usual level of customer service. Reception staff spoke good English and whilst I didn't get to see a room it looked like a pretty good set out with on site computers, wifi in lobby only, restaurant / cafe and outdoor sitting area. 75 RMD from the airport in a taxi.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Dorm rooms are spacious with ample cupboards to lock up valuables, if you have your own padlock. The common areas were really relaxed with free wifi. We did the Great Wall tour with the hostel, which included breakfast and lunch. It was a good way to meet other travellers who we then went out with into Beijing. The hostel is in a good location to get the subway train to the airport (about 20 mins walk to station) and for bars and shopping. The staff were really friendly and offered good advice on transport to the 798 art district and on local places to eat.

Room Tip: Take your own padlock
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aetam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this for groups or couples, but not so much for solo travellers. I stayed here on a weekday night in early September, so maybe I was unlucky with it being quiet, but the bar/lounge seemed rather dead - not great for travellers looking to meet people, though if you're with someone else you obviously won't mind so much.

The room was actually in the budget hotel across the courtyard, not in the main hostel, so I'm guessing they share their rooms to provide for private room bookings. My room had old and shabby furnishings but it was spacious, came with aircon and had more stuff than I was expecting - kettle, tv (admittedly only chinese channels), towel and made bed.

For a youth hostel, not bad at all, but as somewhere to stay rather than hang out.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank total_walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

This place has a good rep with travelers and Beijing resident expats, staff are certainly friendly and efficient, the lounge and deck area are cool places to chill, beers are also reasonable prices.

I had a single room, across from the hostel, in a very utilitarian hotel that might rate two stars at best. The room was ill kept, bathroom floor showed black mold and there was no lightbulb installed. More importantly, there was no soap, not even the small generic tablet soap. This was a bit irritating, I had spent five hours shopping locally, it was a pretty warm day.

It seems this hotel takes the overbooking from the Sanlitun Youth Hostel, which I wasn't expecting.

Anyhow, I went to the hostel lounge for breakfast, ordered their big "English" breakfast.

It was one of the worst meals I have attempted to eat in maybe twenty years. The sausage was not British style, which is lax as there is at least one Beijing sausage maker who makes decent Cumberland sausage, Irish pork sausage, and farmer's pork sausage. They can be bought retail from an international store less than five minutes walk from the hostel, so wholesale should be no problem either. The sausages I was served were not cooked adequately, and in fact were cold in the centre (probably cooked, then frozen, then reheated for serving). I expelled a mouthful into my paper napkin.

The mushrooms were unlike any any fungi I have tried to eat, they were swimming in oil, very rubbery, and would not break down when chewed. They too found their way to the paper napkin.

The bacon. Badly cooked, when I attempted to eat a piece I gagged and spat it out. The taste was bad, the smell of the bacon was that of urine. Not phosphates or sodium,but urine.

The scrambled eggs appeared ok until sampled. The eggs were off, not really bad, but not fresh as to be edible.

The toast was the cheapest white sliced bread they could find, very lightly browned as if it had spent about half a minute in a toaster.

I didn't even bother with trying the quartered large tomato. It was raw, but burned on the edges.

The oil used for cooking this breakfast was extremely poor quality, as we're the ingredients.

I have owned and run a food production and catering company in Asia, and I know that sometimes it is difficult to source authentic ingredients, but there is no excuse for bad cooking of very low quality fare when there are better shopping options available, and easily available, in Beijing.

I have eaten all kinds of food in China over the last two years, from five star banquet feasts to back street cafes and street food. This breakfast was quite simply inedible and very possibly the worst meal I have been served in the last two decades.

Room Tip: It is a hostel, so go in with low expectations and take it from there. This place is a also a reason...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caerdarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#119 of 6,517 in Beijing
186 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#129 of 6,517 in Beijing
303 reviews
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Beijing Heyuan International Youth Hostel
Chongwenmen
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
#4 of 941 in Beijing
239 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Courtyard Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel

Property: Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel
Address: No.1 Yard, South of Chunxiu Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 1,389 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the lively area of Sanlitun, 24hr hot showers. Warm and cosy atmosphere, great bar, free Wi-Fi, english speaking staff. the big heating systerm, the most warm hostel in Beijing. Our free services include Wi-Fi, a library, luggage storage, travel info, 24hr hot showers, English news paper. Our free dumpling party happens every Friday and our free Chinese hot pot party is on every Wednesday night; they're a great opportunity to meet other guests. We also offer tours to many of Beijing's famous attractions and provide transportation and tickets to the city's hottest talked-about shows. We organise daily tours to Mutianyu Great Wall and the Ming Tombs and city tours to Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven and Tiananmen Square. We also have daily night view tours. We can book car services and tickets for kung fu shows, acrobatics shows and the Beijing Opera Other amenities include laundry facilities, bicycle hire, print/scan services, international phone calls, a 2-for-1 book exchange, a post box, 24hr reception and airport pick-up. We also host birthday parties and traditional festivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing