We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hostel in San L Tun; Beijing - Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel
Ranked #216 of 1,419 Beijing B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I chose this hostel as it was a decent price and close to transport facilities. It is welcoming and the staff are very friendly and helpful. I arranged a tour to the Great Wall through the hostel and booked a train journey from my next trip via the staff at the hostel; the hostel having these facilities was really good.
Location wise, it is about a ten min walk from the nearest metro which is ideal to get to all the main spots in beijing. There is a decent strip of bars not too far from the hostel as well. The rooms, you get what you pay for, i had a 6 bed dorm for 3 nights, the room was clean, heating was fine, the showers/toilets were okay. Good choice of food and beers/drinks at the hostel bar and a really friendly atmosphere with the other guests.

Only down side, paying the +100 yuan for the room as a deposit that was not mentioned before arriving and the internet only working in the common room and not the dorms.

Would def return to this hostel next time im visiting beijing!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wee_emy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2014

Excellent location (5 minutes walking from the centre of Beijing's shopping/bar area and nightlife), super helpful and nice staff, nice common room. Drawbacks: the room was not very clean, and the ventilation system was not that good. You have to pay the same day that you arrive+100 yuan for the electronic key. There's also a bar in the hostel, but it is quite expensive for Chinese standards. There're many guests there (all very friendly) and also a lovely dog ;)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValeriaLennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I chose this hostel first of all because of its price. Food in the hostel is a bit overpriced but very good. Handy when you are too lazy to go outside to eat or it's just too cold. Menu has many options and they are all delicious! No free breakfast, internet only in the common areas and apparently on the first and second floor. Beds are not so comfortable, but it's something you can handle.

Didn't find the hostel a good place to meet new people specially because there are many chinese people in it (yes, guests) and they only speak between themselves.

15min walk to the train station. 10min walk from Yashow Market (which was GREAT)

Bathrooms are clean and shower is good. All the tours offered in the hostel are EXTREMELY overpriced!! I read some people saying staff is not friendly and that if you don't go on a tour with them, they pretend they don't know anything, but I disagree. To me they were friendly and helped me with everything I needed. There is also a bar area 10min away from the hostel. I didn't go there but two of my roommates said it was really good. Overall a cheap and fair hostel.

Room Tip: Pick rooms on the first and second floor if you want to get an internet signal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Location is really good, not far from San Li Tun. Metro/Subway is a bit far. You will not find cheap chinese cafes or restaurants around. The rent price for 6 bed room is cheap. My 6 bed room was dirty. No lockers on the safe, so you can buy one for 10 yuan if you want your property to be safe. Rooms are warm. They don't provide towels, no slippers, no shampoo, no soap and so on.
The barmen on the first foor was a lil bit rude. Actually, they are more polite and nice with not asian face people, but its still ok. lol
Food is good but still expensive for hostel. Its better to go to the nearest restaurant. Wi-fi speed is bad. The only advantage is location and price. Love it)))

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisherik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I stayed 10 days in bejiing changed hostel 3 timnes until I found salitum stayed here for 7 days. It's great hostel very clean amazing staff they help you out with everything anyway they can. The room are cheap and the food is good. There is a pool table and football table great if you have to wait for some people. I would recommend this hostel to everybody !

The supermarket is on 2 min walk and the metro at 5. lots of restaurants around if you want to eat outside

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexander v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sanlitun K, Manager at Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you very much for the good comments, wish you have a nice time in China.
Regards
Sanlitun hostel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed at this hostel many times. First time, we arrived late February and found it very cold. We told them our heating was not and they tried to sort it out. When this could not be done, they gave us half of our money back. Very helpful sorting out train tickets and day trips out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Huda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Good place to stay, great rooms, showers good, and a good place to meet people. The staff all speak good English. The location of the place is about a 10 minute walk from any subway station - there are more centrally located hostels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#133 of 6,563 in Beijing
312 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Peking Yard Hostel
Peking Yard Hostel
#119 of 6,563 in Beijing
189 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#53 of 6,563 in Beijing
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Leo Hostel
Leo Hostel
#6 of 982 in Beijing
411 reviews
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Chongwenmen
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
365 Inn (Beijing Qianmen)
#3 of 982 in Beijing
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel

Address: No.1 Yard, South of Chunxiu Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #216 of 1,419 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: £9 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the lively area of Sanlitun, 24hr hot showers. Warm and cosy atmosphere, great bar, free Wi-Fi, english speaking staff. the big heating systerm, the most warm hostel in Beijing. Our free services include Wi-Fi, a library, luggage storage, travel info, 24hr hot showers, English news paper. Our free dumpling party happens every Friday and our free Chinese hot pot party is on every Wednesday night; they're a great opportunity to meet other guests. We also offer tours to many of Beijing's famous attractions and provide transportation and tickets to the city's hottest talked-about shows. We organise daily tours to Mutianyu Great Wall and the Ming Tombs and city tours to Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven and Tiananmen Square. We also have daily night view tours. We can book car services and tickets for kung fu shows, acrobatics shows and the Beijing Opera Other amenities include laundry facilities, bicycle hire, print/scan services, international phone calls, a 2-for-1 book exchange, a post box, 24hr reception and airport pick-up. We also host birthday parties and traditional festivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing