We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good common room, good area!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel
Ranked #220 of 1,437 Beijing B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This place is located in a good area with lots of cheap and local food places. The guesthouse is nice, it has a chilld out laid back common rooms and I met a lot of people here. Close to Sanlitum bar area where you can have some good nights! The metro is a bit far. 15 minute walk, something like that. Some staff are great and helpfull (mostly the girls) some other staff is less friendly. But after all, a very good place to stay! Oh and almost forgot, second floor had a terrible smell around the bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMMM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with a couple friends while we did some sightseeing around Beijing. The hostel is a bit difficult to find the first time but the staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean. We split a room with 3 beds, the bathrooms was small but had everything needed. Food at the hostel was also good and reasonable (especially if you're still getting used to Chinese food).

We did one of the great wall tours through the hostel and found it be pretty good value as it included both breakfast, lunch, bus transportation and entry to the wall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuntrooster-CAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed in this hostel for two nights with four other friends. We rented a 6-person room for a really reasonable price. The room had wooden bunk beds and a wooden desk and chair. It was clean and had plenty of outlets to charge your electronics. The bathrooms were also clean and had at least one toilet bowl on every floor.

The staff was friendly and spoke English. We booked a trip to the Great Wall of China through the hostel. It included breakfast at the hostel and lunch at a restaurant near the entrance to the Great Wall. Both the breakfast and lunch were decent, as well as the coffee we ordered at the hostel.

We had a few drinks at the hostel the first night. The beer was cheap enough, and we had some free beer tokens, maybe from the Great Wall trip.

The atmosphere was by far the highlight of our stay. The wooden patio was really nice, and had it been warmer, we probably would have spent some time out there. The bar/restaurant area was quirky, with random pictures and flags hung up all over the walls. It was just a really friendly, comfortable place to stay. I'd definitely stay there again, if I ever make it back to Beijing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Many young travelers from all over the world stay here so one can eat/drink with others that love a life of travel.

This place has food, snacks and beer. Great music going all the time in the laid back lobby and dining/relax/internet area.

This place is near the US embassy if one needs to visit there.

Room Tip: Get a reservation for single rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We were happy to find this spot in Beijing as we landed having done no research. The three of us initially booked a few beds in a large dorm-style room but it was pretty messy from some long-term guests. The young lady at the desk switched us to a smaller room with three beds very quickly and for very little extra. They were extremely helpful with directions and tips regarding what to do in the city. We booked our Great Wall trip through them directly and it was spot-on. Also, the down time was enjoyable with the staff often joining us (we went during Christmas-New Year's and the place was less than half full, guess the ladies weren't too busy with work) for a late night game of pool or foosball or cards. Don't play foosball with them if you don't want to be embarrassed.

They also had good, western-style breakfast available. And the bar had a cocktail that was half absinthe and half grapefruit juice that was somewhat fittingly dubbed a "Hemingway". I had a few during my stay but never more than a couple at a time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mischa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hostel is located in great location, and isn't hard to find (as some places in Beijing tend to be). The acclimations are very typical for lodgings at this price point, its not going to win any awards for cleanliness, you won't be able to hear the mice fart, theres no turndown service, and no "special services" that are offered in most decent hotels in China (if you have to ask, just let it go and move on). If you are strapped for cash, going to China/Asia on a shoestring budget, or are just truing to get your Warren Buffet on and being a good steward of your hard earned scratch, go here and thank me later. I go to BJ often and will consider making this my HQ for future trips.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maltlinux2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed just one night in a 6-bed dormitory and I was satisfied. The location is great, the Dongzhimen Subway Station is just about 15 minutes by walk, and you need just the same time to go to the Sanlitun Bar Street. Around the hostel are quite many places for shopping and having food. For going around in Beijing the subway is the best option. The people in the hostel there great, the rooms and showers are clean (and the water was hot), a nice vibe and nice value. So for me I recommend the Sanlitun Youth Hostel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank torsten1097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Happy Dragon Hostel
Happy Dragon Hostel
#125 of 6,606 in Beijing
320 reviews
Houhai
Beijing Downtown Backpacker Hostel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Jade International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
Leo Hostel
Leo Hostel
#6 of 994 in Beijing
422 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#19 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,632 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,606 in Beijing
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel

Address: No.1 Yard, South of Chunxiu Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100027, China
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 1,437 B&Bs / Inns in Beijing
Price Range: £9 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the lively area of Sanlitun, 24hr hot showers. Warm and cosy atmosphere, great bar, free Wi-Fi, english speaking staff. the big heating systerm, the most warm hostel in Beijing. Our free services include Wi-Fi, a library, luggage storage, travel info, 24hr hot showers, English news paper. Our free dumpling party happens every Friday and our free Chinese hot pot party is on every Wednesday night; they're a great opportunity to meet other guests. We also offer tours to many of Beijing's famous attractions and provide transportation and tickets to the city's hottest talked-about shows. We organise daily tours to Mutianyu Great Wall and the Ming Tombs and city tours to Forbidden City, Temple of Heaven and Tiananmen Square. We also have daily night view tours. We can book car services and tickets for kung fu shows, acrobatics shows and the Beijing Opera Other amenities include laundry facilities, bicycle hire, print/scan services, international phone calls, a 2-for-1 book exchange, a post box, 24hr reception and airport pick-up. We also host birthday parties and traditional festivals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanlitun Huatong International Youth Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing