We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel but not central” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Beijing

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Ranked #39 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel but not central”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Greeting when we arrived was friendly, helpful and professional despite the fact that a huge cruise group was checking in at the same time (and yes, the cookies are lovely). We had booked a 2 bedroom suite as we have children - this was a perfect room for us and even had a kitchenette in the central living area between the two bedrooms. My only complaint about the room was that the aircon kept resetting itself - every time we came back to the room we had to reset the temperature and even then it seemed to sometimes change and/or switch itself off during the night. Breakfast buffet was excellent with good choice and very fresh-tasting food, I particularly loved the steamed dim sum. We had lunch there one day too and the food was good. The front desk and restaurant staff are very friendly and many of them speak reasonable English. The style of the hotel is modern and clean.
The hotel is next to an enormous department store and mall so it was very easy to buy food and other bits of shopping. The only problem is that it is so far from the centre of Beijing - a good 15 minutes by taxi if the traffic is good and sometimes cabs were difficult to find. It's also 2km from the nearest metro station so we couldn't use that easily with children either.
Overall, I'd definitely stay here if I had transportation (for example a driver or a tour group). Otherwise I'd probably look for a hotel closer to the centre of town, but of course Beijing is enormous so one would need to take taxis anyway and at least they are cheap. I felt the hotel was good value for money, particularly the two bedroom suite which was cheaper than two separate rooms.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suite excellent for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHilton, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Beijing, responded to this review, 9 May 2011
Dear Guest,
We were very pleased to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. Our team is dedicated to provide exceptional levels of service and we are all thrilled when we manage to satisfy our Guests.
As you pointed out, the AC system will automatically shut down once you leave your room, as well as when it reaches its set temperature, in order to reduce the amount of Co2 we release to the environment.
Our hotel is indeed located in an authentically Chinese area of the city, which, as previous reviews indicated, gives an opportunity to our Guests to get a feeling of the true Beijing. At the same time, as you experienced yourself, our concierge can easily get you taxis to reach places like Tian An Men Square or the Forbidden City within 15mn and at a reasonable cost. In addition, we are hoping to see the subway line 7 project completed in October this year, which will have a station within 2mn walking distance from the hotel.
Once again, thank you for your patronage and kind comments. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Yours truly,
Vlad Reyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    625
    569
    128
    26
    16
See reviews for
191
310
108
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

I stayed at the Doubletree by Hilton while part of an educational tour group. I had read that the location wasn't great, but for my purposes it was. The hotel was excellent. Beds, beautiful lounge, fabulous breakfast buffet, exercise room and pool... The staff was welcoming and friendly. The neighborhood was not touristy and walking the streets gave me a better sense of Chinese culture than another woman I talked to on the plane had who had stayed in a more "American-like (Western) area." She said, "I could have been back home." That's not what I would have wanted from a trip to China.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodySanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calmcoolandrelaxed, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Beijing, responded to this review, 2 April 2011
Dear JodiSanDiego

Greetings from West Beijing!

Thank you very much for your kind review and for sharing your experience during your recent stay with us with the Trip Advisor community.

Indeed, our hotel is consideredd to be located in a more local area than the hotels on the CBD (Central Business District) area. Having said that though, there are businesses around us that draw corporate guests to our hotel as well.

We appreciate your commendation of our team members who have shown you our CARING culture. Indeed, our aim is to Create A Rewarding guest Experience to all who put their trust in us. Glad to know that your China experience was most rewarding!

Best regards.

Yours truly,

Vlad
Vlad Reyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

We stayed at the doubletree on our recent visit to China, check in was a breeze with a complementry warm chocolate cookie and a cup of tea never had that on my travels before, our room was on the12th floor with a good view of the streets below only thing lacked a tub but the super power shower made up as it was my wifes birthday we even. Had a cake delivered with hotel Compliments,The following morning we had a super breakfast with an excellent range of quality foods on offer the waiting staff were also excellent we couldn't have asked for more, Although the hotel is not really central don't let this put you off as taxi's are cheap and we found getting around really easy Doubletree thank you for a wonderful stay!!!


complements,

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank splottboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHilton, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Beijing, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with the tripadvisor.com community your experience during your recent stay with us. We are happy to note that we have been successful in providing the ‘CARING’ service that our brand is known to provide worldwide.

We hope you enjoyed the warm chocolate chip welcome cookie, which is Doubletree’s tradition. Taking a bath under the power shower and sleep in the Hilton Sweet Dream bed will make you feel more energetic in the next morning.

It gives us a great pleasure to know that you were pleased with the services and the quality of the breakfast. We take pride in understanding our guests and we are committed to providing unparalleled service.

Once again, thank you for your patronage and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.



Yours truly,



Vlad Reyes

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
137 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

Stayed here in January 2011 and except for the location, highly recommend the hotel. That said, taxis are cheap in Beijing and unless you are adjacent to your business venue, you will get stuck in traffic no matter where you stay.

Location is residential attached to a mall with another mall nearby. Plenty of fastfood options include hot pot, McDonalds, pizza, etc. Several inexpensive massage places nearby too.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LiangShanBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHilton, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Beijing, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind compliment to us concerning your most recent stay in our hotel. We are glad to note that you have found your stay to be okay. We are sorry about the traffic of Beijing, if you take underground, it will be faster than take a taxi.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours truly,

Vlad Reyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaneohe
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

We checked into your hotel sometime after midnight after a long 12 hour flight and awoke the next morning after 6 hours of sleep, completely rested and refreshed. We strongly feel that in addition to your overall excellent ambiance, service and amenities, the bed we slept on was the major reason we got such an excellent start on our journey. Could you kindly e-mail to me the brand and model type of the mattress we slept on? The Honolulu Doubletree Hotel informs me that they have the Simmons Sweet Dream brand but isn't sure whether all Doubletree Hotels use a similar brand. Your information will help us relieve our back and knee problems. Thank you

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edotsukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHilton, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Beijing, responded to this review, 22 December 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your experience during your recent stay with us in the hotel. We are glad to note that you got a ‘warm and hospitable’ feeling staying in our hotel.

We are so glad to know that you love our brand’s iconic bedding- Sweet Dream. Actually our mattress brand is "KING KOIL" which is from US and produced in China. The size is 2.0 m*1.8 m and it's individual package spring inside in order to better support our body.

My team and I look forward to your future visits to the beautiful Westside of Beijing!
Yours truly,

Vlad Reyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2010

Front desk service was excellent; one of our rooms had a small problem and it was promptly and courteously remedied,
HHonors upgrades were effortless even in their most busy holiday season.

I found the service to be at least as good, if not better, than some other countries' full Hilton facilities.
We also greatly enjoyed the Restaurant; excellent quality, service and presentation.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank World_ER_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

What a pleasure to stay at this hotel! Mr.Vlad Reyes and Mr. Tony Yu, the staff is superbly training and customer-focused. The facilities are state-of-the-art and the service is impeccable. Stay here!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PunkyDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeHilton, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Beijing, responded to this review, 8 December 2010
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your experience during your recent stay with us in the hotel. We are glad to note that you got a ‘warm and hospitable’ feeling staying in our hotel.
For your kind information, our hotel is the very first Doubletree by Hilton hotel in Asia. With our ‘CARE Culture’ we take pride in providing our guests with the highest standards in hospitality.

My team and I look forward to your future visits to the beautiful Westside of Beijing!
Yours truly,

Vlad Reyes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#52 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Guomao
Renaissance Beijing Capital Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Beijing

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Beijing
Address: No.168 Guang_anmen Wai Main Street, Xicheng District | Only 85 meters away from Da Guan Ying station of Subway Line No.7, Beijing, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing West Railway Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#31 Family Hotel in Beijing
#37 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#37 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#41 Business Hotel in Beijing
#67 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Beijing 4*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Beijing is the very first upscale property in Asia under this new Hilton family brand, which opened in June 2008. This 26-storey hotel is located in the south-west part of the capital city, just 38 kilometers away from the Beijing Capital International Airport, and only 85 meters away from Da Guan Ying station of Subway Line No.7. The contemporary 5 star hotel is the perfect retreat for leisure or business travel, with all guest rooms covered by wireless networks and FREE Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Hilton EMEA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Double Tree By Hilton Hotel Beijing
Hilton International Beijing
Beijing Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing