We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location in business district, bad restaurant experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Millennium Beijing
Ranked #34 of 6,531 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2012

location is good if you need to be in this business district. Concierges are very helpful to deal with taxi drivers, directions etc.
The restuarant service is very very bad. Staff is impolite and not very well trained. They forgot orders, behaved strange (could be language issues), and the food quality was below expectation. Recommend not to eat in the hotel. However breakfast was good.
Internet is free throughout the hotel. Recommend to take a suite as it has some nice complimentary services, including a board room meeting one can use at the 27th floor. Staff at the executive floor were very helpful!

Room Tip: take a suite, it is worth it when you need to have business meetings
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IST_123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,220)
There are newer reviews for Grand Millennium Beijing
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2012

I have stayed at the Grand Millenium many times as it is very well situated for thr business district. I really enjoy the hotel. This review will, however, be heavily influenced by the, in practice, NON EXISTENT INTERNET ACCESS!

Thr hotel itself is very nice with a couple of good restarant options and nice bars - one with live music and cigar smoking in the evening (maybe not to everyones taste!). The rooms are spacious and the executive club on the 27th floor is excellent, also because it alows you to bypass the some times slow check in/out in the main lobby.

Now to the internet connection! In the executive rooms the offer free internet access - but it is not much of a freebee as it is worthless if you have to work. Everyone knows that you should never do any "heavy" things via wireless. Therefore, I of course used the cable version. Little did it help when I was met with the message, that a 2.5 MB document would 3 hours to download! After an hour of frustration I took to cobsequences and switched to my mobile connection. After 3 hours of work I looked at the "damage". 1,200$ - long live data roaming. This will cost me more or less the same as one week for the room! :-(((( !

CONCLUSION: A big shame that this - otherwise very nice hotel - falls through on a thing that should be a standard service.

Room Tip: Get an executive room.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenmarkDanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrdMillenniumBeijing, Hotel Manager at Grand Millennium Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Dear Readers,

Whilst seemingly happy with all other aspects of the hotel, this reviewer has decided to scathe the hotel with an extremely disappointing review, so please allow me to clarify the facts:

The hotel's internet connection is complimentary to all hotel guests, plus there is Wifi throughout the entire hotel including all guest rooms.

The hotel's internet connection is the best packages a hotel can purchase in Beijing, both in speed and broadband width, which we pass on for free to hotel guests.

The strength of the internet signal is affected by; (1) the amount of users on-line and the amount/type of data they are downloading; (2) the hardware of the user; (3) the website's country of origin*; and (4) the content of the website.

*please note: international websites are subject to filters and some websites, including most international social media are blocked in China

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I'm traveling a lot. I stayed in hotels in NY,London and other cities. But the Grand Millenium is in a class of its own. It is the first hotel I saw with safety equipment( torch and drager) in case of a fire. The bath with the view of the city was something else. The concierge was very helpful and patient. Without asking they wrote the name of the hotel on a businesscard in Chinese. That is if you want to use a taxi to get you back to the hotel.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank 237Susan123237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrdMillenniumBeijing, Hotel Manager at Grand Millennium Beijing, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Dear 237Susan123237,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, it is always very pleasing to see the team has performed well, particiularly the conceirge in this case and I will be sure to pass on your kind words.

Best reagrds,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Grand Millennium really does it beyond call-of-duty... Everything is perfect - from check-in to check-out my GF and I experiences nothing but great service, 5-star comfort, attention to details, excellent food and catering - and then of course the familiar, lovely modern, high-class design and quality of the rooms. Something you as born and raised with Scandinavian functional design in architecture and furniture surely know to how to tell the difference between poor coping and genuine quality...

Having lived in Beijing for years, I have seen a lot of 5-star hotels, but GM is really in a class of it own... As my GF said after 5 minutes in the room: "- This is the best and most luxurious hotel I have ever stayed in"... I must agree...

Tip for management (that 1% drawback): - Please learn staff how to really polish both leather and sway shoes... :-)

Look forward to return for more GM luxury...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Levystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in October and loved the large rooms, great pool & gym and fab location.
But was totally underwhelmed by the service and food & beverage.

Beverage was your standard buffet nothing special. Totally uninspiring.
No service at all offered at breakfast. except for when the staff wanted to check our room numbers. The offer of tea or coffee would have been nice.
Check in was ok. But my check out early in the morning was not good at all. everything i asked was denied (please print this, please leave this with room number xxx) perfectly simple requests but a strong no we can not ... :-(

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas_destinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This is a good physical property, well located with a good gym and probably the best hotel pool (if you are willing to put up with the idiocy of having to wear a swim cap) in China. The service is still OK, but it feels like they are skimping in various ways, most notably in the F&B outlets. The all day dining option has cut way back on what's offered at the breakfast & dinner buffets.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expat094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

After visiting this hotel 3 years ago, we noticed from the moment we arrived that this hotel - which was 5 star hotel on our last visit - really took its toll. On our first visit there, we were impressed by the modern features, the large rooms with intelligent design and personalized service. At that time, the hotel had just opened and it was clear that everything was bright and new.

This time was another story, to say the least. We were given a room twice the price of 3 years ago (well, this is Beijing after all...), but construction materials running down abnormally fast (carpet, for instance).

The design of the room was just completely absurd: the toilet bowl is literally in the shower (forget about going to the bathroom with your socks!) and there is no mirror in front of the bathroom sick (forget about putting your make-up or shaving without using the mirror in the bathtub!).

The day before our departure, we called the concierge to book the Sunday brunch (as we had it on our first visit. It used to be an elaborate brunch with free-flow champagne and martini). The employee on the phone confirmed our reservation at 11am and she even warned us that the brunch would finish at 3pm.

The next morning, when we arrived at the entrance of the restaurant, the place was empty. We asked - in Mandarin - about the Sunday brunch, the buffet, our booking. The employee at the reception said with this unique face of total misunderstanding that you can only find on the mainland China: "No booking... Brunch, what is brunch anyway !?" So, no brunch for us...

Next time in Beijing, we'll absolutely try to avoid this place.

Room Tip: Go to a real 5 star hotel
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zhuanglu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,838 reviews
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#14 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,447 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#15 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guomao
Shangri-La's China World Hotel
Guomao
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
JW Marriott Hotel Beijing
#12 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,646 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Hotel NUO
Beijing Hotel NUO
#24 of 6,531 in Beijing
1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Beijing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Beijing

Address: Fortune Plaza, No.7 Dongsanhuan Middle Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100020, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Guomao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Beijing
#23 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#25 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#33 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#53 Family Hotel in Beijing
#112 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £104 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Millennium Beijing 5*
Number of rooms: 521
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Millennium Beijing is located in the CBD and is part of the Millennium Hotels and Resorts. This is premium 5-star deluxe hotel. Convenient transportation for leisure and business guest. We have 521 grand and spacious guestrooms and mulitple dining options offering a variety of cuisine. For relaxation you can enjoy live entertainment at Havana (house bar). All guests have complimentary access of the award-winning Oxygen Club and swimming pool complex. All rooms have FREE high-speed broadband internet access and FREE WiFi is available through-out the entire hotel including public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Millennium Beijing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Millennium Beijing Hotel Beijing
Grand Millennium Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing