We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As Advertised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Ranked #64 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
169 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“As Advertised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

The CP Sun Palace is a very comfortable hotel, relaxing atmosphere and decent sized rooms. Service was good (and honest I might add.) I originally booked on C-trip, but rebooked directly to get IHG points. Front desk staff clearly explained situation and I was satisfied. Bottom line, book direct if you play the points game. About the same rate. The Western-Styled breakfast is worth it if you are a breakfast eater. Workout facility was pretty nice, but overlooks a slum. I counted my blessings. Danno says, "book it!"

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Danno251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Danno,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace and for sharing with us this message. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff service, environment and breakfast made it more comfortable. We always seek the best for our guests and strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. :)

Here we would like to recommend our newly-opened sports bar, LEVEL ONE behind the lobby lounge. The large collection of beverages and LIVE sports games will unwind your night for sure!

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    246
    49
    9
    2
See reviews for
24
22
23
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Regarding the quality of the room, I have no real complaints, everything was pretty standard for a hotel of this type. Nothing amiss and nothing exceptional. The service is attentive, but not reactive, as I will mention below.

The hotel is not in a very interesting location. Walking around nearby, there aren't any attractive restaurants or places to go. There is a big highway running past and a building site next door.

Due to the lack of places to eat nearby, I had a look at the hotel's restaurant just off the lobby. I was told that for guests it was half price, so would be 144 RMB for a buffet. This is an extremely expensive meal for one person in China but average for a hotel buffet. The service was attentive, but the food was not good at all. The salad bar consisted of a few limp leaves and no tomatoes, the cheese board consisted of only cheap cheddar, gouda, edam. The desserts options were mousse, mousse, and jelly. The chocolate mousse was was like grey, processed, flavourless rubbery jelly. If you're vegetarian, there was one hot curry dish for you, but the accompanying rice had prawns in it.

The reason I have given such a low score is because, on check out, when paying for this food bill, I was told that not only was there no 50% discount, as I'd been told, but also the original price doesn't include a service charge either. So that awful meal cost nearly 300 rmb. The room cost around 650. They acknowledged that I had been told the price was 144, but they charged me full price anyway. Good service would be, by anyones measure, to charge the price that was quoted.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kulturschok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear kulturschok,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace and for taking your time to write us such a candid review.

While we appreciate your feedback on our service, we are really sorry to hear your awful experience in the buffet restaurant. We would like to extend our apology to you directly and sort out this issue immediately. Would you please contact our MarCom at mina.bi@ihg.com if it is convenient for you?

We want to assure you Crowne Plaza is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and we are not different at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gesher Haziv, Israel
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed for a week for an IT convention. was upgraded (as an IHG Platinum member) to an executive room which was nice and spacious.
The bed was a typical HARD Chinese bed that was rather hard for me to sleep on (a matter of preference though).
Breakfast is a full international one as you would expect is such hotel (159RMB if not included).
There is no vibrant bar to hard around in at evening time, for that you need to go elsewhere.
The gym is nice and also has courses with local instructor.
Had a "frozen sholder" problem and the staff was happy to assist, and took me to a Chinese hospital and actually went in to meet the doctor(s) with me! very helpful!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the City, not the slums in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Matan,

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here and our friendly helpful staff made your experience more enjoyable.

Regarding the bed, we actually got lots of compliments on the soft mattress. But it's true as you said a matter of preference. Please do let us know when you stay with us next time and we would like to solve this problem for you. :)

And an exciting news to share with you that we are opening a sports bar back of the lobby bar---Level One. Guests can watch live games and play darts, pool while enjoying the evening with multiple options of vibrant drinks. We are proud to say it is something you shall not miss in this hotel.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing Sun Palace is a comfortable, clean, warm and welcoming hotel while staying in the large, concrete, hustling city of Beijing. It is located a short drive from the airport with easy access to all parts of the city. The staff treat you with a comfortable warmth, the food is varied and very well prepared and the pool, fitness room, and lounges are clean and welcoming. The guest rooms are well taken care with great view of the surrounding area of the city. I rate this hotel highly and will certainly rebook the next time I am visiting Beijing.

Room Tip: The suites are an excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brucewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear brucewell,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing us such a positive comment. We really appreciate your recognition on our staff service, location and guest rooms. We hope we can see you soon in your next visit to Beijing.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delhi, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

This hotel has all the accoutrements of a large good-quality hotel: comfortable beds, bathtub, rainshower, plenty of space in the rooms. I was there as part of a large conference and my group ate breakfast in a separate location from the main breakfast area; hence some items were brought upstairs and lukewarm when they arrived. However, the food staff was excellent and worked hard to please. At one point there were literally six chefs gathered around a frying pan to make sure that I had a properly-made omelet. Room service pizza - excellent and rapidly delivered. I used the gym or pool every day - gym a bit small but adequate. The spa is overpriced, though. There should be some guest incentives - coupons, for example. The hotel seems in the middle of nowhere, but I love walking in the city and the nearby metro stop made it easy to get anywhere. Checkout was amazingly fast considering the number of conference attendees checking out at the same time. Overall a positive experience.

Room Tip: the high floors looking west have a great view of the sunset and distant hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DelhiExpat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear DelhiExpat,

Welcome to Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we believe the large conference you attended must be a huge success. :)

While we are taking the very positive recognition on our guestroom, food, room service and gym, we notice your feedback on spa. The spa is not managed by the hotel and we are not able to control the price and value but we suggest our Concierge to recommend you better places to go next time you are here.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I stay at this hotel l when I can in Beijing. At first the location was tough, but there are restaurants and such around it now. The staff are always great, well trained and the executive club is amazing. The manager has moved to another beijing CP now (the Lido) so I might try that location as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chinablonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear chinablonde,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace and for giving us such a good and valuable feedback.

Friendly staff is one of our highlights and one of the reasons our guests choose to stay in this hotel. We are so glad to hear that you gave recognitions to them as well. Grace, Vicky, Ricky, Tina, our Executive Club service team always does their best to make guests' experience as comfortable as they can be. Well done to them, right? :)

We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
283 reviews
242 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

When I arrived I was greeted by the warm staff who speak perfect English I immediately felt at home the reception tried to accommodate all my requests with professionalism and genuine caring attitude especially Ms Vera Lu who saw I injured myself while getting out of the Taxi she provided me with alcohol and bandaid to clean my wound and also gave me a beautiful room. This is what makes me proud to be a platinum member in the CP IHG club.
The room was spacious. Clean and updated. The shower was great the bed heavenly check out took minutes.
I highly recommend this hotel. And will definitely come back to this hotel.
For the management of this hotel I highly recommend ms Vera Lu to be promoted to a service management position.
T

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mashgiach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Mashgiach,

Thank you so much for staying at our hotel and for taking your time to share with us your fabulous stay!

We always take our guests as our family and concern about all details at guest points. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the spacious room, the rain forest shower and the comfortable bed and Vera made your stay satisfactory with extra comforts.

Can't wait to see you soon! :)

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
China International Exhibition Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Beijing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Beijing
#101 of 6,442 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Crowne Plaza Beijing Lido
#56 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#43 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town
Wangjing
Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace

Property: Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Address: Yunnan Dasha, Northeast Corner of Taiyanggong Bridge, Xibahe, Northeast 3rd Ring Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100028, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > China International Exhibition Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#43 Business Hotel in Beijing
#50 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#58 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#120 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace is located in Taiyanggong area, close to China International Exhibition Centre, China National Convention Centre, Yansha and Wangjing Commercial Areas. Taking the high speed way to the Great Wall only takes an-hour drive. Yonghe Lama Temple, Olympic Green, Sanlitun and 798 Art Zone is also nearby. Get into Beijing Capital Airport, only 25 minutes driving distance from the hotel or walk to metro line 10 and line 13 within 10 minutes. Aegean mall next door provide you convenient options of shopping and entertainment. The 25-storey landmark tower features 515 well designed and spacious rooms and suites with panoramic view of the city. The hotel stands out with its comprehensive facilities consisting of 2 ballrooms, 1 outdoor marquee and 13 multiple function rooms, catering to all sizes of meetings, conferences and social events.The hotel also combines with a choice of innovative restaurants and bars. Award-winning Rainbow Restaurant offers a range of unique Yunnan flavors. Master Chef Kong in JUN Restaurant uses the freshest ingredients from Yunnan to create his unique style of healthy Cantonese cuisine. The Market Restaurant selects the best ingredients and tempts wonderful taste, with a healthy twist of modern ideas in every dish. Level One Bar serves over 20 kinds of imported beers with homemade burgers to create the perfectly evening.Take a dip in the F6 indoor swimming pool or work out in the modern gym, as part of your relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sun Palace Beijing Hotel Beijing
Crowne Plaza Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing