We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Ranked #64 of 6,450 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in April for a conference. Very large hotel indeed. Location is quite convenient from the airport and also from downtown, Sanlitun etc.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The only constructive comment I need to make is that the bathroom lighting is insufficient; too dark for a (safe) shave in the morning. Also, overall maintenance, as seems to be the norm for hotels throughout China, could be better.
On a positive note, the restaurants were all excellent with great service and good quality food.

Overall a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senninha888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear senninha,

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and loved our location, guest rooms and dining in the hotel while we appreciate your sharing on the lighting problem in the bathroom.

We have shared your comments with the hotel management team and we will make actions to improve the lighting in the bathroom to make guests' stay more comfortable and satisfying.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    246
    49
    9
    2
See reviews for
24
22
23
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I recently stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. The work meetings were at the hotel. Location therefore was not an issue other than it was good because it is relatively close to the airport.

The best thing about it was that the hotel offered me free suit pressing, one laundered shirt per day and free non-alcoholic drinks from the mini bar. Plus access to their "club lounge". Not sure why. I am a member of their loyalty programme but have no special status. Anyway, great offer, great value for me.

The room was good size, well appointed and had an excellent bathroom (huge shower, tub), good amenities. Some aspects of it were a little tired (like the doors on the closets for example, which were marked up) but the day I left I noticed that they seemed to be renovating other rooms on the same floor.

Overall the room was very comfortable. Hypoallergenic pillows were brought to my room very quickly when I asked for them the first evening.

I found the staff to be very efficient and polite. Early check-in after an overnight flight was no problem.

Very good to fitness centre, very good breakfast.

If this location works for you, this is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Fed,

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace and for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are so glad to know our location, Club Floor benefits, and staff service made your experience more enjoyable and impressive. And as you have noticed, we are working on renovations of the facilities and equipment to ensure guests a more satisfying and comfortable stay here, because we strive in delivering quality services and environments, to indulge our guests in the best. :)

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I booked a Club room and was upgraded to a suite on the Club floor. This was very convenient as the lounge was on the same floor and I had a business meeting and the meeting room was easily accessible. The lobby area is quite spacious and there is a nice cozy lounge for informal business discussions. The check-in was friendly and prompt. The folks at the lounge were very helpful the entire stay. There is a mall next to the hotel if you want some other F&B options - Starbucks for one. The room was very well maintained, lighting was optimal. Unfortunately, they really need to upgrade the internet speed. It's probably the slowest I've seen in IHG hotels in China. Location wise, it's right off the Ring Road and easy to find. Food at the restaurant was good - they even had vegetarian selections. All in all a good stay and worth the $.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsiaFlyer40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear AsiaFlyer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace and for writing us this feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and gave recognition to our Club Floor, lobby bar, staff service, food and beverage and neighborhood environment and we feel sorry to know that the internet speed interrupt this perfect experience.

The hotel upgraded the internet at the beginning of the year and we actually have received lots of good comments on the stability and speed. We would like to look into this case and will appreciate if you can share in which specific venue the internet slowed down. Please feel free to contact our PR manager at mina.bi@ihg.com.

Thank you again for the comments. We hope you will still choose this hotel in your future visits to Beijing.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
176 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

The CP Sun Palace is a very comfortable hotel, relaxing atmosphere and decent sized rooms. Service was good (and honest I might add.) I originally booked on C-trip, but rebooked directly to get IHG points. Front desk staff clearly explained situation and I was satisfied. Bottom line, book direct if you play the points game. About the same rate. The Western-Styled breakfast is worth it if you are a breakfast eater. Workout facility was pretty nice, but overlooks a slum. I counted my blessings. Danno says, "book it!"

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Danno251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Danno,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace and for sharing with us this message. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff service, environment and breakfast made it more comfortable. We always seek the best for our guests and strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. :)

Here we would like to recommend our newly-opened sports bar, LEVEL ONE behind the lobby lounge. The large collection of beverages and LIVE sports games will unwind your night for sure!

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Regarding the quality of the room, I have no real complaints, everything was pretty standard for a hotel of this type. Nothing amiss and nothing exceptional. The service is attentive, but not reactive, as I will mention below.

The hotel is not in a very interesting location. Walking around nearby, there aren't any attractive restaurants or places to go. There is a big highway running past and a building site next door.

Due to the lack of places to eat nearby, I had a look at the hotel's restaurant just off the lobby. I was told that for guests it was half price, so would be 144 RMB for a buffet. This is an extremely expensive meal for one person in China but average for a hotel buffet. The service was attentive, but the food was not good at all. The salad bar consisted of a few limp leaves and no tomatoes, the cheese board consisted of only cheap cheddar, gouda, edam. The desserts options were mousse, mousse, and jelly. The chocolate mousse was was like grey, processed, flavourless rubbery jelly. If you're vegetarian, there was one hot curry dish for you, but the accompanying rice had prawns in it.

The reason I have given such a low score is because, on check out, when paying for this food bill, I was told that not only was there no 50% discount, as I'd been told, but also the original price doesn't include a service charge either. So that awful meal cost nearly 300 rmb. The room cost around 650. They acknowledged that I had been told the price was 144, but they charged me full price anyway. Good service would be, by anyones measure, to charge the price that was quoted.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kulturschok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear kulturschok,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace and for taking your time to write us such a candid review.

While we appreciate your feedback on our service, we are really sorry to hear your awful experience in the buffet restaurant. We would like to extend our apology to you directly and sort out this issue immediately. Would you please contact our MarCom at mina.bi@ihg.com if it is convenient for you?

We want to assure you Crowne Plaza is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and we are not different at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gesher Haziv, Israel
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed for a week for an IT convention. was upgraded (as an IHG Platinum member) to an executive room which was nice and spacious.
The bed was a typical HARD Chinese bed that was rather hard for me to sleep on (a matter of preference though).
Breakfast is a full international one as you would expect is such hotel (159RMB if not included).
There is no vibrant bar to hard around in at evening time, for that you need to go elsewhere.
The gym is nice and also has courses with local instructor.
Had a "frozen sholder" problem and the staff was happy to assist, and took me to a Chinese hospital and actually went in to meet the doctor(s) with me! very helpful!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the City, not the slums in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Matan,

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace. We are really happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here and our friendly helpful staff made your experience more enjoyable.

Regarding the bed, we actually got lots of compliments on the soft mattress. But it's true as you said a matter of preference. Please do let us know when you stay with us next time and we would like to solve this problem for you. :)

And an exciting news to share with you that we are opening a sports bar back of the lobby bar---Level One. Guests can watch live games and play darts, pool while enjoying the evening with multiple options of vibrant drinks. We are proud to say it is something you shall not miss in this hotel.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

The Crowne Plaza Hotel Beijing Sun Palace is a comfortable, clean, warm and welcoming hotel while staying in the large, concrete, hustling city of Beijing. It is located a short drive from the airport with easy access to all parts of the city. The staff treat you with a comfortable warmth, the food is varied and very well prepared and the pool, fitness room, and lounges are clean and welcoming. The guest rooms are well taken care with great view of the surrounding area of the city. I rate this hotel highly and will certainly rebook the next time I am visiting Beijing.

Room Tip: The suites are an excellent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear brucewell,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing us such a positive comment. We really appreciate your recognition on our staff service, location and guest rooms. We hope we can see you soon in your next visit to Beijing.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Crowne Plaza Beijing Lido
#57 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
China International Exhibition Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Beijing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Beijing
#106 of 6,450 in Beijing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#48 of 6,450 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace

Property: Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Address: Yunnan Dasha, Northeast Corner of Taiyanggong Bridge, Xibahe, Northeast 3rd Ring Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100028, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > China International Exhibition Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#43 Business Hotel in Beijing
#50 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#58 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#111 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace is located in Taiyanggong area, close to China International Exhibition Centre, China National Convention Centre, Yansha and Wangjing Commercial Areas. Taking the high speed way to the Great Wall only takes an-hour drive. Yonghe Lama Temple, Olympic Green, Sanlitun and 798 Art Zone is also nearby. Get into Beijing Capital Airport, only 25 minutes driving distance from the hotel or walk to metro line 10 and line 13 within 10 minutes. Aegean mall next door provide you convenient options of shopping and entertainment. The 25-storey landmark tower features 515 well designed and spacious rooms and suites with panoramic view of the city. The hotel stands out with its comprehensive facilities consisting of 2 ballrooms, 1 outdoor marquee and 13 multiple function rooms, catering to all sizes of meetings, conferences and social events.The hotel also combines with a choice of innovative restaurants and bars. Award-winning Rainbow Restaurant offers a range of unique Yunnan flavors. Master Chef Kong in JUN Restaurant uses the freshest ingredients from Yunnan to create his unique style of healthy Cantonese cuisine. The Market Restaurant selects the best ingredients and tempts wonderful taste, with a healthy twist of modern ideas in every dish. Level One Bar serves over 20 kinds of imported beers with homemade burgers to create the perfectly evening.Take a dip in the F6 indoor swimming pool or work out in the modern gym, as part of your relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, IHG, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sun Palace Beijing Hotel Beijing
Crowne Plaza Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing