We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Ranked #67 of 6,448 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful Pool”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This is probably the nicest pool I have stayed at. The front desk service was great. They spoke great English and helped me with whatever I needed.

The location is great also because there is 3 pretty big mall next to it and is not far from downtown either.

The room was very large compared to Holiday Inn for about the same price. The breakfast was okay compared to other hotels.

It is very easy to get taxi at night and for taxi driver to get you back to this hotel. The only problem is getting taxi in the morning is horrible. I have waited an average of 40 minutes every morning to get a taxi to get to work.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Calvin,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace. We are very glad to know that our staff service, location, food and swimming pool helped in making your visit more enjoyable.

Indeed, it is quite a challenge to get a taxi during the morning rush hours. To ease this problem, we are offering shuttle service to resident guests, to surrounding business areas. You are welcome to book your seat through our Concierge in your next stay. Also, the subway Line 10 and Line 13 is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel, which is a good choice to preserve the environment.

Thank you again for your feedback and support. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    246
    49
    9
    2
See reviews for
24
22
23
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza Sun Palace for 3 nights during our stay in Beijing and would recommend it. We were tourists exploring the major sights (Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Temple of Heaven, Summer Palace, Great Wall, etc.) and the Sun Palace hotel the competitive rates among the 4-star hotels near the heart of the city. I would note that it was a long walk to the Forbidden City/Tiananmen Square area (we had a driver and tour guide). I would recommend a 5-10 minute taxi ride (or public transportation, if you are so adventuresome) to get to the major tourist/historical spots. The breakfast buffet was a good way to get some food and energy for our long and active days touring Beijing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear HJItaly,

We hope you enjoyed discovering the city of Beijing. :)

There are a lots to discover in Beijing, Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Temple of Heaven, Summer Palace, Great Wall, as you have mentioned. It is always good to live close to the spots you want to visit but they are scattered everywhere in the city. So it is recommended to choose a hotel close to your target or with very good traffic.

Our hotel is located 15-20 minutes drive from Bird's Nest/Water Cube, 798 Art Zone and the Lady's Street, the new rising stars for tourists. And we are 25 minutes drive to the airport, with two subway stations within walking distance. We must say it is quite a smart move of you to stay with us. ahaha

We wish you will still choose to stay in this hotel should you come back to Beijing in the future.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Been to Beijing many times but first time at the Crowne Plaza and this area of Beijing. Hotel is wonderful and rooms are large and very comfortable. Location is away from the centre of Beijing but suited my business needs and it was still easy to get around.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Ross,

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace.

The hotel is located by the 3rd Ring Road and close to several exhibition centers, Yansha commercial center and Wangjing Hi-tech Park. Also the world famous Bird's Nest/Water Cube, 798 art zone and lady's street are within 15-20 minutes by drive. Very convenient for business travelers and tourists. Plus our outstanding staff service and products, the hotel has received lots of good comments from guests. We are very glad to know that the overall experience met your expectation. :)

We hope we will welcome you back in the next visit to Beijing.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in April for a conference. Very large hotel indeed. Location is quite convenient from the airport and also from downtown, Sanlitun etc.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The only constructive comment I need to make is that the bathroom lighting is insufficient; too dark for a (safe) shave in the morning. Also, overall maintenance, as seems to be the norm for hotels throughout China, could be better.
On a positive note, the restaurants were all excellent with great service and good quality food.

Overall a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senninha888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear senninha,

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and loved our location, guest rooms and dining in the hotel while we appreciate your sharing on the lighting problem in the bathroom.

We have shared your comments with the hotel management team and we will make actions to improve the lighting in the bathroom to make guests' stay more comfortable and satisfying.

Thank you again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I recently stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. The work meetings were at the hotel. Location therefore was not an issue other than it was good because it is relatively close to the airport.

The best thing about it was that the hotel offered me free suit pressing, one laundered shirt per day and free non-alcoholic drinks from the mini bar. Plus access to their "club lounge". Not sure why. I am a member of their loyalty programme but have no special status. Anyway, great offer, great value for me.

The room was good size, well appointed and had an excellent bathroom (huge shower, tub), good amenities. Some aspects of it were a little tired (like the doors on the closets for example, which were marked up) but the day I left I noticed that they seemed to be renovating other rooms on the same floor.

Overall the room was very comfortable. Hypoallergenic pillows were brought to my room very quickly when I asked for them the first evening.

I found the staff to be very efficient and polite. Early check-in after an overnight flight was no problem.

Very good to fitness centre, very good breakfast.

If this location works for you, this is a good option.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Fed,

Thank you for staying at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace and for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are so glad to know our location, Club Floor benefits, and staff service made your experience more enjoyable and impressive. And as you have noticed, we are working on renovations of the facilities and equipment to ensure guests a more satisfying and comfortable stay here, because we strive in delivering quality services and environments, to indulge our guests in the best. :)

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I booked a Club room and was upgraded to a suite on the Club floor. This was very convenient as the lounge was on the same floor and I had a business meeting and the meeting room was easily accessible. The lobby area is quite spacious and there is a nice cozy lounge for informal business discussions. The check-in was friendly and prompt. The folks at the lounge were very helpful the entire stay. There is a mall next to the hotel if you want some other F&B options - Starbucks for one. The room was very well maintained, lighting was optimal. Unfortunately, they really need to upgrade the internet speed. It's probably the slowest I've seen in IHG hotels in China. Location wise, it's right off the Ring Road and easy to find. Food at the restaurant was good - they even had vegetarian selections. All in all a good stay and worth the $.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AsiaFlyer40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear AsiaFlyer,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace and for writing us this feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and gave recognition to our Club Floor, lobby bar, staff service, food and beverage and neighborhood environment and we feel sorry to know that the internet speed interrupt this perfect experience.

The hotel upgraded the internet at the beginning of the year and we actually have received lots of good comments on the stability and speed. We would like to look into this case and will appreciate if you can share in which specific venue the internet slowed down. Please feel free to contact our PR manager at mina.bi@ihg.com.

Thank you again for the comments. We hope you will still choose this hotel in your future visits to Beijing.

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
174 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

The CP Sun Palace is a very comfortable hotel, relaxing atmosphere and decent sized rooms. Service was good (and honest I might add.) I originally booked on C-trip, but rebooked directly to get IHG points. Front desk staff clearly explained situation and I was satisfied. Bottom line, book direct if you play the points game. About the same rate. The Western-Styled breakfast is worth it if you are a breakfast eater. Workout facility was pretty nice, but overlooks a slum. I counted my blessings. Danno says, "book it!"

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Danno251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowne Plaza S, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Danno,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace and for sharing with us this message. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff service, environment and breakfast made it more comfortable. We always seek the best for our guests and strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. :)

Here we would like to recommend our newly-opened sports bar, LEVEL ONE behind the lobby lounge. The large collection of beverages and LIVE sports games will unwind your night for sure!

Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Crowne Plaza Beijing Lido
#51 of 6,448 in Beijing
213 reviews
China International Exhibition Centre
Radisson Blu Hotel, Beijing
Radisson Blu Hotel, Beijing
#106 of 6,448 in Beijing
480 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#44 of 6,448 in Beijing
1,346 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace

Property: Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Address: Yunnan Dasha, Northeast Corner of Taiyanggong Bridge, Xibahe, Northeast 3rd Ring Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100028, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > China International Exhibition Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#43 Business Hotel in Beijing
#50 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#60 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#115 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace is located in Taiyanggong area, close to China International Exhibition Centre, China National Convention Centre, Yansha and Wangjing Commercial Areas. Taking the high speed way to the Great Wall only takes an-hour drive. Yonghe Lama Temple, Olympic Green, Sanlitun and 798 Art Zone is also nearby. Get into Beijing Capital Airport, only 25 minutes driving distance from the hotel or walk to metro line 10 and line 13 within 10 minutes. Aegean mall next door provide you convenient options of shopping and entertainment. The 25-storey landmark tower features 515 well designed and spacious rooms and suites with panoramic view of the city. The hotel stands out with its comprehensive facilities consisting of 2 ballrooms, 1 outdoor marquee and 13 multiple function rooms, catering to all sizes of meetings, conferences and social events.The hotel also combines with a choice of innovative restaurants and bars. Award-winning Rainbow Restaurant offers a range of unique Yunnan flavors. Master Chef Kong in JUN Restaurant uses the freshest ingredients from Yunnan to create his unique style of healthy Cantonese cuisine. The Market Restaurant selects the best ingredients and tempts wonderful taste, with a healthy twist of modern ideas in every dish. Level One Bar serves over 20 kinds of imported beers with homemade burgers to create the perfectly evening.Take a dip in the F6 indoor swimming pool or work out in the modern gym, as part of your relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, IHG, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sun Palace Beijing Hotel Beijing
Crowne Plaza Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing