We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
Ranked #66 of 6,527 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2009

The hotel is relatively new, room is spacious, staff very obliging. Buffet was great with a lot of choices. The only thing did not earn this hotel full marks is its location, almost in the middle of building sites, near the major ring road. quite isolated for us who like to wonder around the hotel to soak in the local admosphere and use the public transport. The underground is quite hidden near the hotel. It took a bit of searching to find the entry. However, if you like taxi here and there, then the location is going to be fine.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathayterric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2009

This is definitely a great hotel. It is very luxurious, and the staff are there to cater for any whim at the drop of a hat. The rooms are large, the beds very comfortable, and the bathroom was really good too with plenty of room, complimentary bathrobes and slippers etc.

The reason this hotel was so good in my view was the food. Fabulous buffet breakfast with everything and anything you could possible want. The restaurant in the evenings was also buffet, but very cleverly had 7 or 8 sections with food from different parts of the world, Italian, Indian, etc. so every palate was catered for, if for example you are not a lover of Chinese food.

Overall, the hotel is excellent. The location was OK, but as we were on a guided trip the location was not an issue, as we were picked up and dropped off every day.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Amazing hotel, was very impressed by the rooms. The bed was very comfortable and was just as comfortable as my own bed back home. Had a wonderful night's rest here. The buffet breakfast is out of this world too, good selection of both western and chinese cuisines.

Front reception staff and concierge and bell boys spoke english.
Would definately stay again, but the hotel location is a little bit out of the way and not too much to see and do within walking distance of the hotel.

However, this hotel is excellent and would recommend it!!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
Thank akide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2009

Very nice hotel. Its new and fresh. Rooms are pretty big and have a trendy design. I really liked the bathrooms which had separate shower and tub. All in natural stone and glass. And a cool window above the tub. The breakfast was really great during the weekdays, however not so well maintaned on the weekend. Seems like they stopped refilling cheese, juices, fruits even if it was still more than one hour before closing the breakfast. This is not a downtown hotel but location is Ok, not so bad as some reviewers have written, even though there is contruction going on everywhere around the hotel. But this is typical for Beijing. There are some restaurants within 10 minutes walking distance (one of these is a really good local restaurant serving the typical Peking Duck). The hotel concierge service is GREAT. Very helpful with everything. The front desk staff was also very service minded and flexible. The hotel has a nice spa with swimming pool and saunas. Finally, as other reviewers have stated - most taxi drivers have a hard time finding the hotel. Make sure you have a note with hotel phone number, name and address in chinese letters to show the driver.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwedishNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

My family and I spent 8 days total at the Crowne Plaza Sun Palace Hotel in May, 2009 over two different periods. Our basic premise for choosing the hotel was 1)it allowed for more than 1 kid in the room; 2)it seemed like a new, clean and 4-5* hotel; and 3)great price/value for the hotel.

We were not disappointed one bit - in fact we came to think of our hotel as our "temporary home" and were really able to relax and refresh from our long days out sightseeing.

The best thing about the hotel was definitely the service. From top to bottom everybody was extremely nice and helpful and friendly. Our two kids (aged 3 and 1) were immediately given lots of attention. The staff from the front desk to the concierge to the bell staff to the hotel management called us by name the entire trip. The concierge really tried hard to help us out by getting train tickets ahead of our stay, which another hotel in another city refused to do for us.

The rooms were brand new and comfortable. Nicely appointed and tastefully done. The hotel itself is still a bit of a work-in-process. There is an adjoining complex that houses ballrooms, event facilities, restaurants and a spa. Two of the restaurants (both Chinese) are open, while the Italian restaurant is yet to be opened.

The knock we read about on the hotel is that it was out of the way. And yes it is and no it isn't. It's not close to the center of Beijing, and by the center I mean Forbidden City. The hotel is on the third ring, and you can tell that in another five years the landscape will look a lot different from where it is today. Lots of construction going on. Nevertheless, we trucked the family to the neighboring subway station (2-3 minute walk) and were in town rather quickly (i.e. one transfer). We were surprised by a few really good restaurants in the area that were within walking distance. It's not the kind of hotel where you're going to leave in the morning, come back for lunch and then leave again in the afternoon. Pretty much when we left, we were gone from morning until evening and we came back for the night.

There is a pool, which was great for the kids. While the kiddie pool and hot tub looked to be undergoing some renovation we were able to sneak a corner of the lap pool for ourselves to swim with the young kids.

We tried two of the restaurants and they were fairly expensive and on par with most western restaurants. What would have cost us $10 at a local restaurant would cost us $50 at the hotel. To be expected. The food was good. There is a good Sunday buffet with lots of Asian fare (Chinese, Japanese, Indian) and a chocolate fountain to boot. Evening live music in the lobby. Most everyone spoke English.

Taxis were waiting to take us into town or where ever we wanted to go from the hotel. We had only one issue with a cab flat our refusing to take us to our hotel from a place near the Zoo. We attribute this mostly to the Golden Week mad house and not the actual location of the hotel. The hotel had a easy English and Chinese map with directions to give to any cab.

All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel if there are people who are looking for a great hotel at a great value. I think once this hotel is 100% finished and operational, combined with the neighborhood being fully developed and you're probably looking at rates being twice as high at least.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lcute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

Stayed here for a week and can't say enough about it, The food here is the very best the buffet diiners and breakfasts are out of this world. Our room was huge and spotless , great beds to sleep on after a hard days sightseeing. The staff were very friendly and helpfull. We shall be back....

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timbo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2009

We picked this hotel for its location, close to our son's boarding school and subway lines. We love China, but it sure was nice to be in this amazingly clean new hotel with its large beautiful clean pool and fitness center. Compared to other hotels in the area it is an amazing value, and it has the best pool we've experienced in China. Clean, comfortable rooms with comfortable beds. The high quality buffet breakfast has plenty of fresh fruits, omelets, pastries... It's a short walk to the #2 and #10 subway line so you can ride anywhere you need to go. We did have to pay extra for internet, and it was so new it wasn't on gps yet so hard to find. We are already booked to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DalianOntheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Crowne Plaza Beijing Lido
#50 of 6,527 in Beijing
280 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Crowne Plaza Beijing Chaoyang U-Town
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Crowne Plaza Beijing Wangfujing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beijing Capital International Airport
Crowne Plaza Beijing International Airport
Yansha
Hilton Beijing
Hilton Beijing
#49 of 6,527 in Beijing
1,414 reviews
Wangjing
Courtyard Beijing Northeast
Courtyard Beijing Northeast
#70 of 6,527 in Beijing
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace

Address: Yunnan Dasha, Northeast Corner of Taiyanggong Bridge, Xibahe, Northeast 3rd Ring Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100028, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > China International Exhibition Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#42 Business Hotel in Beijing
#50 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#58 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#120 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £80 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace is located in Taiyanggong area, close to China International Exhibition Centre, China National Convention Centre, Yansha and Wangjing Commercial Areas. Taking the high speed way to the Great Wall only takes an-hour drive. Yonghe Lama Temple, Olympic Green, Sanlitun and 798 Art Zone is also nearby. Get into Beijing Capital Airport, only 25 minutes driving distance from the hotel or walk to metro line 10 and line 13 within 10 minutes. Aegean mall next door provide you convenient options of shopping and entertainment. The 25-storey landmark tower features 515 well designed and spacious rooms and suites with panoramic view of the city. The hotel stands out with its comprehensive facilities consisting of 2 ballrooms, 1 outdoor marquee and 13 multiple function rooms, catering to all sizes of meetings, conferences and social events.The hotel also combines with a choice of innovative restaurants and bars. Award-winning Rainbow Restaurant offers a range of unique Yunnan flavors. Master Chef Kong in JUN Restaurant uses the freshest ingredients from Yunnan to create his unique style of healthy Cantonese cuisine. The Market Restaurant selects the best ingredients and tempts wonderful taste, with a healthy twist of modern ideas in every dish. Level One Bar serves over 20 kinds of imported beers with homemade burgers to create the perfectly evening.Take a dip in the F6 indoor swimming pool or work out in the modern gym, as part of your relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Beijing Sun Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sun Palace Beijing Hotel Beijing
Crowne Plaza Beijing
Beijing Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing