We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel
Ranked #57 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Website pictures are a little deceiving; facilities are not perfect but very good for the price and staff is very friendly and helpful. Has two nice courtyard (front and back) and a roof deck, shared a 4 bed dorm with 3 other family members (young teens). The ”ensuite” (our restroom) wasn’t so private, it wasn’t even in the room, but was right outside our door and was shared with others and it seemed to be the only one for the entire hostel. What I will say about this place, is that its location; located in the Hutong residential neighborhood provides the traveler an insight to everyday Chinese living; the alley is filled with many local street cafés which provides an array of food smells and the many sounds of conversation. As a guest you get to experience traditional housing and best yet, you are just blocks from the subway (Beixingiao Station). All the sites are just a metro ride a way, which is very easy to navigate. Would I stay here again, you bet. I don’t recommend it to those “high maintenance” travelers; this is not a place for you. You can’t beat the quiet and peaceful setting, the local neighborhood environment, the great location and the free WiFi. It’s worth at least taking a look.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank castrod78702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

I'm not really sure where to start with this place, booked online and emailed that we would be arriving late at night, got reply that this is fine. When we got there he couldn't find our booking, when he finally found it he had overbooked, but had "generously" upgraded us free of charge, "The best room in the house" apparently. Well I wouldnt want to see the others, it was really a shoe box, uncomfortable beds, a dripping tap that kept us awake all night, a blocked drain in the shower. The rooms didnt get cleaned daily which wasnt nice when you have to throw your toilet paper into the waste bin beside the toilet, so after three nights you can imagine how gross that was. The breakfast was an absolute rip off at 25RMB and the tours exhorbitant. Location not that great either, its close to a subway but thats it. There is better coutyard hotels around.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheHappyWandering1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I had a great stay with the staff actually buying me breakfast one morning!!! I would recommend for couples and solos. The location was great down a small hutong but close to restaurants, transport etc. Rooms are a bit small but welcome to China.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wale_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks during the september and was totally stress free. The location is extremely convenient being near two subway lines ,you're basically in a chinese neighborhood, The staff all speak good english and are extremely helpful when needed,the room is basic and very clean, Fantastic home base for a Beijing vacation...the staff was incredibly helpful, friendly, and arranged a driver to take us to the Great Wall, Ming Tombs, and around Beijing. And they even had us up in time for our morning flight after a long night out. I'd recommend it to anyone traveling to Beijing...thanks for a great experience! you can booking directly on their website www.alleygardenhotel.com, they can give your a little discount over 3 nights.

Room Tip: deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

this small scale hotel consists of several rooms / bungalows (the typical old style chinese ones), and a 4 bed dorm.
Staff is friendly, helpfull and keeps everything clean!
Right in the center of the real China. At night the street is very alive, full of small restaurants and street BBQ's. Nearest subway is 5 mins by foot.

I've stayed here a few weeks, and i can really recommend this unique experience.

They got a few computers and wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rene_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

I was excited to stay in the hutong and I will agree that the location is excellent. We arrived late and they were there for our arrival. Our king bed, that we had reserved, basically filled the room and the bathroom was so stinky, that we asked to see another room. We ended up opting for the twin beds and larger room, they were larger than normal twins, it had more space for our stuff, and we initially thought that the bathroom was better.... We froze, our fault, because we didn't realize the AC had heat too. The bathroom had no heat, yes, a heat lamp for when you shower, but not for during the night if you have to get up. There was plenty of mildew around the faucet. You can't have the hot water heater and the heat lamp plugged in at the same time... So, we didn't even use the heat lamp when we showered. Risking running out of hot water wasn't worth it. The beds were relatively comfortable. We awoke early and wanted to go walk around the hutong and basically had to break out of the place, secure yes, but nice to know if you want to leave, you can. Great location, but bathroom smell did us in.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank absbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

We arrived at Alley Garden on the 2nd of August at 11 p.m.
A young and friendly boy received us and explained all the available services (free wifi, safety box, laundry and breakfast with fee, tour booking) and given us a city map together with some "tip".
We booked the hotel online for 6 nights and we paid all at our arrival, at once.
The hotel is a quiet siheyuan in a typical chinese hutong and is closer to the tube station and to the restaurants. Is really good position!
We found helpfull staff and nice guests.
But...Price exceeds proposal. Considering that we paid a 15% surcharge for service we expected more room cleanliness and one towels change, at least.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Entu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#41 of 6,568 in Beijing
585 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#38 of 6,568 in Beijing
518 reviews
Chongwenmen
pentahotel Beijing
pentahotel Beijing
#54 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel

Address: No.46 Lane 3 Beixinqiao, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100007, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Price Range: £47 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a chain hotel of beijing 161lama temple courtyard Hotel . We offer the traditional Chinese-style rooms with free internet access and 24-hours reception. All the room with cable TVs, telephone, AC,Hair dryer ,towel ,slipper , washing set ,etc. Located on one of peaufully hide hutong area which is only 5 minutes walking to the lama temple and Bei Xin Qiao (Line 5)subway station, also it is only short distance to most popular attractions like Tiananmen Square, Forbidden City & Wang fu jing night market. Especially only 2 minutes walking to the famous night market---ghost street. Each comfortable room has their own features and hand-picked classic furnishings. They are decorated with wooden floor, chinese -style duxury beds with just be perfect light of lamp. You will feel like you're back in ancient China When you step into the room on first step. Day trips (like hiking from jinshan ling to sima tai great wall),pick up & drop off service,car hire and train or fly ticket booking ,bicycle rental ,laundry services are all provided. Western breakfast served in our lobby, the hotel neighbour resturant offer the local chinese food as well. So please come with us to see what's the real beijing.We will be pleasure to serving with you , you will be realised that you made the good choice to staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Beijing 161 Lama Temple Courtyard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing