We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Stay - Rooms getting a bit tired but wonderful service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment
Ranked #166 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I stayed here again on a 2nd business trip in near the end of May. My loft apartment was showing a few signs of wear and tear especially in the bathrooms though it was nothing serious.

I am writing this review to commend Clara (sorry I can't remember her last name, but pls see the photo attached - she's on the right), who really helped me out when I wanted to book last minute tickets to the opera. Even though I speak and read basic Chinese, the National Centre for the Performing Arts website was a nightmare - you could only book tickets through the Chinese language site AND you needed both a China mobile number and a China credit card to book. Clara and I navigated through together and she used her mobile and credit card to help me book the tickets (I gave her cash) and then went down with me when she couldn't transfer the confirmation text message to my phone. This was despite her shift starting later the same evening.

Generally the China service industry is a bit indifferent to customer service, eg I have been handed a blanket and told to make up my own bed when I asked for an extra blanket (at an unnamed Beijing hotel) - probably a holdover from Cultural Revolution days. This was a most wonderful exception and I was very very impressed.

I solved my earlier taxi problem (see my first review) by directing taxis to the nearby Suzhou Jie subway station and then steering them from there (or its a short walk if you prefer).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nightview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Ma_123, Manager at ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time and posting your comments.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon .



Thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

We have stayed around three days in this hotel, in its loft rooms.
The rooms have bathroom both in the first floor and in the second floor.
A comfortable living room and a silent bedroom.
Its definitely worh staying in.
Being so close to Haidian - Zhongguancun, the best Electronics Shopping center of Norh China, makes it another best alternative for staying.
You can reach there by walking!

Room Tip: Choose Loft rooms if you are not alone. Do not forget to use the facilities, spa, swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muhsin_Kaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Ma_123, Manager at ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time and posting your comments.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon .



Thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Although the rooms were spacious, ours on two floors, the paint was cracking everywhere in the bathrooms, the tiles were not clean, and the housekeeping was definitely not thorough. The lighting in the rooms was virtually non-existent and, for a hotel that caters to all, barely a person who worked there spoke or understood any English. The breakfast buffet was awful and the breakfast tables filthy. If you were not the first at your table, even if they "cleaned it", it was really dirty from the previous people.

Room Tip: Ask for a loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulupearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Ma_123, Manager at ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your comments.
We will look into those issues which you mentioned to improve our service quality. Thank you again for your feedback for us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.



Thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Stayed here for my china trip with a tour. It has 2 storey room, 2 bathrooms (1 shower and 1 LEAKY bath tub). the first floor is mainly work station and living room with tv and minibar. the fridge was broken and not cold at all. the 2nd floor is mainly to sleep with tv on wall. As for the location, there are no close mini-market so it's hard to buy clean bottled water.

Overall, it was a good experience but i dont think it's very suitable for old people because of the 2nd floor bedroom.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Ma_123, Manager at ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your comments.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As mentioned, there has one big super marker around our Hotel, just 10 minutes by walk, the name is BHG. And also, we have two kinds of room type, one is loft room that you stayed, the other one is standard room.

At last, We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed at the Ariva Hotel while in Beijing on a group tour.

We found the hotel to be well placed for our needs and is on the right side of town to easily visit the Badaling Great Wall area. It is also within a reasonable distance to attractions such as the Summer Palace etc. Just around the corner from the hotel (5 min walk west) is a modern shopping mall with all the requirements of the traveler such as chemist, grocery stores, a large food court and specialty shopping. A 5 min walk to the east are other food stores such as bakeries and you will also find the subway station (Line 10) at the Suzhoujie platform which will get you to the Olympic Village and Birdsnest Stadium with only one change of line. The hotel is situated on the north western side of the city but the central attractions such as Tienanmen Sq and the Forbidden City are within reach via tour or public transport. The hotel is well equipped and the rooms; although some minor maintenance was required in the bathroom; was comfortable and well furnished. The dining room was large and well set out with both western and Chinese cuisines on offer. The staff were friendly and internet (WiFi and cable) was available in the foyer. All in all it was a very pleasant stay and I would stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Choose the view that looks to the west and the mountains. Lovely at sunset!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dryad61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Ma_123, Manager at ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time and posting your comments.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon .



Thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

There is a smell in the room. Breakfast is not international. Usd was not available at front desk. My key broke 3 times. Very few english speakers at reception. Electric curtains were broken on my second night. The stairs in the room is hard to manage. We wait for too long for the elevator.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Efo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Ma_123, Manager at ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time and posting your comments.

.we will look into those problems as your mentioned to make an improvement, and also we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon .

Thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This hotel is really nice, especially after a month of backpacking around Southeast Asia. We picked this hotel because my family was visiting a student at Peking University and wanted to be closer to her. It's 3 subway stations away from Peking University, but a 40 minute subway ride from downtown. Therefore, if you want to visit closer to downtown, I wouldn't recommend this hotel simply for its location.

However, the amenities were nice, just expensive. To print something was a dollar a page, and the breakfast buffet was 16 dollars a person.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin_Ma_123, Manager at ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time and posting your comments.

.we will look into those problems as your mentioned to make an improvement, and also we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon .

Thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Palace Garden Hotel
#154 of 6,565 in Beijing
14 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Swissotel Beijing Hong Kong Macau Center
Zhongguancun
Crowne Plaza Beijing Zhongguancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yuanda Road
Four Points by Sheraton Beijing, Haidian Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#34 of 6,565 in Beijing
515 reviews
Wudaokou
Liaoning International Hotel
Liaoning International Hotel
#389 of 6,565 in Beijing
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment

Address: No.36 Haidian South Road, Haidian District, Beijing 100080, China
Region: China > Beijing > Zhongguancun
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#68 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#137 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £68 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ariva Beijiing West is a new and chic 317 room hotel and serviced apartment located in the heart of Zhongguancun Science Park. Ideal for both business and leisure traverlers, it is 30 minutes drive from Tiananmen Square and 40 minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ARIVA Beijing West Hotel & Serviced Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariva Beijing West Hotel And Serviced Apartment
Beijing Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing