We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place has gone down hill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Beijing Northeast
Ranked #78 of 6,464 Hotels in Beijing
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This place has gone down hill”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here the first week of opening 8 years ago. Stayed here maybe 4 times, the last being over 4 years ago. This time I chose it due to the price compared to other Marriott properties. Now I know why. Best way I could describe my room on the top floor exective stay is....SHABBY!
The furniture is well worn and falling apart. The bathroom is low rent. Cmon Marriott!! Clean the grout and re caulk the tubs! It looks horrible and not what one would expect to see in a Marriott property. The staff was top shelf which was the saving grace for this stay. Wanjin is one of my fave areas to visit and eat so everything was an easy taxi or bus ride or walking distance. But having lived in BJ on and off for 9 years, it is probably easier for me than others.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing south or the airport freeway. Too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian Y, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Beijing Northeast, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott Beijing Northeast and for taking the time to inform us of your experience.

We do appreciate your feedback regarding our service, and we will strive to ensure we continue to meet your expectations.

However, we sincerely do apologize for the room condition issues you mentioned. Our senior management is working with our Housekeeping and Engineering departments to remedy the situation with additional processes and procedures being implemented.

Again we thank you for staying with us and for your valuable comments.

Sincerely,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    169
    62
    13
    7
See reviews for
33
28
33
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

This hotel is nearby some of business centers nearer to airport. So certainly a good option to stay in if you have business around. It is a bit far from sight seeing options and central part of Beijing. The breakfast spread is amazing - and certainly is a must mention. The hotel staff are friendly and help you in understanding how to navigate/find your way around Beijing. They also helped me book a reasonably priced tour to Great Wall at very short notice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSourav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian Y, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Beijing Northeast, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear BSourav,

Appreciate for taking the time to share your comments.

We are so delighted to hear that you are satisfied with our service during your stay in Courtyard by Marriott Beijing. As you know, what we do is that to provide authentic service to our every single guest. We're still seeking for the improvement and looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My tour group had several rooms and we all seemed to have the similar complaint of no air conditioning. When we called the front desk housekeeping promptly brought us a fan and a bucket of ice. Although it was a nice gesture, it didn't help. There is free wifi in the room if you are a Marriott member (free to sign up). I recommend to sign up just for the convenience of having it in the room. The only confusion (lost in translation) was that you had to pick an internet plan (hourly, daily, weekly, etc.) which appears that they charge you, but they don't if you're a member. Just make sure the front desk has your member number when you check in. Then you can pick any plan and it won't be charged to you. To be sure I had the very nice and helpful staff translate it for me. He typed it in Chinese and translated it in English for me "that I wouldn't be charged". We walked to the nearby restaurants and some of my family ate at one, but the other half ate at the hotel restaurant. I thought the food was pricey even for hotel food. The included breakfast was good and they seemed to have a good selection to meet most cultures. They had a nice omelette station. For those looking for non-Asian fare, there was an Irish pub down the street, but we didn't go in.

Room Tip: For those new to Chinese intersections, be very careful and look in multiple directions before stepp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian Y, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Beijing Northeast, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear PhotoJane,

Thank you so much for your positive comments on our hotel service. And we are gald to hear you enjoyed our breakfast at Momo Cafe.

And we do apologize for any inconvenience during your stay regarding the air conditioning issue. We have shared your comments with our Engineering department, and of course all the adjustment is in progress.

Once again, thanks for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Beijing and taking your time to share your comments. Looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I have stayed in a couple of Marriott properties in the Chaoyang District of Beijing. This hotel is definitely on the outskirts, facing the Airport Expressway and about a mile from the bustling subway stop at Sanyuanchiao. However, despite what some TA posters have indicated, there is no subway station within walking distance - they must be confusing this hotel with the other Marriott locations. The only way to really get to the station is by taxi or bus. Again, there is no easy access to the subway!!!!

That being said, the hotel itself is very nice and seems quite new. My room was elegantly furnished and the bathroom was luxurious, including a shower with water coming at you from all directions. The wifi is free and fast. The gym was fantastic and pretty well-equipped, and there was a beautiful pool that can be used for real lap swimming. The lounge had every drink imaginable except bottled water, which was odd, and the breakfast was delicious (although catering much more towards a Chinese rather than a western diet).

The front desk personnel were proficient at their work but I wouldn't call them super friendly or attentive. I think the service gene is something that is missing in Beijing, even at higher end hotels.

I would stay here again only if I wanted to make sure i can get to the airport quickly. During non rush hour it only took about 20 minutes by taxi. If you want to be near subways and trains, you'd better look inside the 4th Ring in Chaoyang.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobetrotterIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian Y, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Beijing Northeast, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear GlobetrotterIL,

Thanks for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Beijing Northeast and taking the time to share your comments.

We are delighted to hear that you are satisfied with our rooms, gym, and swiming pool these facilities, and glad to find that you enjoyed the breakfast at Momo Cafe. And we do apologize for any inconvenience during your stay regarding the transportation issue. We have shared your comments with our Front Office Team for their service, and we're seeking for the improvement and looking forward to your next visit.

Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

No way a US Courtyard, this is an upscale Hotel. Rooms fairly new, high quality, and executive lounge very pleasant. The negative is location, but the subway system will take you near most attractions and is easy to navigate the expansive network. The facilities are acceptable and would recommend for business stopover. Very close to airport, on the direct expressway about 20 min or less.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded if hotel not full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Demill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian Y, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Beijing Northeast, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
Dear Demill,

Thank you so much for your valued feedback on our hotel. We are glad to find that you are satisfied with our facilities and enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by my visit to this hotel.

I often find Marriott hotels to be huge dark cavernous and deeply depressing places to be with a profoundly indifferent breakfast and service level.

However this hotel was light airy and uplifting with great rooms , facilities and service.

All the more surprising because it was in China.

So well done.

My only reservation is that the hotel really is nowhere near anything of any tourist interest just some businesses.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lillian Y, Public Relations Manager at Courtyard Beijing Northeast, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Daniel,

Thank you so much for your positive comments on our hotel facilities and service. And we are gald to hear you enjoyed our breakfast. Your feedback is highly valued and we look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The location of this hotel's great, it's only about a 5min walk from the subway station and the same distance to the nearest bakery. One tip I have for people considering this hotel is that instead of subscribing to the in room internet, you can save a bit of money by going to the bakery which offers free internet across from the entrance of the subway. Courtyard in China's different from courtyard in the United States in that the quality of the rooms are comparable to a regular Marriott-class Hotel near the airports. If you're not spending a lot of time within the hotel room, this hotel is perfectly balanced in terms of price, comfort and quality of sleep along with the insurance of it being a Marriott. I'm writing this review late 2013 but we stayed at the hotel in spring of 2010.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Crowne Plaza Beijing Lido
#52 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Jiuxianqiao
Metropark Lido Hotel Beijing
Metropark Lido Hotel Beijing
#133 of 6,464 in Beijing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Yansha
Beijing Marriott Hotel Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wangjing
Holiday Inn Beijing Focus Square
Beijing Railway Station / Jianguomen
Beijing Marriott Hotel City Wall
NUO Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,464 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Beijing Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Beijing Northeast

Property: Courtyard Beijing Northeast
Address: No.101 Jingmi Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100102, China
Region: China > Beijing > Wangjing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#68 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#73 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Beijing Northeast 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new and contemporary-styled hotel featuring 258 spacious and stylish guest rooms, luxurious marble bathrooms, advance IP phones, HDTVs and high-speed Internet access. With 24-hour accessibility to the Business Centre and Fitness Centre, a resort style indoor swimming pool bathed with natural light, contemporary dining at MoMo Cafe and wireless connectivity throughout the public area, this hotel offers the essentials for all discerning business or leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Beijing Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Beijing Northeast Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing