We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with professional Staffs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Beijing Beichen
Ranked #23 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2010

I was in this hotel and March this year and just came back from this trip. I have to say the hotel is great with the view to water cube and bird nest. The staffs are great with good English. The Guest Relations Team were with international staffs and Concierge's knowledges is good. I would like to recommend this hotel to other people if they travel to Beijing.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
Thank christ926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2010

In January, I stayed 5 days in the hotel as I needed to be in the area. The hotel is far away from the sightseeing attractions (except the birdnest which you can see from the room). The design interieur is very tasteful. Rooms are very well equiped with all possible comfort. Just excellent. Also the lounge on the 3rd floor is topclass with drinks including Pommery Champagne and good snacks.

As a tourist, I prefer hotels which are closer to the city center. Though, if you can live with the remote location, this is an excellent choice

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tk100964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Facilities are very nice, modern and clean. Beautiful view of '08 Olympic venue, particularly at night.. Superb Intercontinental hotel staff make all the difference. I was particularly pleased with the professionalism and assistance provided by the Club Lounge staff, especially the manager, Ella, and the business center staff. Their English is excellent. Club Lounge staff's knowledge of the city and time it takes to travel by taxi to various areas of the city was a great help.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryGBowlingGreen_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

big entrance thats all - not what you would expect from an intercontinental hotel. Red paint stains in room, tacky looking boxes in bathroom, room service was a disaster, had the worst spaghetti EVER there. I really could not believe that was meant to spaghetti with beef sauce, had to leave it uneaten. so called guest-relations were not there to help as we requested butler service! the only good thing is the view in the evening! And there is nothing other than the stadium around. it takes time to get taxi as well.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Room Amenities: The room is spacious, and so as the bathroom. The amenities in the room are nothing to criticize, nice mega Plasma TV, well-equipped executive work desk with stationery ….and more crucial is the housekeeper service, so courteous!

View: as Bird Nest & Water Cube are just around the corner, i.e. 5-10 mins walking distance, Beijing Contin. Beichen is the BEST choice if u wanna to explore these Olympics venues more~ nice view from my room window. Night scenic of Water Cube is so impressive!

One thing needs to mention is the security system of this hotel! Each hotel guest can only access to their own floor by using the digital hotel room card when they use the lift.

Location: the only drawback~ a bit far from the city centre, lets say 30 mins to downtown Wangfujing, Temple of Heaven, 20 mins to Sanlitun Street, etc~ but definitely convenient if u get on a taxi, fare is reasonable!

The last thing I would like to mention here and the most remarkable thing is the best concierge services they provided in which impress me a lot. Both my friends and I are very pleased and impressed by Lolita, Anson and Adam. Three of them are very cordial, sincere, along with knowledgeable of various tourist sites and nice restaurants. Not only giving appropriate recommendation of our travel itinerary, but also patient in answering our enquiries. They are indeed very customer-oriented, more specifically, attention to details. We are very glad to meet them in Intercontinental Beichen that makes our trip more memorable. Many thanks to three of you!

We’ll definitely stay here again if we visit Beijing in future!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank besocora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

This hotel had the feel of a Four Seasons or similar. Very upscale, modern, elegant furnishings and first class service, with most of the very cordial and helpful staff speaking English well. The breakfast buffet can't be beat (pricey but worth it) with a wide selection of Asian and Western food of good quality. We booked through the website and the room, with breakfast was $150 per night. The room had all sorts of amenities beyond the usual bathrobes, slippers, etc. including a hot pot and french press and condoms in the bedside table. The large screen LCD tv had a good selection of English speaking stations. The bed was quite comfortable (unusual for China), lots of marble, and dark soothing color scheme. The fitness center was well equipped with a beautiful infinity pool. We didn't eat at any of the restaurants other than for breakfast. The only downside was that other than the Olympic Green across the street and the National Convention Center next door, there was nothing near by. We had to walk a ways to find a grocery store to get some snacks. NOTE: If you're attending a conference, make sure you're wanting to stay near the National Convention Center, not the Beijing International Convention Center as I was confused. The latter is a 30 minute hike across the Olympic park (which wasn't too bad and I wouldn't have wanted to stay at any of the hotels near it, the Crown Plaza adjacent to it was yuck).

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

We stayed in the Intercontinental Beijing Beichen for 6 nights in July 09. I was in Beijing for a conference and wanted to make some sightseeing, too.

The location of the hotel is good if you want to go to the convention centers. However, if you want to go to the city it is far away, you have to change the subway at lest 2 times.

We were upgraded to a king-size room with a view to the olympic stadium the bird nest. This was really nice, especially in the evening. The room is spacious, very clean and very nice, very well equipped with complementary tooth-brushes, comb, and office supplies. Nice bathroom, too. The bed is very comfy.

The service at the front desk and the concierge was very good, too. They recommeded us two restaurants which were really good and exactly what we had asked for.
The bar in the lobby is very nice with a good barkeeper. However, prices are ridiculous. For a small coke you pay almost 10$!

What we really disliked was the Chinese restaurant "Di". We had dinner there but only once since this was a very bad experience! The service was the worst I have ever had. The waitress was visibly annoyed to serve us dinner. When we ordered our menue she interrupted us and talked to other waitresses several times until we asked if we can continue our order. She had absolutely no interest in giving us a good service. On the top, prices for beverages were really ridiculous, for a small coke we paid 10$!! Food was ok, although nothing special. No wonder we were the only guests....

The breakfast buffet is big with lots of Chinese food such as dumplings and Chinese pasta. It looked good, but it was more a lunch than a breakfast buffet for my taste. There is also a section with a western-style breakfast. It looks really nice but it has nothing to do with good American or European bread or orange juice. We were astonished that an intercontinental hotel did not know how to serve some American or European breakfast. It tasted bad! So although it was included in our booking we did not have breakfast there very often.

For a business trip bring your own laptop. The business center is nice but internet is not complimentary, for every minute you pay 3 RMB. The connection is so slow that you need at least 10 minutes just to check your mails.

However, besides these two points the hotel is good. If you do not want to eat or drink something there and you need no internet, I absolutely recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moritzchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#1 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,058 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#16 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,514 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#4 of 6,556 in Beijing
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Village
China National Convention Center Grand Hotel
Guomao
Fairmont Beijing
Fairmont Beijing
#12 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,470 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#6 of 6,556 in Beijing
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Beijing Beichen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Beijing Beichen

Address: Building4 No.8 Yard, Beichen West Road, Chaoyang District, Beijing 100105, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Olympic Village
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Beijing
#22 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#33 Business Hotel in Beijing
#48 Family Hotel in Beijing
#55 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#153 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £143 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Beijing Beichen 5*
Number of rooms: 337
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Beijing Beichen is conveniently interconnected with the China National Convention Center (CNCC), one of Asia’s largest convention center. Beijing International Convention Centre (BICC), the Olympic Forest Park, National Olympic Stadium and China National Tennis Center are all within walking distance from the hotel while the business centers of Zhongguancun Science & Technology Park, Shangdi Hi-tech Zone, Wangjing, Tsinghua University and Peking University can be reached in a short drive. The hotel is only 30 minutes from Beijing Capital International Airport and 25 minutes from CBD. The hotel combines sophisticated meeting infrastructure, restaurants & lounges and relaxation options with comfortable and spacious rooms to perfectly cover the needs of international and local meeting & exhibition delegates (MICE) and business travelers. Easy access to Beijing’s historical sightseeing spots, such as the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, Great Wall and the Summer Palace, as well as the amazing view of the blue Water Cube, make it a preferred venue to combine business and leisure. Galaxy Hall offers one-stop exclusive customized service including meeting, dining and recreations. With all over 350sqm, it has a capacity of more than 100 participants, immersing themselves in the tour of each professional field, together with the panoramic Olympic view through french window. Recreation room provides attendees with upscale KTV equipment, 75 inches home theatres to fully relax mind and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Beijing Beichen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Beijing Beichen Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing