We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This little hotel is the quintessential beijing experience.”
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard 7
Ranked #45 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We stayed at Courtyard 7 on our first trip to Beijing. We found the staff extremely helpful, supportive and they definitely made our stay exemplary. Even before we left Canada they had answered many of my questions about tours in the area and how to get to the hotel from the airport, even emailing me instructions in chinese that we could hand to the taxi driver, along with what we should expect to pay. With this information in hand we felt much more relaxed about our arrival day. We were excited about the authentic decor, cleanliness and comfort of our room. The staff have very good english and any questions we had they were able to answer. The full complimentary breakfast was very good, with fresh fruit, toast, a selection of sweeter items, eggs done your way, sausages, juice and coffee. Could you ask for anything more!! We decided to eat our dinners at the cozy restaurant after a full day of touring and found the dinners very good as well. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Beijing who wants to experience something very special.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlowergirlArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2011

Courtyard 7 is a unique property in the old Chinese courtyard style. If you want a modern glitzy hotel with endless entertainment in house -this hotel is not for you! The rooms are lovely with comfy beds -we were upgraded & even had a room with a sauna-something you don't often find. The staff are all smiley, welcoming & very helpful especially the reception staff. The hotel is just off a busy hutong with heaps of great shops, bars & restaurants which at times is extremely busy & noisy.Because of that you don't have far to walk to eat,drink or shop and when it all gets too much you can step back into the instant serenity of courtyard 7.
The only minor flaw would be that the room temperature was a little cold when we were there. Breakfast was good and free internet & use of computers in dining room. The location is excellent-walking distance(about 20-30 minutes) to Tiannenmen, Forbidden City & Houhai lakes. All things considered this is a lovely hotel -close to the most important sights and highly recommended!

Room Tip: Room 8 has a sauna!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PattiB20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Cozy and quiet place right in the heart of the city. Nicely chinese style decorated rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeiBo_SHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

We stayed at Courtyard-7 for 5 nights in March, we spent 4 nights in standard room and one night in Superior room. Both room types are very clean and decorated tastefully..though Standard room is a bit tight in terms of space (especially when we have 2 big suitcases) but manageable. We got 2 of complimentary bottle of water, along with buffet breakfast every day, which was great. The place also has free wifi plus 2 PCs at the hotel's restaurant. To top this off, the place is a historical 400-yr old resident, with a big traditional Chinese courtyard, so it is very unique.

The place is located in a very chic, charming, and foreigners-friendly street...full of all kinds of shops and restaurants...we loved it!! Though the location is not super close to Forbidden City (though we did walk to it, took us about 25-30 minutes..which was not too bad) or Wangfujing street...we pretty much went everywhere by cabs (since they are pretty cheap i.e. it costs 10 yuan most of our trips).

Besides the above, what impressed us the most is the helpfulness and hospitality of the staff there, especially the Guy name "Gou..something" (I asked for his exact name but I forgot it somewhere!!!...he is solid build/quite chubby)...his English is really good and he is extremely friendly helpful -- We tried to book a flight on Air-China to Xian...but the company only takes "local-bank" credit card (unless we go to Air-China office in person..which we did not have time to do so).. This man offered us his own "personal" card to secure our booking, in which we paid the money back to him the next morning....The whole transaction was not easy neither..we had a number of problems and took almost an hour to sort everything out. He apparently went out of his way to help us and we really want the owner of this place to be aware of how much we appreciate this man. We could not thank him enough...

Thank you again for making our Beijing trip so memorable... we will definitely stay at Courtyard-7 in our future trips to Beijing!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank secret-angle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We spent 4 nights here (in 2 different rooms) and it really has been great. I chose the hotel because of the reviews on TripAdvisor and in large part because of the location. It is within walking distance of Drum Tower, the Forbidden City, Lama Temple and a lot of other great locations, if you don't mind a little walking. But the location is also great because you are in a very quiet hutong off of a very vibrant and interesting larger hutong (Nanluogo).

While the location was a major factor in my choice, and it has worked out well, I really needed to write this review because the service has been so excellent. The staff truly has a service attitude, most of them speak English well, and they just really want you to have a good stay. They have helped us navigate the area, providing written names and addresses and even a map. They also upgraded our room for free when there was a problem with our room (see below). Generally speaking they are just extremely cordial and accommodating.

But back to the rooms, they all are very nice. We were really trying to watch our budget, so we got their "cheap" room which had no windows and a twin bed. The room was clean and well-appointed, just a little small and very dark in the middle of the night! It also got very warm and since there were no windows to open, they opted to just put us in a deluxe room for our last night.

Some other comments on the facilites:
- breakfast was very nice with basic continental items as well as a few hot items. I thought the onion rings were really good - albeit unusual - for breakfast
- the courtyard setting is very quiet and peaceful
- the water pressure was adequate but not great
- the rooms are very nice but also simple, while having all the necessities and a few extras
- they have made great efforts to be "green" including using alternative energy for heat/hot water.

But back to the staff. They really made the experience. It was so nice to be taken care of and have such nice people making our vacation special.

A really great place to stay if you want more of an authentic experience while still being "comfortable".

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpetrizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

We chose Courtyard 7 because we didn't want to stay in one of the big hotels and we wanted to be inside the Dongchen district with its narrow lanes and alleys. We went for one of the superior rooms looking out into a courtyard. It was all we had hoped for. Don't book this place if you want a sanitised Western hotel with no character, but do book it if you want a laid back stay with great hosts who take care of every need. The rooms are old and quaint and the whole place has a charm about it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank breweruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2011

The Courtyard 7 Hotel is recommended for those who want a more authentic Chinese experience. It is a 20 room 300 year old Shiheyen(sp.) or courtyard home furnished with reproductions from the period - even a most comfortable canopied bed. Our standard rooms were at the back where the spinster daughters used to live! The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms surprisingly modern and tastefully appointed with good large showers and lots of hot water. Good western breakfasts and internet access in the cozy restaurant were included in the $60/night ( early Dec.). We met fellow guests at the computers in the restaurant and shared our awful but complimentary bottle of Chinese red wine. The hotel is conveniently situated in a hutong off Nan Luogu Xiang where we felt very safe wandering. It is very quiet but once out of the lane and on the street there are lots of shops, restaurants and bars. The only noise we heard was a loudspeaker at about 9 am and then children singing. It was from the school across the lane. The lakes are an easy walk and if you keep the Drum Tower in view you can't get too lost! We had time for one last long walk around the hutong to the lake on the morning of our departure to take in more of daily life in old Beijing. The friendly hotel staff posted mail for us and arranged our half hour taxi ride to the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veliger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#38 of 6,568 in Beijing
518 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#111 of 6,568 in Beijing
437 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#41 of 6,568 in Beijing
585 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#19 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#19 Family Hotel in Beijing
#67 Business Hotel in Beijing
#69 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £73 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard 7 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing