We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beijing shouldn't be done without staying here...”
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard 7
Ranked #23 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beijing shouldn't be done without staying here...”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Feeling like we were staying in Beijing during the 'Dynasties' era...but with the added comfort of now. Gu Lou is so close for restaurants, hairdressers, cafes...basically all you need.
Please do not hesitate to book this charming little home from home. I cannot write this review without 'bigging-up' the staff especially the reception..they were perfectly helpful. Thank you.

Tips: Use their free bike-hire to explore the near-by sites...we went to Wangfujing, HouHai-Beihai & The Bell & Drum Towers are of easy reach by bike and you could cycle to the nearest Metro-Andingmen.

Room Tip: Booked through Hotels.com easy peasy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rzile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    231
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
103
350
56
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos Hills, CA
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here along with his parents at the end of a 2 week vacation in China, and had a marvelous experience!

This is a renovated "si-he-yuan" (old courtyard house) that has been turned into a small hotel, and all the rooms were in historical buildings dating back 200-300 years. The rooms are small but charming, and had all the amenities you could want, including modern bathroom, silk bathrobes, coffee/tea, refrigerator, great AC, and a super comfy bed. We got superior rooms, and ours was the one pictured on the website and looks exactly as expected, and my inlaws were in another one with a charming private courtyard. All of this and fast free wireless internet!!

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful buffet with pastries, meat, fruit, eggs made to order. Laundry was cheap (10RMB for shirts or pants). The people were extremely helpful and friendly. Especially good is the man at the desk, who had excellent recommendations for restaurants, massage, etc. We also booked a car to Mutianyu through the desk and it was very reasonable with little markup (600RMB for the whole day).

Location could not be better. Just off Nanluogu Alley, 2 blocks from Gu Lou Da Jie, 20 minute walk to Yan Dai Xie Jie and the back/front lakes. Taxis were easy to get on either the north or south entrance of Nanluogu Xiang. One tip, when getting a driver to take you home, have him drop you off at either the north or south entrance and walk in. To circle to the other entrance could take another half hour with all the one-way street and notorious Beijing traffic.

Also recapping some of the recommendations by the hotel man:
- Brother's Szechwan (corner of Gu Lo/Nanluogu): excellent authentic Szechwan food. Probably too spicy for western palates but we loved it.
- Yun-Hai-Yao (Qian Hai, just at the bridge): First time I've ever had Yunnan cuisine. Delicious! Sit upstairs by the window and enjoy the wonderful breeze and beautiful lake scenary.
- He-Zhong-Tang massage (Gu Lo Da Jie, about 10 min walk): Best foot massage I've had in China.

I would recommend and return to Courtyard 7 without reservation. Wonderful base to enjoy old Beijing. 100% better than the chain American hotels in the more modern parts of town. All the guests seem to be Europeans except us. Hopefully Americans will catch onto this wonderful place soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We had a superior room that was very good. Because our flight landed early we had to wait an hour or so for our room to be available as previous guests hadn't checked out .We sat in a lovely sunny courtyard waiting and the staff kept bringing us glasses of tea which was very considerate .
The local area was great with interesting shops and at night we found a bar that served excellent mojitos ! We felt quite safe walking around the area late at night.
We ate dinner once in the hotel which was ok-breakfasts were good .the hotel recommended one restaurant down by the lake which was very good ( after the challenge of crossing the road-always an experience in Beijing ) with a very lively bar area to look at .

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KSlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Courtyard 7 is a really lovely place. We had a standard room which was gorgeous, it wasn't huge but had a lovely traditional bed, a very modern western style bathroom and use of the garden outside. Also there were silk dressing gowns and slippers for our use in the room. The staff are English speaking and really can't do enough for you. The courtyard setting is relaxing and calming, and has been restored to an extremely high standard.

The hotel is located off a small Hutong with a nice selection of interesting bars, restaurants and shops, but we couldn't hear any noise from the room. It is also a short walk to the Houhai lake area. The Hutongs around the hotel are an interesting place to explore- you could do what we did and have a rickshaw tour around the sights.

The only slight downside is that the hotel is a good 10 minute walk from the nearest metro stop, but there is a new one being built which will be a lot nearer.

We didn't use the hotel's restaurant and bar in the evening but the breakfast was very good.

Overall I can't recommend this place highly enough. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t0ria123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

i loved courtyard 7 hotel. it's in a great area - on a sidestreet off a cool shopping area where some shops were routinely open past midnight. the rooms come with a pretty decent breakfast buffet that included made-to-order eggs. the room was large and had charming traditional furniture. the front desk staff, though, were what made my stay particularly great. they were extraordinarily helpful and spoke perfect english. i had a great stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yrstruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We arrived after midnight and were a little apprehensive when the cab driver chucked us out in a dark alley. But just around the corner was the lovely Courtyard 7, with hospitable staff, awesome layout and funky Chinese vibe. The room was a little small and left us tripping over suitcases, but the bathroom was awesome. The location was both the best and worst part - right in a cool alleyway of shops, bars and restaurants...but a place that cab drivers HATE to take you. Half the time we'd show them the address and get this NO! from them. Best thing you can do is show them the map and gesture that they can drop you at the end of the alley and walk in. Overall, this was a fun way to avoid a "mega-Western" hotel but still have the comforts of a soft bed, American breakfast and helpful staff. Definite thumbs up...the only thing keeping from "five stars" was the size of the room...but we were never in it anyway.

Room Tip: Be sweet to the huskies who hang around!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbcbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

All the raves about this unusual place are fair. BUT you will be hard-pressed to find a taxi driver who will take you here. It is something about the location on a narrow street, even though there are fairly big streets just meters away. The drivers are simply frightened away. What the management needs to learn, if they want to sustain a Western clientele, is that they must indicate major landmarks on a map for taxidrivers- and don't let a single guest leave the hotel without one. I wasted two hours of my time getting back to the hotel, instead of a 10 to 15 min. cab ride. Also incurred major roaming charges getting telephone directions that didn't involve a cab. The management was 'kind' enough in the end to suggest I offer a cab driver 10x the fare next time...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank biketune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,520 in Beijing
571 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#35 of 6,520 in Beijing
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,300 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#94 of 6,520 in Beijing
423 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Property: Courtyard 7
Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#22 Family Hotel in Beijing
#68 Business Hotel in Beijing
#136 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Courtyard 7 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing