We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible History, Incredible Service”
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard 7
Ranked #23 of 6,520 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible History, Incredible Service”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Staying in a Hutong, or Alleyway in Beijing can be quite daunting for a driver from another part of China.... But this was no problem for us... After our sweet driver could not get his bearings, he called our hotel and the next thing we knew, a man and woman, dressed in smart uniforms walked right up to our car, took our giant suitcases, and began to walk through the crowded streets of Beijing with a smile on their faces. We tagged along unable to control our laughter at the hilarious situation... When we arrived at the precious historic property, they informed us that they wanted to upgrade us to their best room. We never did get the reason but we were so pleased we decided to not worry about it. The rooms of this hotel face inward to the main courtyard. You leave the hectic pace, crowded streets, and honking horns of Beijing and walk into total silence and peace.The staff treats like you like you are their only guest. This hotel, I hate to call it a hotel, is absolutely stunning and steeped in history. The complimentary breakfast are amazing. If you are in Beijing I would highly suggest ignoring the lovely hotels and step back in time if just for a shirt while. You will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    231
    23
    4
    3
See reviews for
103
350
56
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my Mum for three nights. After pushing our way through the hustle and bustle of the Beijing streets, stepping into Courtyard 7 was like a breath of fresh air. Staff were extremely helpful and breakfast is excellent. While it says it's continental, they also offer eggs and other hot items. The main courtyard is a beautiful space to relax and unwind, and made even better by the 2 beautiful husky dogs that live there too. The only downside to our stay was our room position. We were behind the main courtyard at the very end, which meant our view was piles of tools, building materials etc. not sure if it is always there, or some renovations were taking place. The traditional rooms are beautiful and bathrooms fantastic too. We stayed in a standard room which was a little small for us, so next time, would think of upgrading to a bigger room. Apart from that, our stay was excellent and would definitely stay here again. Very quiet and in a great location to shops, restaurants etc.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Charming courtyard hotel just off a busy street, but very quiet and peaceful, very helpful and friendly staff
Clean rooms, lovely shower room, spacious courtyard to sit and relax
Good range of food at buffet breakfast

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gimpytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I always like to experience the "true character" of a place when traveling, So my recent trip to Beijing and staying here in the Hutong gives you exactly that.....an "Old Beijing" experience but with modern comforts, the best of both worlds really. I had a smallish but very comfortable room with a 4-poster bed and although small it was perfect for my needs. The bathroom was clean and the provided bathrobes was a welcome touch. The English speaking staff were very friendly and offered any help they could when approached,
Being in the Hutong could make it slightly difficult to get to and away from with taxis as the street market at the end of the street is very vibrant and can be very busy, which for me was a real highlight of staying here. The staff again though are very helpful with this.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Great location - right off of Hutong alley. A bit of a hike to the subway, close to currency exchange.

I LOVED the feel of this place - lots of courtyards with a very traditional Chinese feel. The room was small but clean. For westerners, the "futon on a wood plank" may be a bit hard to get used to - but if you are looking for a non-western experience, this is what you will get. Bathrooms were thankfully super modern.

Staff was very helpful - they arranged a Great Wall tour for us; car arrived on time and the driver was very accommodating.

Room Tip: If you can, book a room with a window. The windowless rooms may be cheap, but you feel a little clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonkoping, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This hotel has a perfect location in the Hutong, the old part of Beijing. The rooms still have the old style which helps keeping the feeling of old time while the bathrooms are renovated in a modern way.

The staff is really nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allie848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel is literally right in the Hutong. The Hutong is the old part of Beijing. The street that this hotel is on, is one of the most famous and is heritage protected. The hotel itself feels like a step back in time. Yet the bathrooms are modern with seamless glass. the breakfast is excellent although very little local cuisine. the staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. we were so fortunate to have found this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoriatraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#42 of 6,520 in Beijing
571 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#35 of 6,520 in Beijing
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,520 in Beijing
1,301 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#97 of 6,520 in Beijing
423 reviews
Houhai
Shichahai Shadow Art Performance Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Property: Courtyard 7
Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#22 Family Hotel in Beijing
#68 Business Hotel in Beijing
#136 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard 7 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing