We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service in China”
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard 7
Ranked #42 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

After travelling with on a group tour through China the last three weeks, we were on our own in Beijing. The hotel is located on a side street of a lovely hectic Hutong-street, not more then a 20 min walk from the exit of the forbidden city. Have the taxi drop you of at the north side of the Hutong-street and take the first street on the right after Starbucks. The hotel has no sign on the front door other then saying nr. 7.
We were greeted in english and the entire staff smiled and were incredably friendly the entire stay. The hotel is very nice, quiet and has a great mix of old and new style. Definately something else, and I would recommend this experience to everyone!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Birger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014

Superb. Staff could not have been more helpful. Good breakfast. Wonderful classical courtyard which is a haven of peace in busy Beijing. Subway accessible nearby. Excellent value for money. Our first few days were in the rear Courtyard where the unmarried girls of the family used to live which are stylish but small, but for our return, they kindly upgraded us to the master's rooms in the front courtyard.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilMMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We only stayed here for 1 night but we wish it had been longer. The hotel feels like you have walked back in time to the beautiful courtyard of Chinas past. The service was outstanding at the reception! The room was small but the bathroom big. Bed comfy and romantic. THE BEST THING IS THE INCREDIBLE HUTONG LOCATION!!!! We loved it :)A Must stay if willing to pay more for comfort and location on your trip. My only complaint is a funny smell in the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Staying in a Hutong, or Alleyway in Beijing can be quite daunting for a driver from another part of China.... But this was no problem for us... After our sweet driver could not get his bearings, he called our hotel and the next thing we knew, a man and woman, dressed in smart uniforms walked right up to our car, took our giant suitcases, and began to walk through the crowded streets of Beijing with a smile on their faces. We tagged along unable to control our laughter at the hilarious situation... When we arrived at the precious historic property, they informed us that they wanted to upgrade us to their best room. We never did get the reason but we were so pleased we decided to not worry about it. The rooms of this hotel face inward to the main courtyard. You leave the hectic pace, crowded streets, and honking horns of Beijing and walk into total silence and peace.The staff treats like you like you are their only guest. This hotel, I hate to call it a hotel, is absolutely stunning and steeped in history. The complimentary breakfast are amazing. If you are in Beijing I would highly suggest ignoring the lovely hotels and step back in time if just for a shirt while. You will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed here with my Mum for three nights. After pushing our way through the hustle and bustle of the Beijing streets, stepping into Courtyard 7 was like a breath of fresh air. Staff were extremely helpful and breakfast is excellent. While it says it's continental, they also offer eggs and other hot items. The main courtyard is a beautiful space to relax and unwind, and made even better by the 2 beautiful husky dogs that live there too. The only downside to our stay was our room position. We were behind the main courtyard at the very end, which meant our view was piles of tools, building materials etc. not sure if it is always there, or some renovations were taking place. The traditional rooms are beautiful and bathrooms fantastic too. We stayed in a standard room which was a little small for us, so next time, would think of upgrading to a bigger room. Apart from that, our stay was excellent and would definitely stay here again. Very quiet and in a great location to shops, restaurants etc.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Charming courtyard hotel just off a busy street, but very quiet and peaceful, very helpful and friendly staff
Clean rooms, lovely shower room, spacious courtyard to sit and relax
Good range of food at buffet breakfast

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gimpytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I always like to experience the "true character" of a place when traveling, So my recent trip to Beijing and staying here in the Hutong gives you exactly that.....an "Old Beijing" experience but with modern comforts, the best of both worlds really. I had a smallish but very comfortable room with a 4-poster bed and although small it was perfect for my needs. The bathroom was clean and the provided bathrobes was a welcome touch. The English speaking staff were very friendly and offered any help they could when approached,
Being in the Hutong could make it slightly difficult to get to and away from with taxis as the street market at the end of the street is very vibrant and can be very busy, which for me was a real highlight of staying here. The staff again though are very helpful with this.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#35 of 6,556 in Beijing
511 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#15 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,335 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#40 of 6,556 in Beijing
580 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#108 of 6,556 in Beijing
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#22 Family Hotel in Beijing
#47 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#68 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £74 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard 7 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing