We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven of peace”
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard 7
Ranked #20 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Haven of peace”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Hectic busy Beijing- a busy, popular hutong street with street food stalls selling everything imaginable and some not!
Fifty meters off this Main Street and once through the door - A different world. The Staff always pleasant and helpful, even the cleaners who when not busy with their duties would brush the courtyards and clear any stray leaf.
Comments about rooms are size etc are accurate but they are traditional and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vinnymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    229
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
102
346
56
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Housed in a beautiful traditional quadrangle building, this hotel is located in a small hutong (alley) in the Dongcheng touristic district. Our standard room was on the small side but spotlessly clean and decorated with style. The ensuite bathroom was very stylish and had a big glass-enclosed shower stall (no bathtub) with plenty of hot water all the time. We spent 4 nights and left for an overnight trip to the Great Wall before coming back again for another night at the Courtyard 7. On our return, they upgraded us to a deluxe room (which was much bigger).

In the morning, there was a very good breakfast buffet with enough choice including omelettes made on demand. Staff was welcoming and friendly and spoke good english. It was nice to have free bikes (there was always a lot of them available).

The hotel is very close to the Nanluoguxiang pedestrian hutong and about a 15-minute-walk to both the Drum and Bell Towers.

Be sure to dine at Dali Courtyard (chinese cuisine), located not very far from the hotel (about a 15-minute-walk). It's probably the best meal I had in Beijing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

You would never know you were in a very busy city if you stay in Courtyard 7. It is not in the prettiest street but the hotel is totally charming and the staff brilliant. The rooms are not big and there is no wardrobe but we were not staying long enough to need one. We had a lovely four poster bed and everything is very clean with complimentary water and slippers. Outside the lanes come alive at night with good restaurants at very modest prices.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed the location of this hotel. It is off a famous hutong area and there is so much to walk to. The hotel is in an old style house and it is like you are stepping back in time. A beautiful courtyard and classic rooms with antique furniture. The staff is very friendly and speaks English very well. They even had a courtyard concert while we were there. I really like the nostalgia of this place. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. The breakfast was decent. A fun way to see Beijing!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjackson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

After travelling with on a group tour through China the last three weeks, we were on our own in Beijing. The hotel is located on a side street of a lovely hectic Hutong-street, not more then a 20 min walk from the exit of the forbidden city. Have the taxi drop you of at the north side of the Hutong-street and take the first street on the right after Starbucks. The hotel has no sign on the front door other then saying nr. 7.
We were greeted in english and the entire staff smiled and were incredably friendly the entire stay. The hotel is very nice, quiet and has a great mix of old and new style. Definately something else, and I would recommend this experience to everyone!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Birger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Superb. Staff could not have been more helpful. Good breakfast. Wonderful classical courtyard which is a haven of peace in busy Beijing. Subway accessible nearby. Excellent value for money. Our first few days were in the rear Courtyard where the unmarried girls of the family used to live which are stylish but small, but for our return, they kindly upgraded us to the master's rooms in the front courtyard.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilMMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BANGKOK
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We only stayed here for 1 night but we wish it had been longer. The hotel feels like you have walked back in time to the beautiful courtyard of Chinas past. The service was outstanding at the reception! The room was small but the bathroom big. Bed comfy and romantic. THE BEST THING IS THE INCREDIBLE HUTONG LOCATION!!!! We loved it :)A Must stay if willing to pay more for comfort and location on your trip. My only complaint is a funny smell in the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,390 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,483 in Beijing
566 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#26 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,866 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,483 in Beijing
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Property: Courtyard 7
Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#22 Family Hotel in Beijing
#27 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#68 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Courtyard 7 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing