We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“time-travelling in beijing”
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard 7
Ranked #42 of 6,565 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 May 2014

cortyard 7 was truly an exceptional lodging experience in beijing for me! next to a very popular nanluoguxiang street in the very midst of historical hutongs and youthful crowds this ancient real cortyard welcomes you with a calamity and hospitality of a real (wealthy) family. rooms are spacious and breath with old chinese lux - wooden four-poster bed, silk screens, old massive furniture. first i stayed in the room with no window - and it didn't actually bother me that much, just a bit of losing the sense of time)). then i moved into a room with a terrace - and it was nice too (ah that yellow little sofa against the window!). all the facilities you can imagine for a good 4 stars hotel are there, they even provide with the electric plug adaptor - nice little gesture. moreover - the hotel runs on solar energy and utilise the geotermal heat, such a forward thinking for their ancient set up. there are 2 huskies hanging around - however staff was very caring and asked me whether i am ok with the dogs or they can lock them in during my stay. the hotel also suggested to take an excursion around hutongs - and it appeared to be a really cool experience, since the guide was not a usual tour guide, but a wonderful matthew, scottish photographer residing in beijing for the last 7 years, who provided us with such a beautiful local insights as well as with a tour on his favorite places in the city. amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlyonaEvseeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

I moved from a business hotel to this hutong location for my weekend in Beijing and I am SO glad I did!! I'll never stay anywhere else in Beijing when touristing. The location is ideal for access to the Forbidden City and the rest of Beijing (close to the 6 and 8 Metro lines) and is right off two main pedestrian shopping/eating/bar streets that tourists and locals alike fill every day and night. Even so, when you are in the hotel it is quiet and peaceful in the wonderful courtyards! A wonderful oasis after a busy day with absolutely terrific staff that are so welcoming and helpful. (This, in fact, is almost my main reason for recommending even though the restored 300 year old historic property is beautiful, traditional and comfortable!!) My cab dropped me off in the wrong location - you can't drive up to the hotel due to the pedestrian streets - even though my colleagues showed him on the map, confirmed he understood, etc. With 20% left on my battery, standing with all my luggage and not speaking any Chinese I called the hotel and tried to convey where I was...no luck so he asked to speak to someone nearby...long story short he RUNS to where I was to find me and walks me to the hotel. I was shocked and so thrilled with the girls' help and him going the extra mile (literally).

The hotel has a nice affordable restaurant and your breakfast is included (made to order eggs, 3 warm dishes, toast, fruit, cheeses, coffee and tea) where you can also enjoy a cold beer at the end of the day. There are 3 courtyards where you sit and enjoy the location - it is a completely restored and modernized location that gives you the best of history and modern conveniences. My room (#8) had a private courtyard and a sauna in the bathroom. The bed was traditional but so comfortable and there was a TV, AC, free wifi (slow and intermittent as in most places in China) and hot pot with instant coffee, tea, creamer.

The location is terrific: right off the Nanluaguxiang Alley which is a crazy fun pedestrian street offering a huge array of eateries, bars, shops, street food and stalls (even a Starbucks if you're so inclined), ATMs and the Metro at the end. Try the Metro!!! Easy, fast, cheap, clean and efficient. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The basic rooms are in the last courtyard - smaller and had one been available I would have selected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shezswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had a brief stay here last week whilst passing through Beijing, the staff are excellent, friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble. I've stayed at several Beijing courtyard hotels now and I would say Courtyard 7 hits the mark, it has all the facilities you need, it's very clean and comfortable, the breakfast choice is very good and the courtyard location is a little haven amidst the chaos and bustle of the Hutong. I say they've hit the mark as their rates are considerably cheaper than similar close by Hutong courtyard hotels that I would regard as overpriced, Courtyard 7 is great value. If you've convinced yourself the Hutong is where you want to stay then I don't believe you will go wrong staying at Courtyard 7.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Be sure to have a translation of the location of the hotel as it is so well hidden that taxi drivers and rickshaw riders have difficulty finding it. Expect to carry your bags for the last few meters as it will be quicker than waiting for the cab to force its way through the throng of people. Once in reception and the several courtyards beyond on the way to your room everything is peace and calm and a world away from life outside. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. They are able to arrange transport to the Great wall and airport. The restaurant/bar was staffed by non English speakers but that did not matter and they always had a friendly smile. Breakfast was excellent being a combination of buffet and individually cooked hot fare.
The rooms were not large but the bed was, I think that only double bedded rooms are available so if you are expecting twin beds check first. The walk in shower was large and there was more than enough space for washing etc. Its a pity that such a hotel is so far away as I would be back to visit time and again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Hectic busy Beijing- a busy, popular hutong street with street food stalls selling everything imaginable and some not!
Fifty meters off this Main Street and once through the door - A different world. The Staff always pleasant and helpful, even the cleaners who when not busy with their duties would brush the courtyards and clear any stray leaf.
Comments about rooms are size etc are accurate but they are traditional and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinnymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Housed in a beautiful traditional quadrangle building, this hotel is located in a small hutong (alley) in the Dongcheng touristic district. Our standard room was on the small side but spotlessly clean and decorated with style. The ensuite bathroom was very stylish and had a big glass-enclosed shower stall (no bathtub) with plenty of hot water all the time. We spent 4 nights and left for an overnight trip to the Great Wall before coming back again for another night at the Courtyard 7. On our return, they upgraded us to a deluxe room (which was much bigger).

In the morning, there was a very good breakfast buffet with enough choice including omelettes made on demand. Staff was welcoming and friendly and spoke good english. It was nice to have free bikes (there was always a lot of them available).

The hotel is very close to the Nanluoguxiang pedestrian hutong and about a 15-minute-walk to both the Drum and Bell Towers.

Be sure to dine at Dali Courtyard (chinese cuisine), located not very far from the hotel (about a 15-minute-walk). It's probably the best meal I had in Beijing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

You would never know you were in a very busy city if you stay in Courtyard 7. It is not in the prettiest street but the hotel is totally charming and the staff brilliant. The rooms are not big and there is no wardrobe but we were not staying long enough to need one. We had a lovely four poster bed and everything is very clean with complimentary water and slippers. Outside the lanes come alive at night with good restaurants at very modest prices.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#35 of 6,565 in Beijing
515 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#19 of 6,565 in Beijing
1,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
Hotel Cote Cour Beijing
#74 of 6,565 in Beijing
253 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#114 of 6,565 in Beijing
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#22 Family Hotel in Beijing
#56 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#67 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £74 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard 7 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing