We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard 7
Ranked #20 of 6,437 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Our stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the court yard during our recent trip to China. What a fabulous place! You feel as if you are sleeping in a rich merchants traditional home as a guest. We were there for 3 nights and our accommodations were perfect. The A/C was cool and water was warm. The room and areas were very clean and comfortable. The dining area is lovely and the food was good. The location is great to be in the hub of things. It was the perfect end to an interesting holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    215
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
92
326
54
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The staff were really friendly and helpful. We had reserved a train tickets to be delivered and there was no problem getting them when we arrived. The rooms are small but quiet and comfortable.
The breakfast was good.

Be prepared for the fact that taxis have difficulty getting to the narrow street and you may need to walk a few blocks from the main street. Location is very central and not too far from the subway.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrienneandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and everything was AMAZING. We reserved with 4 months in advanced and there was only one room left, the smallest one, but even though it was everything excellent. The only thing that would be a "but" is that our room did not had natural light.
All the staff were always willing to help us with any request we had. When you access to the hotel everything is like living the old China in an original Hutong. The restaurant is nice, you can have breakfast inside the restaurant or in the small yard before accesing to the room area. The breakfast is good. The main courtyard is very beautiful, and the rooms with all you may need to have a pleasant stay. The locations could not be better, just 8 minutes walking to the subway, 15 minutes to the Bell and Drum Tower. Close to the Confusius Temple. Around the hotel you may find many stores for souvenirs, clothes, desing wallets, I wanted to buy everything. Even the hotel is next to one of the main streets of the Hutongs the noise will never bother inside the hotel. Note: you can only get to the hotel street walking, but it's just two blocks from a street where the taxi should leave you. You will not regret staying at Courtyard 7!!!! And they have two beautiful dogs!!!

Room Tip: The smallest room do not have natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaVas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Great location close to Forbidden City and metro train system. Clean and comfortable, and remarkably quiet given its proximity to busy tourist shopping and restaurant strip. Helpful customer service. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouKoschmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

cortyard 7 was truly an exceptional lodging experience in beijing for me! next to a very popular nanluoguxiang street in the very midst of historical hutongs and youthful crowds this ancient real cortyard welcomes you with a calamity and hospitality of a real (wealthy) family. rooms are spacious and breath with old chinese lux - wooden four-poster bed, silk screens, old massive furniture. first i stayed in the room with no window - and it didn't actually bother me that much, just a bit of losing the sense of time)). then i moved into a room with a terrace - and it was nice too (ah that yellow little sofa against the window!). all the facilities you can imagine for a good 4 stars hotel are there, they even provide with the electric plug adaptor - nice little gesture. moreover - the hotel runs on solar energy and utilise the geotermal heat, such a forward thinking for their ancient set up. there are 2 huskies hanging around - however staff was very caring and asked me whether i am ok with the dogs or they can lock them in during my stay. the hotel also suggested to take an excursion around hutongs - and it appeared to be a really cool experience, since the guide was not a usual tour guide, but a wonderful matthew, scottish photographer residing in beijing for the last 7 years, who provided us with such a beautiful local insights as well as with a tour on his favorite places in the city. amazing!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyonaEvseeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

I moved from a business hotel to this hutong location for my weekend in Beijing and I am SO glad I did!! I'll never stay anywhere else in Beijing when touristing. The location is ideal for access to the Forbidden City and the rest of Beijing (close to the 6 and 8 Metro lines) and is right off two main pedestrian shopping/eating/bar streets that tourists and locals alike fill every day and night. Even so, when you are in the hotel it is quiet and peaceful in the wonderful courtyards! A wonderful oasis after a busy day with absolutely terrific staff that are so welcoming and helpful. (This, in fact, is almost my main reason for recommending even though the restored 300 year old historic property is beautiful, traditional and comfortable!!) My cab dropped me off in the wrong location - you can't drive up to the hotel due to the pedestrian streets - even though my colleagues showed him on the map, confirmed he understood, etc. With 20% left on my battery, standing with all my luggage and not speaking any Chinese I called the hotel and tried to convey where I was...no luck so he asked to speak to someone nearby...long story short he RUNS to where I was to find me and walks me to the hotel. I was shocked and so thrilled with the girls' help and him going the extra mile (literally).

The hotel has a nice affordable restaurant and your breakfast is included (made to order eggs, 3 warm dishes, toast, fruit, cheeses, coffee and tea) where you can also enjoy a cold beer at the end of the day. There are 3 courtyards where you sit and enjoy the location - it is a completely restored and modernized location that gives you the best of history and modern conveniences. My room (#8) had a private courtyard and a sauna in the bathroom. The bed was traditional but so comfortable and there was a TV, AC, free wifi (slow and intermittent as in most places in China) and hot pot with instant coffee, tea, creamer.

The location is terrific: right off the Nanluaguxiang Alley which is a crazy fun pedestrian street offering a huge array of eateries, bars, shops, street food and stalls (even a Starbucks if you're so inclined), ATMs and the Metro at the end. Try the Metro!!! Easy, fast, cheap, clean and efficient. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: The basic rooms are in the last courtyard - smaller and had one been available I would have selected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shezswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Had a brief stay here last week whilst passing through Beijing, the staff are excellent, friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble. I've stayed at several Beijing courtyard hotels now and I would say Courtyard 7 hits the mark, it has all the facilities you need, it's very clean and comfortable, the breakfast choice is very good and the courtyard location is a little haven amidst the chaos and bustle of the Hutong. I say they've hit the mark as their rates are considerably cheaper than similar close by Hutong courtyard hotels that I would regard as overpriced, Courtyard 7 is great value. If you've convinced yourself the Hutong is where you want to stay then I don't believe you will go wrong staying at Courtyard 7.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,437 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,780 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#24 of 6,437 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Property: Courtyard 7
Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#17 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#22 Family Hotel in Beijing
#69 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Courtyard 7 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing