We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Courtyard 7”
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard 7
Ranked #20 of 6,483 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Courtyard 7”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful. A lot of advice and assistance in booking trips is available on request. Their recommended drivers are excellent and reasonably priced... No surprises nor additional excursions....what you ask for is what you get!
Our room was spacious (only booked a standard room) and well equipped.
The room and courtyards were immaculate.
Breakfast was superb with a wide choice of food available ( my partner is vegetarian and I enjoy both meat and vegetarian foods) the only problem we had was what not to eat!!!
We only ate at the hotel 2 nights, both occasions the staff adjusted the standard menu to our choice.
The room was very clean and the service was excellent ( we stayed 5 nights) and the level of attention to detail was brilliant.
If you want an oasis of tranquility in a busy and authentic area of Beijing this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    229
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
102
346
56
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I actually did not know that this amazing restaurant that left such a tasty mark on my palate was part of a hotel. My parents had our guide make reservations for lunch after visiting the Bell Tower and Drum Tower. Our guide, my parents, and our family of 4 ate a lunch to be remembered. We loved every single dish. They were all so fresh, so flavorful, and I are everything even being on a diet; it was THAT good. Our children ages 3 and 8 LOVED the food and the ice cream was just heaven. I'd honestly return to Beijing just for this food.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank txspicytuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Not an easy place to find, but sooo glad that we booked this place. The Guys on reception are really helpful, and we were really surprised that even though we booked a superior room we were upgraded to room No. 8 which is a suite!! complete with a sauna - not that we needed it in 35 plus temps!!
This place is very charming, and a complete contrast to all the swish hi rise hotels that we stayed in Hong Kong and Shanghai, which is exactly what we wanted. The breakfast/dinning room was very charming, and the breakfast fare was adequate, and the courtyard feel was again very charming.

The bed was a little firm, but huge and very clean, as was everything, and a massive plus was there was 'no' smell.
Unlike the repugnant stench that was going on all around in the outside lane ways. Despite being a reasonably upmarket area, it stunk to high heaven (from the public toilets and all the parents letting their children defficate and pee anywhere an everywhere) All the shops sold absolute tat, at ridiculous prices, and be very careful where you eat as I had food poisoning twice in four days!!!
This hotel was a haven of peace and quiet.
Also the breakfast girls were lovely, and loved meeting the resident Huskies.

Loved having use of the free bikes - it was amazing being able to bike around at our own pace even if it was on our last day for a couple of hours

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redtomtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

What a delightful place! If you want a great, cultural experience and easy access to other sites in the area then this is the place to be. Very nice people, peaceful location and pleasant rooms. Hutong tour with Matthew Kelly highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulR142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at Courtyard 8 for three nights at the end of a two week Asian vacation. My family told me they much preferred the local charm of this hotel amongst the Hutongs (alleys) to the other hotels we stayed in.

The staff were very cheerful and eager to help. The restaurant was good for both breakfast and dinner. The location among all the shops, restaurants and major tourist attractions was excellent.

The biggest negative of this property is the accessibility. It is located in a narrow alley, off a very busy pedestrian street (with very few cars) about half a mile from the major road. So if you have a lot of luggage that is not easy to carry, you need to make sure you will arrive off peak (say before 4pm) before the streets fill up with shoppers. In the scheme of things this was not a big deal but you should be aware of it.

I highly recommend this hotel for your vacation to Beijing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRO3839
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Courtyard 7 was situated in a traditional Chinese alley way off the popular shopping area called Nanluoguxiang. I visited the area a couple of years ago and the street has since become very commercialised and a lot of people.

That aside, its close to a subway so convienient for transportation, the Drum and Bell tower and the back lakes.

The room itself was adequate with a small private courtyard area. Breakfast was also adequate.

The bathroom had a strange smell but understood the plumbing in the hutongs were a little antiquated.

Paid around $100 for the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingRose2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the court yard during our recent trip to China. What a fabulous place! You feel as if you are sleeping in a rich merchants traditional home as a guest. We were there for 3 nights and our accommodations were perfect. The A/C was cool and water was warm. The room and areas were very clean and comfortable. The dining area is lovely and the food was good. The location is great to be in the hub of things. It was the perfect end to an interesting holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,389 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#17 of 6,483 in Beijing
1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#43 of 6,483 in Beijing
566 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#27 of 6,483 in Beijing
2,866 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,483 in Beijing
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Property: Courtyard 7
Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#22 Family Hotel in Beijing
#28 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#68 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Courtyard 7 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing