We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel - go to stay in the heart of the hutong”
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Courtyard 7
Ranked #45 of 6,568 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Courtyard 7 is a real gem of a hotel. We decided to stay there with our children rather than a standard 'western' hotel and are extremely pleased we did. It is a lovely calm quiet place with beautiful rooms.
Be aware that you will need to walk approx 100-200m with your luggage as you can't get cars to the door but do not let this put you off as it is a huge advantage to be in the middle of the hutong.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Julia_Jon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

The hotel is a series of courtyards in a traditional courtyard house; the bedrooms are a bit unusual as a result - they're the old house rooms, refurbished, and they're quite charming. They're air-conditioned.

The hotel staff couldn't have been more friendly or more helpful and there was always someone on hand who spoke English. The breakfasts are fine - you can have a Chinese-ish breakfast (noodles etc) or a European-style, which is a reasonable approximation of what you might find in the West. We ate in the restaurant one evening and it was good.

The hotel is located in the hutongs (the traditional narrow Beijing streets, mostly redeveloped now), just off a very busy pedestrianised tourist-thronged street but it's very quiet itself and the neghbourhood's very interesting.

I couldn't have wished for a better introduction to our holiday in China.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DavidJonesBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

In the hearth of the Hutong, this place is very quiet and the rooms are very clean. We booked a superior room and we get an upgrade for the suite with a private Sauna. The service is very good and people help you with any questions. One regret : the breakfast could be more "Chnesee" rather than western food.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Natandaymerico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

After extensive searching on tripadvisor, we were excited to find Courtyard 7. Location, email communication, personal greeting at cab to bring us into hutong, clean, breakfast was fine, WIFI, assistance at front desk to write down restaurants, etc in Chinese! One great advantage was.....they had Giant bikes you could reserve (5). We booked a guide through the hotel who came right to the hotel and took us around for 2 days...what fun! No need for maps or guide books,u spoke English proficiently (Henry). Thanks Henry. Henry took us to spots we asked, lunch, water breaks whatever we wanted. Now that was way better than a bus tour or trying to navigate ourselves. Cycling in Beijing was the way to go for our group if 4. (Mom and 3 young adults: age 21, 22, 26)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank loveexploring123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The staff are excellent, very friendly and helpful. A lot of advice and assistance in booking trips is available on request. Their recommended drivers are excellent and reasonably priced... No surprises nor additional excursions....what you ask for is what you get!
Our room was spacious (only booked a standard room) and well equipped.
The room and courtyards were immaculate.
Breakfast was superb with a wide choice of food available ( my partner is vegetarian and I enjoy both meat and vegetarian foods) the only problem we had was what not to eat!!!
We only ate at the hotel 2 nights, both occasions the staff adjusted the standard menu to our choice.
The room was very clean and the service was excellent ( we stayed 5 nights) and the level of attention to detail was brilliant.
If you want an oasis of tranquility in a busy and authentic area of Beijing this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I actually did not know that this amazing restaurant that left such a tasty mark on my palate was part of a hotel. My parents had our guide make reservations for lunch after visiting the Bell Tower and Drum Tower. Our guide, my parents, and our family of 4 ate a lunch to be remembered. We loved every single dish. They were all so fresh, so flavorful, and I are everything even being on a diet; it was THAT good. Our children ages 3 and 8 LOVED the food and the ice cream was just heaven. I'd honestly return to Beijing just for this food.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank txspicytuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Not an easy place to find, but sooo glad that we booked this place. The Guys on reception are really helpful, and we were really surprised that even though we booked a superior room we were upgraded to room No. 8 which is a suite!! complete with a sauna - not that we needed it in 35 plus temps!!
This place is very charming, and a complete contrast to all the swish hi rise hotels that we stayed in Hong Kong and Shanghai, which is exactly what we wanted. The breakfast/dinning room was very charming, and the breakfast fare was adequate, and the courtyard feel was again very charming.

The bed was a little firm, but huge and very clean, as was everything, and a massive plus was there was 'no' smell.
Unlike the repugnant stench that was going on all around in the outside lane ways. Despite being a reasonably upmarket area, it stunk to high heaven (from the public toilets and all the parents letting their children defficate and pee anywhere an everywhere) All the shops sold absolute tat, at ridiculous prices, and be very careful where you eat as I had food poisoning twice in four days!!!
This hotel was a haven of peace and quiet.
Also the breakfast girls were lovely, and loved meeting the resident Huskies.

Loved having use of the free bikes - it was amazing being able to bike around at our own pace even if it was on our last day for a couple of hours

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redtomtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#38 of 6,568 in Beijing
518 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#111 of 6,568 in Beijing
437 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#41 of 6,568 in Beijing
585 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#19 of 6,568 in Beijing
1,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#19 Family Hotel in Beijing
#67 Business Hotel in Beijing
#69 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £73 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard 7 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing