We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hospitality great location reasonable price but not for long” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard 7
Ranked #20 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality great location reasonable price but not for long”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

The rooms are great, the location is classic Beijing neighborhood, the ambience is wonderful. The cab may not be able to find it easily but keep insisting and don't get out until you are familiar with the location. Beijing cab drivers are generally helpful and you'll get there eventually. Cabby with a cell phone is a big advantage.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    214
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
92
325
54
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

Courtyard 7 is located near all the main sights. The accommodation is of a high standard with all the mod cons you would need for a few days stay. They offer free bike hire, which we used for a couple of the days we stayed and thought was the nicest way to get around Beijing. The breakfast was good and one evening we had dinner in the restaurant which was very nice indeed. All of the staff were very helpful and were happy to help us with booking trains, etc. When we return to Beijing - which we will because Beijing is a wonderful city with so much to see and do - we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

Courtyard 7 is FANTASTIC! It is a quadrangle home in one of the main hutongs on Beijing. Although the taxi driver had a difficult time finding it, the location was fantastic; lots of shops and restaurants nearby. I would suggest writing down the hotel's phone number so the taxi driver can call them if necessary.

The rooms are beautiful. They are on the smallish side, but this is made-up by the fact that the furniture is so ornate and authentic. There is always hot water, and it is extremely clean... in fact, has geometric heating.

The staff is exceedingly helpful, but not intrusive. The breakfast is fantastic - lots of fruit and a chinese selection as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizardo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

Sitting in the main room of the hotel, I had a brief encounter with a man who obviously had stayed at the Courtyard 7 hotel many times. After a stay myself, I can see his eagerness to return. The staff is friendly, efficient and will go out of their way to assist in any way possible. The rooms are cozy and clean-- they retain all the antique feel of the historical property without giving up any modern amenities. Wonderful breakfast. Near to the Forbidden City and amazing historical neighborhood location with dozens of tiny trendy shops, restaurants, bars, etc. Will be just like the afore mentioned gentleman and stay every time I go to Beijing.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepid_mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

I was surprised to find this hotel via Hotels.com - and at an excellent price. The location is wonderful - right downtown in the hutong district near all the must-see sites.
The courtyard's style is wonderful. The room design lovely and the bath surprisingly modern.

My only words of caution are to have precise directions for the taxi. Our taxi couldn't find the hotel - and we had the address in Chinese!

Also, if you are looking for a big soft Western bed and room for your 4 pieces of luggage, you should stay somewhere else. This is a small traditional Chinese courtyard. The room is not large. It is cozy.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marymarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2010

This is a courtyard style hotel in one of the remaining hutongs of Beijing. It is very close to the centre, nice walk down Nanluogu Hutong (funky-touristy) to Forbidden City and Jingshan Park. I guess it could be closer to the subway (~15-20 mins walk) but that is a minor inconvenience. The staff were fantastic; we arrived tired at 9am after an overnight train, and offered us a breakfast while they prepared the room for us. The courtyard ambience is excellent, and the room was great: underfloor heating and very comfortable bed. Highly recommended and would certainly choose this hotel again if visiting (central Beijing).

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S-in-Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

Trip Advisor reviews turned me on to this place and we were not disappointed. They were AMAZING with their service - which is rare in China! They arranged taxi pick up at our train station (even changed it without a problem when we caught an earlier train), and they let us have breakfast and check in early. The courtyard rooms are beautiful, lovely bathrooms... free internet - simple but nice breakfast - much better than the Intercontinental's endless mediocre buffet!!! And they gave maps, advice, etc. They arranged our tour to the Great Wall, and made us breakfast to take. The staff are incredible. The hotel is located in a really nice area - lots of very cool little shops, and it's nice to walk around and explore the area. It's not too far from the Forbidden City - a short taxi ride. I really really really recommend that you stay in this hotel. I marked down sleep quality because I could hear the person in the room beside me snoring!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laulaupip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#14 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
Park Plaza Wangfujing
#25 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,778 reviews
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#29 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Property: Courtyard 7
Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#17 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#22 Family Hotel in Beijing
#69 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Courtyard 7 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing