We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much impossible to fault”
Review of Courtyard 7

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard 7
Ranked #42 of 6,556 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2011

As the vast vast majority of reviews on the website have eluded to, this is an excellent hotel. The staff are friendly, attentive, hardworking and speak good English, the hotel itself is very atmospheric and well cared for, the breakfast is generous and good, and the location is superb. The rooms are excellent with good facilities and modern bathrooms, and there is free internet access. I have stayed in a large number of hotels over the years and I personally don't think I've ever received such a good level of service anywhere. One morning we mentioned we were looking to book train tickets, the hotel staff rang up and told us they hadn't yet been released. When we returned to the hotel that evening the hotel had rung again and reserved some tickets for us, without us even requesting it. When we were leaving the staff carried our cases for over 100m to a taxi waiting for us.

A superb hotel, definitely the best I stayed in in China, perhaps the best I have stayed in worldwide. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chammp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2011

Recently, my Chinese friend & I spent several nights at Courtyard 7,
a restored, quadrangle in "The Lanes" near The Forbidden City. For those who love the tradition & cultural value of this area, I would highly recommend a stay in this charming, "old style" bed & breakfast. Although we did not eat at the restaurant, we did enjoy the morning breakfast complete w/ everything one could wish for regardless of Nationality. I would recommend staying in the "Special" or VIP" rooms, though my friend stayed in a "standard" room which although smaller was quite comfortable. When I return to Beijing, I will again stay here. The surroundings, atmosphere & historical feeling . .as well as service are special, and I would recommend to anyone interested in gaining a hands-on experience of the "old China".

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MINNESOTAJOHNSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Me and my boyfriend booked this hotel in August 2008 for the Bejing Olympics as he was a Athlete in the games and there were no reviews at the time so my travel agent did not want to book it for me but since it was a really good price compared to other hotels when the olympics were on i just said let's go for it, how bad can it be. When i arrived in Bejing the cab driver took about 2 and a half hrs trying to find this place as it was very unknown and very new. Once we got there @ about 3am the staff came out and helped us with our bags and we were pleastly surprised on how naturally beautiful it really was. Once i got into the room there were lots of bottled water, fruit and extra blankets if need be. The staff were amazing everyday making sure we had everything that we needed, the owner made us homemade dumplings one morning and i couldnt believe how DELISH they were, i asked for him to make it again and no...lol Too good to be true those dumplings!! Anyway if your looking for a wicked value for a hotel in Beijing and love to explore then this Hotel is your hotel!! Its in a great central spot so its easy to get anywhere and the street right beside this hotel as so many lil shops and stores, restaurants and tons of lil pubs which we very much enjoyed it all!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanessaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

The rooms are great, the location is classic Beijing neighborhood, the ambience is wonderful. The cab may not be able to find it easily but keep insisting and don't get out until you are familiar with the location. Beijing cab drivers are generally helpful and you'll get there eventually. Cabby with a cell phone is a big advantage.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Courtyard 7 is located near all the main sights. The accommodation is of a high standard with all the mod cons you would need for a few days stay. They offer free bike hire, which we used for a couple of the days we stayed and thought was the nicest way to get around Beijing. The breakfast was good and one evening we had dinner in the restaurant which was very nice indeed. All of the staff were very helpful and were happy to help us with booking trains, etc. When we return to Beijing - which we will because Beijing is a wonderful city with so much to see and do - we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

Courtyard 7 is FANTASTIC! It is a quadrangle home in one of the main hutongs on Beijing. Although the taxi driver had a difficult time finding it, the location was fantastic; lots of shops and restaurants nearby. I would suggest writing down the hotel's phone number so the taxi driver can call them if necessary.

The rooms are beautiful. They are on the smallish side, but this is made-up by the fact that the furniture is so ornate and authentic. There is always hot water, and it is extremely clean... in fact, has geometric heating.

The staff is exceedingly helpful, but not intrusive. The breakfast is fantastic - lots of fruit and a chinese selection as well.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizardo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Sitting in the main room of the hotel, I had a brief encounter with a man who obviously had stayed at the Courtyard 7 hotel many times. After a stay myself, I can see his eagerness to return. The staff is friendly, efficient and will go out of their way to assist in any way possible. The rooms are cozy and clean-- they retain all the antique feel of the historical property without giving up any modern amenities. Wonderful breakfast. Near to the Forbidden City and amazing historical neighborhood location with dozens of tiny trendy shops, restaurants, bars, etc. Will be just like the afore mentioned gentleman and stay every time I go to Beijing.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intrepid_mich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Houhai
The Orchid Hotel
The Orchid Hotel
#35 of 6,556 in Beijing
510 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Double Happiness Beijing Courtyard Hotel
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing 161 Hotel Hulu Courtyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Red Wall Garden Hotel
Red Wall Garden Hotel
#15 of 6,556 in Beijing
1,335 reviews
Houhai
Michael's House
Michael's House
#44 of 6,556 in Beijing
580 reviews
Tian'anmen / Wangfujing
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
Beijing Sihe Courtyard Hotel
#107 of 6,556 in Beijing
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard 7

Address: No.7 Qiangulouyuan Lane, Dongcheng District, Beijing 100009, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Houhai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Beijing
#16 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#22 Family Hotel in Beijing
#49 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
#68 Business Hotel in Beijing
Price Range: £74 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard 7 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard 7 is the first courtyard hotel in Beijing to adopt the Geothermal heat pump system.A typical quadrangle design, Courtyard 7 consists of three rows of courtyards, which occupies an area of 1800 square meters.In Courtyard 7, there are standard, suite, and side rooms. All rooms are bright and clean, private and quiet, and furnished with modern facilities, including telephone, cable TV, internet, etc.. King size flower-caved beds with all antique wooden furniture, modern and clean bathroom, make people not only enjoy their stay, but also can experience the precious and traditional culture of Beijing Si He Yuan. Courtyard 7 utilizes Geothermal heat pump and Solar energy environmental protection equipments to provide 24 hours heat, air condition, and hot water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard 7 Hotel Beijing
Courtyard Hotel 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing