We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than an ideal Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #5 of 6,442 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“More than an ideal Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2011

If you're looking for a bright, refreshing, chic place to stay in Beijing, this is the only place that you can find. (Or if there's another, I'd still suggest you to try the Opposite House first). It's not only because of its branding of its role in the bar area with nice restaurant and food and drinks, but mainly because of its minimal but warm and welcoming touch of design that you just don't want to step out of your room. The bathroom has become the focus of the room that you'd enough walking around, get a can of beer from the mini bar and jump into the tub. The beautifully finished wood throughout the the bath-area and bed-area bring the spaces into one. It's more than a modern flat design and of course, more than just a hotel room.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    136
    25
    6
    4
See reviews for
74
206
71
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

It was "another experience" to stay in The Opposite House for 4 nights. We had a friendly welcome as soon as we arrived and were immediately given a bottle of water each. (Same thing when a friend met us at the lobby). Two of them came up with us to explain about the things in the room. Kevin, one of the male staff walked us to the Mid 8th restaurant on our first evening and made a reservation at Dadong Roast Duck restaurant for the following evening. Every evening when we got back to the hotel, there was a note with a sort of little gift. The free bar, selection of coffee and tea plus chocolates, etc. and a wide screen flat TV helped us relax after a whole day tour of Beijing. A laptap is provided, but for the 1st 3 nights, somebody had to help log on to internet which took time each time and, we couldn't access our skype account - not as modern as the hotel. For breakfast you could choose from the buffet counter or order from the menu; could also ask for fresh orange juice.
One morning one of them greeted us in front the evelevator and said happy birthday to my husband. When we got back in the evening, a beautiful chocolate cake good for at least 8 persons was waiting on the table including all the cutlery needed.
You could google about the hotel if you want to know more about its location which is a very modern area with all the high-end shops, a mall and many local and international restaurants.
We googled The Opposite House before we finalized our reservation. What helped us decide easily was its architecture. One of our sons is an architect and we wanted to take a lot of pictures and talk about it when we got back. We liked the exterior and interior design (cf. website). The doors to the bedrooms are part of the walls - very original. But not all is user friendly. The sofas in the lobby are too deep. It's impossible to rest your back. The reception is like a hole in the wall. Difficult to fill in papers sitting down on the sofa or bending at the low tables. Careful with transparent wall that separates bathroom and sleeping area. I bumped into the edge of the glass wall and almost broke one arm of my eye glasses. Wooden bathtub is lovely to see. But you keep sliding inside if you don't keep your body in the correct position for the tub. Watch the taps/faucet: which one is for the shower/tub, cold/hot? Wooden sinks are very shallow so water splashes out and takes time to drain. It really feels good under the shower though: the effect is like a massage. The abundance of shampoo & conditioner, soap, bath gel & salt, body lotion, and a purse of other toiletries can make up for the "not very functional" of aspects of the bathroom.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the side across the bar or lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evangelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

We have been to their basement restaurant several times before but this is our first stay at their room. We stayed 2 nights at the end of March.
I always loved the design of the hotel. I loved the art display and the spacious lobby areas.
Pros: 1. Location: The hotel is in the Sanlitun area where you have tons of nice restaurants ,bars and eateries around you. Its also close by "The Village" and couple of other shopping centers.
2. The room comes with nice extra amenities. You also have a nicely stocked complimentary snack bar with chocolates, chips and drinks.
3. Free Breakfast. They offer a buffet style free breakfast or you could order from their menu. But the food is not very tasty.
4. Free wifi
Cons: 1. I loved the design of the room but the wood floor makes large popping noise in the morning which woke me up at 6am.
2. The automatic curtain would not close all the way to the bottom which leaves an annoying light gap. It really creates a nuisance in the morning and greatly effect sleep quality.
3. The wood tub looks great but its not too user friendly. The shape and its interior material makes one difficult to enjoy a bath. You just keep sliding inside and have to work hard to maintain balance.

Others: I actually do not experience the unique service other reviewers mentioned. Nobody greet me by my name. I did not see one single smile from the doorman nor anybody else at the lobby area. However, I do get great service from the restaurant. I also toured their fitness center and do not find anything to write about.

Overall, its a comfortable and unique place to stay and you cannot ask for more with its location. I would continue visit their restaurant but would find another place to sleep until they could resolve the automatic curtain issue.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pumax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

I stayed at The Opposite House with my family for three nights during Easter. It was a great stay to relax and stay away from the crowd.

We used the limo for arrival pick up. We were greeted once we stepped out from the plane and were escorted to the custom through a “special” route. A very fast way to reach our limo. Hotel is located at sanlitun village with shops of worldwide brands and also lots of places to eat. Staffs are friendly from doorman to the waitress in restaurant. They treated us like friends rather than guests.

Room was beautiful with contemporary design, spacious bathroom and comfortable bed. My daughter loves the complimentary maxi bar with soft drinks, chocolate and candies. A little gift was sent during turndown every night. The moisturizing face mask was just perfect for the dry weather in Beijing. The restaurants were amazing especially Sureno.

We will stay there again when we are in Beijing next time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank invisible33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

Stayed just one night on the second floor. This is a great hotel. The Japanese architect did a good job. The rooms are spacious and beautifully designed. There's a patchbay with leads for all variety of audio / video inputs into the entertainment system. Complimentary mini bar and bathroom bag are a nice touch. The feel is cool and calm - cool enough not to be over cool. The stainless steel lined pool is at the centre of the design. Float on your back and look up into the open space above illuminated by the pendant like fibre optic lights. Staff are great. Room was very quiet with blackout blinds. Food is pan asian and very good. Club downstairs is worth a visit (very well soundproofed too)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swimmingpoolmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

we were looking to stay in a smaller hotel while visiting Beijing on vacation & I do not believe we could have found better - the design of the hotel & the rooms is quite stylish, pleasing & smart & COMFORTABLE and QUIET - with amenities like complimentary mini-bar - when you check in, and we came directly from the airport & a 13 hour+ plane trip, the lobby called the living room is couch filled and you sit on a couch and a staff person checks you in in a relaxed informal way a good start to our stay - Kelvin Seah' one of the guest experience managers, was an attentive and extremely helpful presence during our stay checking to make sure all was working to ensure a good visit both at the hotel & in Beijing - again we could not have picked better - a great stay - also breakfasts there were the best we had during our two week three other hotels time in China - great staff all round -

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerardNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

One expects a hotel as hipster as The Opposite House to be a little too cool for its own good. But then again, this is the Swire Group, where the name of the game is good service for the sake of good service. Staff are plentiful and friendly. The rooms are elegantly simple with clean wood balancing stark white. The beds are comfortable and the showers so fantastic they’re practically sinful. The mini bar comes stocked with a nice little assortment of sodas, beers, water, and nibbles, all offered free-of-charge.

The hotel boasts are array of dining options, plus it’s located in the Sanlitun Village, so there are restaurants, bars, and shops galore on all sides. It’s also located only a ten minute walk from the line 10 Tuanjiehu metro station, making it especially well-located for those heading to or coming from the airport. The options for breakfast at the Village Café are high quality and happily non-extravagant, while the coffee is some of the best in the city.

Unfortunately, management has neglected to carry its attention to detail through into the underground pool area. The beautiful pool was too cold for a comfortable swim and there is no hot tub/jacuzzi option for those unwilling to do hard-core laps. The gym seemed well-equipped, but the steam rooms were non-operational and appeared abandoned.


Other pros: Since it was a birthday occasion for us, management surprised us with a gorgeous and truly delicious birthday cake in the room – a thoughtful touch for out-of-towners; bath and shower products are heavenly and smell good on men and women alike; lots of natural light throughout the hotel, lending an alert but chilled out atmosphere to the whole lobby and atrium.

Other cons: Considering the hotel’s young age, technology is a bit lacking (for instance, we needed to charge an iPod and even had our own cord, but there was no USB hook-up available in the room), the food at the hotel’s Mediterranean restaurant, Sureño, was hit or miss.

Verdict: Simple luxury. It’s not an impossible contradiction, but it does come with a price tag.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank destroubadours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
NUO Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#13 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#3 of 6,442 in Beijing
5.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,442 in Beijing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Property: The Opposite House
Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#156 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing