We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine, hip hotel in Beijing”
Review of The Opposite House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Opposite House
Ranked #3 of 6,474 Hotels in Beijing
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fine, hip hotel in Beijing”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The Opposite House is a beautiful, modern hotel that opened just in time for the Beijing Olympics. The lobby is like no other that I have seen: a living room atmosphere with no real check in counter but lots of competent staff ready to help you. You walk through the door and are escorted to a couch. Soon someone arrives, iPad in hand, to check you in. All done in a very efficient and friendly manner.

The rooms are very well-designed with lots of nice touches like a wooden soaking tub in my room. The design is modern even though the floors and other aspects of the hotel look like recycled lumber and metal were used in the construction.

The Opposite House has an excellent pool and fitness center. The latter is underutilized and never crowded. It also has a spa which none of the people in my party used.

The hotel has multiple restaurants but, strangely enough, none of them serve Chinese food. It isn't really a problem since the hotel is located in an upscale neighborhood with plenty of good restaurants, Chinese and otherwise. The Opposite House does have a fine bar with many classic and innovative drinks and a very charming group of servers.

I have stayed at some nice places in Beijing. This one is not the most luxurious but it was the most comfortable and had the most efficient and warm staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    141
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
88
219
74
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

What a great hotel. Beautifully designed and great service. Location was great also.
Rooms well appointed.
Restaurants fantastic.
A great home away from home.
Can not wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimNongfu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Stayed here June 2011 and booked through Amex FHR program. Without asking had already been upgraded to a very large suite, in fact one of the largest rooms I have ever had. The interior design is not for everyone, but I really liked it: hard wood floors, the bedroom separated by sliding transparent curtains, wooden bath tub in the middle of the bathroom, etc. Very modern. At first couldn't find the shower, till I realized it was behind a wall/flush door. Multiple rain shower head set-up, so you feel like you are under a waterfall. The staff all spoke excellent English and were extremely helpful with directions and recommendations. The location is great, as it is right near a mall which included a cafe serving Ritual Coffee from San Francisco. The bottom floor fitness center is small, but well equipped and the indoor swimming pool is a nice touch. Negatives are a limited breakfast buffet offering, especially compared to the Shangri-La where I normally stay and a boring/not very good Medit restaurant, which would go out of business anywhere in the U.S. If you are coming to Beijing and want a change of pace from the normal hotel room, this is definitely worth a look.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if you can, as the suites are large and well equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorCalBusTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I loved this hotel. It is different but it works thanks to the great staff. If you are looking for an escape from the dreary world of beige hotel chains then this is a great alternative.

The pool is very good, the restaurants high quality and the decor unique.

This hotel is fun, interesting and functional. I cant wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeVer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Always feels good to be back to the hotel after being out in the harsh weather in Beijing. Especially love the small bed turn down gift every night that makes me feel pampered.
The best hotel I ever stay in Beijing except taxi is hard to get at night.

Room Tip: If you bring big bags,get a bigger room than studio 45.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dewichen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2012

My wife and I visited Hong Kong and Beijing on vacation, and after staying at the infamous Peninsula in Hong Kong, we were nervous about what to expect in the harsher-seeming Beijing. When we got into the city it was freezing cold and dark, and we were tired from a day of travel. So we were truly blown away upon entering The Opposite House. Not only is every single aspect of the building fantastic, our hotel room was the most amazing I've ever stayed in. Every detail throughout the hotel is attended to, and the staff could not have been more inviting and helpful. The front desk (despite the fact everything is wireless and they don't even have a front desk!) and concierge are out of this world, attending to every whim and need. We were so impressed by our room that we now want to remodel our home to look like it!

One of the coolest parts of the hotel is the pool. We've never seen anything like this before! It's a must see.

The location is fabulous - sandwiched between two new outdoor/indoor malls with tons of high-end shopping and restaurants (Miu Miu, Alexander Wang, Apple, Balenciaga, etc.).

We ate breakfast each morning in the hotel's lobby restaurant and the food was superb, not to mention so reasonably priced.

We highly, highly recommend The Opposite House to anyone traveling to Beijing. It is located in the Sanlitun area with subway just a 10 minute walk away.

One highlight of the hotel to note is that the in-room mini bar is FREE! With lots of beer, sodas and water.

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest room and it felt HUGE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

I'm not a big fan of cool/design/fashion hotels but I'd definitely make an exeption for this one
All is very nuce, hotel il large, impressive all but still remail cosy, even if a bit on a cold side
Amazing rooms, nice restaurants (please less air cond in the asian restaurant...we were freezing...)
very nice location to tour the city but also for business.
Would definitely suggest this place and probably go back next year

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beijing hotels
Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Hotel Eclat Beijing
Hotel Eclat Beijing
#1 of 6,474 in Beijing
738 reviews
NUO Hotel Beijing
#5 of 6,474 in Beijing
324 reviews
Chongwenmen
New World Beijing Hotel
New World Beijing Hotel
#14 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yansha
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
Four Seasons Hotel Beijing
#2 of 6,474 in Beijing
808 reviews
Rosewood Beijing
#6 of 6,474 in Beijing
375 reviews
Guomao
Kerry Hotel Beijing
Kerry Hotel Beijing
#4 of 6,474 in Beijing
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Opposite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Opposite House

Property: The Opposite House
Address: Building 1, No.11 Sanlitun Road, Beijing 100027, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Beijing > Beijing Workers' Sports Complex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beijing
#6 Family Hotel in Beijing
#6 Business Hotel in Beijing
#11 Romantic Hotel in Beijing
#148 Best Value Hotel in Beijing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Opposite House 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Opposite House features 99 luxuriously appointed guest studios designed by the renowned Japanese architect, Kengo Kuma. Designed to provide a sense of space, warmth and comfort, studios start from 45/481 sqm/sqf, which are arguably some of the largest in Beijing. They come fitted with signature wooden floorings and oak tubs. Partnering with well-known Shanghai based Australian restaurateur David Laris and restaurant designers Neri & Hu, we offer an intoxicating blend of restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Opposite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Opposite House Hotel Beijing
The Opposite Hotel
Opposite Hotel Beijing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing